Segura Viudas Brut Reserva Cava

Non-Vintage from Spain

$8.99
1
  • Ships Today
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Free Shipping for 30 days StewardShip Free Trial
Buy Now
Ships today if you order in the next 12 hours
Item No. 4104
  • bubbly, sparkling & champagne
  • W&S89
Alcohol By Volume: 12.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

Segura Viudas Brut Reserva Cava, created from a blend of reserve and non-vintage wines, is clean and delicate, yet rich in flavor.

Brut is a cuvée of Macabeo, Parellada and Xarel-lo grapes grown in the renowned Penedès region of Spain. The wine is vinified according to méthode champenoise technique and is aged in the bottle for up to 2 years.

This fine cuvée is fairly crisp with an interesting floral note and mouth-pleasing sensation of creaminess.

Critical Acclaim

"One of the most reliable Cavas at the price, this offers cool, crisp cider apple flavors along with leesy notes of toast, nuts and flowers. It's gentle and clean, fuel for a dance party. Best Buy."
89 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

jennifer - Old Lyme, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Lovely and what a wonderful wine for the money. Buy cases and serve it fearlessly over the holidays. I will.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Amanda S. - Anchorage, AK (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Tried this one because of the price and rating, but it isn't as smooth as some others in same price range.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I enjoyed aliment as much as Wolf Blass Yellow Label Brut
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

AlaskaLight - North Pole, AK (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
We've taken this to get-togethers in the past and we're taking it to a ThanksGiving potluck with extended family. Sparkling Spanish whites were greeted with a very positive response.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/1/2012)
Restaurant wine is $9 a glass. This is great with food. Highly recommend.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

poemorella - Hollywood, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Loved this cava, light, dry with delicate bubbles. I will definitely buy this one again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/22/2011)
This is a very good sparkling wine for the money. If you are looking for a sparkling wine that is priced for everyday drinking, this tastes as good as those that are twice the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Radena - Austin, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/17/2011)
I bought 6 cases of this for my wedding. It's incredibly easy to drink for all fans of the bubbly, tastes great, and you absolutely can't beat the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Scott Citino - Fernandina Beach, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/26/2010)
This inexpensive dry, fresh champagne has nice accents of apple and citrus
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

B in SC - Columbia, SC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/16/2010)
It's important to remember when tasting wine that a Cava; 6 bucks at my local wine shop; can't be compared to, say, 1996 Bollinger R.D. Yes, they both have bubbles and are made in similar manners, but two cases of this and a bottle of the '96 Bolly will set you back around the same amount. And, if you go through bubbles like I do, the top flight stuff can't come out that often. So, what is the Segura Viudas? Solid. Very tight on the nose, though it opens up as it warms, the nose is never really gets there for me. Which is disappointing, because a sparkler should have a great nose. I find the palate one-dimensional, and a little sweet for a Brut. Tastes of lemons, fading to apples. More apples on the finish, though it fades quickly. Good price point for everyday bubbles you don't have to age, worlds better than the Andre crud that inhabit the same price point, and compares favourably to the California "champagne" that starts with K. Wine and Spirits got little carried away, but 87 would be a fair score. (Not a 90 point wine at all) Good value and consistent from bottle to bottle.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Rez-n-Tessa - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/4/2010)
I try always to keep a bottle chilled in the fridge. This is a great value. Crisp and light it pairs amazingly with carry-out Chinese, esp. grilled or fried shrimp. Consistently very good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/16/2011)
This is a traditional dry cava that works quite well for its price. Granted it does not have the absolute best in terms of taste it is pleasant and very affordable. Taste wise it tends to the dryer side but still retains a certain sweetness.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Matt Larson - Birmingham, AL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I liked the cava overall - it had a nice light taste and good bubbles. But I found it lacking in depth and deep flavors. So, I probably wouldn't order it again when looking for a cava.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ross davis - Oceanport, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
An excellent Brut
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Very good entry level champaigne - super value - this and Cristalino are wonderful to toast with at a very reasonable price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

alaska hippo - Fairbanks, AK (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/11/2013)
This is one of my two go-to summer bubblies for the several pot-lucks, picnics, receptions, etc. that I go to/host each year. Folks love it when you show up with something a little different than the usual "critter" wines and I think it's a good cava for the money.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/30/2011)
Very good for the price. However, I think Cristalino Brut Cava is much better and in the same price range. I found it a little too bland. It was nice and bubbly, but it seemed to require a colder than optimal temperature.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Wine had a good start with a hint of pepper. No legs -- finished weak
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

bixbya - Columbia, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/10/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/5/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/15/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/30/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/6/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/29/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/4/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Segura Viudas Map ItMap It

Segura Viudas was established in 1954 in the heart of Spain's Penedes region, one of the world's best sites for growing and producing grapes for production of sparkling wine. Segura Viudas has become one of the top Spanish sparkling wine producers and is noted for its high production standards of traditional Methode Champenoise.

Learn About Other Spain

The third largest country in production, Spain ranks first in land under vine. Diversity and innovation are the key factors bringing Spain back into the world wine market. The most popular red varieties of Spain include Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache). Whites don't garner quite as much recognition, but there are some regional varieties not to be missed, like Albarino...

Read More About Other Spain

Learn About Non-Vintage

Non-Vintage Most Champagne you encounter will be NV, or non-vintage. This is because the base wine is a blend of wine from multiple vintages. In producing non-vintage wines, Champagne houses strive to keep the taste consistent year by year, and non-vintage wine provides the winemakers flexibility in blending, ensuring a constant style each year. Non-vintage Champagne...

Read More About Non-Vintage

Related Products
Estate bottled, among the best Cavas regardless of price. Excellent base wine made from Xarel lo, Macabeo and Chardonnay. Aged ...
This wine is the least expensive vintage bubbly on the planet (taste it blind against a $40 non vintage "big ...
The Gran Gesta Brut Reserva displays pale golden color with great bubbles. Vintified in the traditional Champagne method, the Cava ...
SWS24592_0
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup