Shoofly Shiraz 2012

Syrah/Shiraz from Australia

Price: $13.99
Sold Out
The 2013 vintage is available for: $10.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Buy Now
Item No. 123259
  • JH92
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Medium bright red color. On the nose, the 2012 Shiraz reveals aromas of lovely, bright sour cherry fruits and light Asian spices. The supple red fruits carry across to the clean, bright palate and give way to complex nutmeg, tamarind, earth and eucalypt notes. The long finish is lengthy and ends as bright and fresh as it begins.

Critical Acclaim

"Full purple-crimson; the complex black fruits and spice bouquet leads into a richly robed, medium- to full-bodied palate where fruit, tannins and an infusion of smoky oak all coalesce. Exceptionally well priced."
92 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(11/20/2013)
Very Good shiraz, would definitely buy again
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

scojoh - Winnsboro, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/8/2014)
Style: Earth & Spicy
I enjoyed the '09 more, however, for the price point I find this to be a good buy. A 92 rating is questionable; maybe 90.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Stephen Bazzano - Vernon Rockville, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2013)
Style: Earth & Spicy
Very tart out of the bottle. Nose of red berry. I think this wine needs more tme in the bottle. Perhaps another year. The 2010 was much better.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mauibill - Nokomis, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/22/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/15/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

rfarouni - Columbus, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

adamtip - Rochester, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/16/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/14/2013)
Style: Earth & Spicy
Pair with: Pasta > Tomato-base, Cheese > Hard
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Shoofly

Shoofly's winemaker Ben Riggs is a native of McLaren Vale and has been crafting some of the region's finest for two decades. Ben knows his stuff and where to get it – his roster of grape growers is one of the most sought after contact lists in the country. Premium regions produce the best fruit and the grapes come from a "who's who" of Australian growers and viticultural neighborhoods – Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale, Clare Valley, Langhorne Creek, Adelaide Hills and Heathcote.

Learn About Other Australia

With a landmass the size of the US, Australia has just as many appellations. Many wines are simply labeled from their state of origin. Some of these are the most popular: New South Wales - home to Sydney and other tourist destinations, New South Wales has a smaller focused wine growing region, but many wines are a blend of these smaller appellations and so are deemed New...

Read More About Other Australia

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

ULL575413_2012

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup