Vina Eguia Reserva 2007

Tempranillo from Rioja, Spain

Price: $20.00 $14.99
Save $5.01 (25%)
Item No. 114571
  • WE92
  • RP92
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

This wine is a bright, ruby red color, with brick red hints. The aromas are intense and complex, with vanilla, spiced and aromatic herbs perfectly blended with mature red fruit. The mouth shows very balanced, fine, elegant and rounded structure. It has a long, very pleasing finish.

Ideal for all types of grilled and roasted meats. It also matches well with strong fish and all kind of cured cheeses. Tasty with chocolate desserts and puddings.

Critical Acclaim

"The 2007 Vina Eguia Reserva is picked from 30-year-old vines in Alavesa and sees 24 months in American oak. It has an attractive, very aromatic bouquet with dried herbs, leather, fennel and a touch of peppermint that is natural and very pure. The palate is very well-balanced with supple tannins, crisp acidity and a refined, mocha-tinged finish that is focused and persistent. This is another superbly crafted Rioja from Eguia."
92 Points

"A sensational deal can be had with this wine, which opens with crusty berry aromas before shifting to cola, lemon peel and licorice. Tight and structured on the palate, with cherry, plum, vanilla and spice flavors. Harmonious and smooth; integrated and just rich enough. Drink now through 2013.
Editors' Choice"
92 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(6/28/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
So very good...could drink this wine every evening.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Imewine - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/2/2012)
Great wine, light and smooth. Buying more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

sjbobg - Hollidaysburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/29/2012)
Good taste. Good price. Good reviews.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/12/2012)
Did not like at all.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/25/2012)
Style: Big & Bold
Excellent Rioja. Nice body, full fruit taste and long finish. 90 points. I tasted my first bottle and immediately ordered three more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

JohnSullivanSF - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/9/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Inviting nose, dark cherry, chocolate and licorice with a long smooth finish. Delicious! 92
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

kimbalips - Lumberton, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/29/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Perfectly smooth and bold. Will purchase this wine as often as I can. Enjoyed this in the evening after dinner.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/13/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Earthy and spicy - very full. Complex bouquet.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/3/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Good everyday Tempranillo and great price. Ordering again!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/27/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
A very nice every day type wine. Enough structure to make things interesting, but not enough to scare away food. We bought a case and will be happy with this as an everyday wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

No Moss - Seattle, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Very complex but smooth ... slides over the tongue
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/28/2013)
Style: Light & Fruity
On first aerated pour,the floral nose is evident. Very light texture and short to medium finish. To me, the nose hints of a heavier bodied wine which this is not. Very drinkable just not enough body for me.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/4/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
The Wine...Vina Eguia Reserva 2007...The scene...dinner with the wife the boys. Pork tenderloin seared in olive oil and garlic for a bit and tossed in the oven to finish. Opened this bottle and let it breathe for about twenty minutes as that's what the wine enthusiasts say to do...does that make a difference? Hell if I know but poured a glass for the wife and I. Very nice...very smooth tasting and no bitter aftertaste that the wife liked. I would order this one again and again...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

walktard - Tahoe City, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/31/2012)
3.5
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/29/2013)
Style: Light & Fruity
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LJM - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/13/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/15/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/18/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/30/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jwb - Newport Beach, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/7/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/6/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Vina Eguia

Vina Eguia was founded in 1982, when Julian Murua revived his father's (Jose Murua) winery, which dates back to 1926 in the heart of the Rioja Alavesa.

Learn About Rioja

(ree-OH-hah) This highly regarded area of Spain makes some of the best Tempranillo-based wines in the world. Once the only DOCa (recently joined by Priorat in 2001), Rioja is divided into 3 sub-regions: Rioja Baja, Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa. There are 4 red varieties and 3 white varieties allowed in the Rioja DOC. Tempranillo definitely takes center stage, followed by Garnacha...

Read More About Rioja

Learn About Tempranillo

Tempranillo(temp-ruh-NEE-oh) Grape that Reigns in Spain Most often associated with Spain, Tempranillo is the backbone of wines made in the well-known Spanish regions Rioja and Ribera del Duero. On the scale of light to heavy, Tempranillo lands towards the light side. It tends to be higher in acid and lower in alcohol - common for Old World ...

Read More About Tempranillo

MNC21326F_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup