Tin Roof Merlot 2009

Merlot from California

Price: $13.00 $6.99
Save $6.01 (46%)
Item No. 114922
  • TP88
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

A classic plush texture and delicious black cherry and plum flavors make our sumptuous Merlot both delicious on its own and a versatile food wine.

Enjoy it with beef, lamb, roast duck with cherry sauce, red-sauce pastas, black olive and mushroom pizzas, and soft-ripening cheeses.

Critical Acclaim

"Smooth, lush and deep with plum, black raspberry and lively acid structure; silky, vibrant and balanced with style and good length."
88 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

nyer - Williamsburg, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/18/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Great wine for the price. Purchased for a wine tasting and it was one of the most popular wines served.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Yorkie - Hernando, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/30/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Good wine for the price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/15/2014)
Love it! What a bargain--a well-balanced and very perky merlot.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/30/2013)
Smooth merlot. Great Value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

docchris - Buffalo, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/21/2013)
Style: Light & Fruity
Amazing value. Smooth and delicious, just enough fruit, not overly tannic
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

fjoef - Montvale, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/8/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Excellent everyday drinking wine for the price! Smooth, not heavy and light!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Wewo - Englewood, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/28/2014)
Really good wine--very consistent and easy to drink!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/23/2014)
What a great deal. This Merlot was excellent, and it paired well with several different meals. Were polishing it off tonight with some T-bone steaks we also got on sale.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

RacerJim - Cicero, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/3/2013)
Style: Big & Bold
Excellent with meat, pasta or as a stand-a-lone bottle. Smooth and no negative aftertaste. Great with a movie.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/20/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
True Merlot (read pommerol) flavors come forth on this amazing value wine. You would expect to easily pay three to four times the price for the quality. Could teach 2 buck Chuck many lessons.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/20/2013)
Easy drinking Merlot, great value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/19/2013)
Style: Light & Fruity
Smooth and quite good for the price point. Nice balance of fruit and not overly tannic for a merlot.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/31/2014)
A very pleasant, fruity wine. A good buy
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MICHAEL HENNESY - Mount Juliet, TN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/19/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Pair with: Cheese > Semi-Firm, Beef > BBQ
A fair value for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ChristinaN - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/31/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very smooth, medium body, delicious cherry-plum nose and rather tart on the tongue at first but pleasant and food-friendly. Not much finish or complexity, but good for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

deepak m - Young America, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/21/2013)
good
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Roy Ricci - Albuquerque, NM (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/17/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Pair with: BBQ, Beef > Burgers
One of the best priced Merlots around.Very constant year after year maintaining a soft hardiness from sip to swallow.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mejho - West Mifflin, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/4/2013)
Very surprised by this one. Took a chance on a case deal due to other reviews and was pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed and would definitely purchase again. Super value!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/20/2013)
below average - would not buy again
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lisa Bruce - Carson City, NV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/14/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ejfahy - Havelock, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/12/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ba - Navasota, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/13/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

gary rossi - San Mateo, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/21/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

arun_v24 - Young America, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/21/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

kristinroyer - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/2/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Customer Lists Including This Wine Add To Your Own List

Jaume Serra Cristalino Brut Cava
Wish List - 12/27/2013 (646 items) (viewed 1370 times)
Avalon Napa Merlot 2009
Merlot - 1/3/2014 (4 items) (viewed 584 times)

Learn About Tin Roof Map ItMap It

Tin Roof Cellars is both a collection of fine wines and a state of mind, a special place to which wine lovers can escape to enjoy relaxing times, old-fashioned quality, and modern good taste and style. Our delicious, handcrafted wines are produced from California's finest North and Central Coast grapes. Boldly flavored, smoothly textured, and unusually complex, our wines are styled to delight consumers seeking distinctive varietal character with subtle oak flavors. They're rich, but refined, fruit-forward, but complex – wines to share with your friends under the roof. Enjoy!

Learn About Other California

California has nearly 100 American Viticulture Areas (AVAs) and accounts for almost 90% of wine production in the United States. In our section of Other California, we include wines from smaller AVAs as well as wines from the California AVA. Here are a few smaller AVAs you may see on the label: Livermore Valley AVA, located right outside of San Francisco and home to...

Read More About Other California

Learn About Merlot

Merlot(mehr-LOW) No second fiddle Merlot is coming back into its own. High popularity led to mass production, which then led to a backlash towards the variety (remember Miles in Sideways?). But passionate Merlot producers, and of course the right bank of Bordeaux, continued to produce quality versions of this grape. Merlot remains the principle grape of top chateaux in St...

Read More About Merlot

Related Products
A classic plush texture and delicious black cherry and plum flavors make our sumptuous Merlot both delicious on its own ...
ONLTINROOF09MER_2009

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup