Vina Eguia Crianza 2008

Tempranillo from Rioja, Spain

Price: $15.00 $13.99
Save $1.01 (7%)
Item No. 121797
  • RP91
Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2009
  • ST90
  • D90

Winemaker's Notes

Selected grapes from Rioja Alavesa vineyards. Soils are a mixture of chalk, sand and clay. The vines have a medium age of 20 to 25 years and are grown using the traditional "gobelet" system. Fifteen days of fermentation and the maceration process is done in temperature controlled stainless steel vats with daily pumpovers to achieve the optimum color and tannin extraction. Malolactic fermentation is conducted in stainless steel tanks and then racked twice before going into oak barrels. The wine is aged in American oak for 12 months, with one racking.

Critical Acclaim

"The 2008 Vina Eguia Crianza is aged in American oak for 12 months. The nose demands coaxing from the glass, but it eventually offers a crisp, natural bouquet of dark berries, burnt toast and singed leather. The palate is very well-balanced, with lithe tannins that caress the mouth. The oak is seamlessly integrated towards the lingering, supple finish. This is a very well-crafted, natural Rioja. Drink now-2018."
91 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(3/7/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
We wish we had bought more of this wine. Excellent, not a heavy or bold wine but full soft flavors and easy to drink. A different red wine than the US wines. Will be looking for more of this one.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

tiafay - New Haven, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/9/2014)
Style: Earth & Spicy
Pair with: tortilla espanola, crispy barbecued pork head
The label describes this wine as "honest," and I couldn't think of a better adjective. Everything to love about tempranillos shines in this wine, and the "lagrimitas" it produces in the glass are beautiful as well.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bradley Pine - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/8/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
This has been our go-to wine for the last month or two. Very smooth but with full body. Great with salmon and holds up to spicy sauces. Or just to drink alone. Great price too.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

blckmmb - Gypsum, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/28/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Cannot go wrong with this wine. Outstanding value. It is indeed supple and well balanced but a little too lightly bodied.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bob Carbonaro - Summerville, SC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/16/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Not as 'heavy' as I though it would be. Nice flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/15/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very nice Cab. Original nose nice, but does not last in the glass. Tannins mild, just about right for drinking. Well balanced wine, soft to the mouth. Only criticism is that it is not complex-but if it were, it would be rated 96. Enjoy.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Margaux1983 - Chevy Chase, MD (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/18/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Clear red color with good amount of viscosity in the glass. The nose is clean with a hint of raisins and oak. On the palate, medium to full body with predominate black peppers and spicy finish. Definitely needs food. Very good wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/27/2014)
Very well made with nice flavors of cherries and vanilla. Just not my style. A little to soft, seemed to lack energy.I am sure some people would really love this wine.Very easy to drink.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/1/2014)
Bought the 2007 because rated above 90 by RP. Opened a bottle in October when it arrived - virtually undrinkable. Let the rest rest in my wine cellar for 6 months and still barely palatable. Not worth the money, I would not reorder. I have ordered several Spanish wines based on RP's recommendation. I won't do it again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

WinesRus2 - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/8/2014)
Not tasted. Only one star because the entire order was frozen during delivery pushing the corks out for several bottles. The order was returned and the replacement shipment is scheduled for March (warmer weather).
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

kkkk - Lake Grove, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/9/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Adam Z - Brooklyn, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/27/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mad Max - Virginia Beach, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/14/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/14/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Customer Lists Including This Wine Add To Your Own List

Jaume Serra Cristalino Brut Cava
Wish List - 12/27/2013 (646 items) (viewed 1377 times)
Joseph Phelps Ovation Chardonnay 2006
Wish List - 5/26/2014 (20 items) (viewed 640 times)

Learn About Vina Eguia

Vina Eguia was founded in 1982, when Julian Murua revived his father's (Jose Murua) winery, which dates back to 1926 in the heart of the Rioja Alavesa.

Learn About Rioja

(ree-OH-hah) This highly regarded area of Spain makes some of the best Tempranillo-based wines in the world. Once the only DOCa (recently joined by Priorat in 2001), Rioja is divided into 3 sub-regions: Rioja Baja, Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa. There are 4 red varieties and 3 white varieties allowed in the Rioja DOC. Tempranillo definitely takes center stage, followed by Garnacha...

Read More About Rioja

Learn About Tempranillo

Tempranillo(temp-ruh-NEE-oh) Grape that Reigns in Spain Most often associated with Spain, Tempranillo is the backbone of wines made in the well-known Spanish regions Rioja and Ribera del Duero. On the scale of light to heavy, Tempranillo lands towards the light side. It tends to be higher in acid and lower in alcohol - common for Old World ...

Read More About Tempranillo

Related Products
The 2010 Vina Eguia Tempranillo is a vivid cherry red. Its aromas include vanilla, coconut and balsamic notes with well ...
CWC709802_2008

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup