d'Arenberg Footbolt Shiraz 2006

Syrah/Shiraz from McLaren Vale, Australia

Price: $19.29
Sold Out
The 2010 vintage is available for: $19.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 96380
  • JH94
  • RP90
  • ST90
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 1998
  • RP90
  • WS87
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Aromas of dark red fruits, black olive and beef stock open into notes of blueberries and licorice with a savory dried herb edge. The palate shows great balance with blueberry and mulberry fruits, spices and a hint of white pepper on the finish. As always The Footbolt is a very approachable wine in its youth but has the capacity to age for many years.

Critical Acclaim

"Full-bodied, strongly regional style, but without excess alcohol or any dead fruit; attractive mix of blackberry, dark chocolate and a touch of spicy/toasty oak; ripe tannins."
94 Points

"Lastly, the 2006 The Footbolt Shiraz (which contains a bit of Grenache) offers fragrant aromas of wood smoke, game, and blueberry. Layered and balanced, it will evolve for several years and drink well through 2017. The d’Arenberg portfolio is loaded with values. The winery works with over 140 growers to fashion their superb blends. 90+"
90 Points

"Inky ruby. Powerfully scented aromas of high-pitched red berries, cherry and minerals. Deep black raspberry and candied blueberry flavors coat the palate and are given support by fine-grained tannins. Finishes silky, sweet and long, with very good clarity and cut."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
A bit dry -- woodsy after taste. Not a favorite.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Such lofty scores, such a mediocre wine. I bought a mixed case of highly rated $15 and under wines. This was the one I was most excited about. And this one typifies the disappointment with the entire order :-(
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
A perfect Shiraz, have ordered more to compare with the case of d'Arenberg Stump Jump Shiraz that we have coming with the same order. We really like the $49 free shipping for a year option, it keeps us coming back to wine.com rather than going to Grocery outlet. We have moved up a notch and are getting better , more predictable wines thanks to the ratings and the reviews by customers. Hope this review helps, you will not be disappointed if you like this varietal and also Merlot, very similar, very smooth, and our type of wine. I guess everyone has different palet and ours likes smooth wines that are not acidic or with heavy tannins.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Brian C - Eugene, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Okay, I think I have a new favorite - what a yummy shiraz! So, please, please don't buy this - so there will be some left when I order more
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Major - Plainfield, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/4/2010)
reminiscent of the 2003 that I loved. full of flavor, satisfying finish. great example of an aussie shiraz at a fantastic price. drinks like a $25 bottle for $15. a must buy.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/14/2011)
Very nice smooth Auzzie Shiraz, nice hints of smoke and blueberry - found it locally for $12 - yummy!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
This wine was tasty right after opening. Sitting a bit only improved it. I am not much for comparing the taste to other items that I may or may not want to touch with my tounge. My wife and I liked it and I am sure that you will also.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Excellent Australian Shiraz for the money. Food friendly.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/4/2010)
A flavorful wine that finishes well. I enjoyed this with some mild cheese.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Dark, brooding, black fruit flavors with an earthy middle and a minerally finish. More French than Aussie, but still with some of that Aussie fruit. A very good wine, and excellent complexity for this price. The screwtop is a bit of a turnoff for me. 90
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Handyman - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/15/2010)
Fruity with cherry and berry predominating with tannins vry smooth and integrated. Balanced very well IMO. Lovely in the mouth with a long, rich finish. I would gve it 5 stars except for the screwcap which I fear will prevent the full potential of this wine from developing. Even so, enjoy it NOW!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/19/2010)
Once you get past the onus of the screw-off top, this wine does deliver a sophisticated but not very mature palate. Perhaps it needs to age more, but, out of the bottle now, is an enjoyable and refreshing wine that should appeal to most folks who are not expecting a terrific wine at this price. I'd recommend letting it age for a bit before twisting off the top.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
All d'Arenbergs are great buys and this on especially.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sho Morimoto - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Spicy aroma of plum and chocolate with raspberry filling, this medium-bodied, dark purple Shiraz is smooth and easy to drink with a pomegranate flavor and peppery finish. The wine is relatively dry and goes well with a sharp, hard cheese with fig jam.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/2/2011)
Slightly disappointed. Usually love this Aussie region. More like a merlot. Better the second day. Let it breathe. So many other wines to try.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Sour and thoroughly unpleasant. The most value I got out of it was when I recycled the bottle.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

guapitomark - Laguna Niguel, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I was expecting a very good wine judging by the high ratings it received. I found it to be a relatively flat-tasting Shiraz. It was also a little tart. Since it has a twist-off cap, it couln't have been corked. However it almost tasted that way. I let it breathe for at least 20 mins. Prior to that, i had refrigerated it to a cooler 68 degrees. But, alas, nothing seemed to bring up its taste. Maybe just a bad batch. Would not buy this again - go for the Archetype from Barossa Valley instead!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Johnnygofast - Kansas City, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/22/2011)
not good
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Imewine - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/24/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About d'Arenberg Map ItMap It

One of the undisputed kings of Australian Shiraz and Rhone varietals, d'Arenberg has managed to turn individuality into an art form by doing a whole lot of little things differently. The original vineyards were established by Joseph Osborn in 1912 in the McLaren Vale region of South Australia. A century on, the estate has grown to 345 acres, and the mantle now rests with fourth...

Read More About d'Arenberg

Learn About McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale is home to the oldest Australian vineyard, with grapes planted in 1838. It's a coastal area, the Indian Ocean bordering the west, which leads to a cooling factor that prevents the grapes from getting too hot. In all, the climate is a perfect one for the vines. Notable Facts In McLaren Vale, there are vines as far as the eye can see. As in other parts of...

Read More About McLaren Vale

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

Related Products
The nose initially displays an enticing mix of red and black fruits. Mulberries, ripe raspberries and blackberries are very pure. ...
SOU64106_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup