Robert Mondavi Oakville District Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley, California

Price: $45.00 $35.99
Save $9.01 (20%)
Item No. 109037
  • WE92
  • RP91
  • ST91
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 15.6%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

The 2007 vintage was excellent for Cabernet Sauvignon in Napa Valley. Responding to a cold, dry winter with 40 to 50% less rainfall than average, the vines' vigor was diminished from the outset, producing minimal foliage. Spring temperatures were warm, starting the growing season quickly with early bloom and fruit set. With mild temperatures prevailing through August, the grapes ripened slowly and evenly in ideal conditions of sunny days and foggy evenings. A temperate fall allowed the Cabernet Sauvignon fruit to hang longer, giving us concentrated and spectacular flavors.

Opulence defines this rich bouquet of black cherries, blackberries and spice. Lush aromatics of wild thyme and French lavender meet traces of mocha and roasted coffee, balanced with silky tannins that augment a long finish. This wine demonstrates why Cabernet Sauvignon from the legendary Oakville AVA is some of the most sought-after in the world.

Blend: 96% Cabernet Sauvignon, 4% Cabernet Franc

Critical Acclaim

"A big, dense, brooding wine, concentrated and powerful in blackberries, cherries and cassis. The tannins are sandpapery, giving the mouth a scoury feeling added to by the acids. An interesting, complex young wine that's well made and needs time to come around. Drink it over the next 6-8 years."
92 Points

"Deep, rich and concentrated, yet well-balanced, elegant and detailed, with mineral, loamy earth, dried berry, black licorice and sage flavors that firm up and end with drying tannins. Drink now through 2020. 13,700 cases made."
91 Points

"The 2007 Cabernet Sauvignon Oakville (94% Cabernet Sauvignon and 6% Cabernet Franc) has deep black currant fruit as well as notes of lead pencil shavings, camphor, and spice. It is medium to full-bodied, elegant, and rich from beginning to end, with outstanding purity, depth, and texture. This beauty can be drunk now or cellared for 10-15 years."
91 Points

"Good, bright ruby-red. Highly expressive aromas and flavors of currant, rose petal and cardamom. At once sweet and delicate, with sneaky depth of flavor. This really spreads out to coat the mouth and finishes with impressive breadth. The most gentle and approachable of Mondavi's 2007 cabernets. 'In 2007 we could wait as long as we wanted to pick, without getting dehydration like in 2006,' noted winemaker Gonzalez."
91 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(11/1/2012)
Excellent Mondavi from an excellent year
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/2/2012)
Love it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/4/2011)
DElicious!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sparky G - Simsbury, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/13/2012)
Pretty good, but I expected a bit more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/11/2012)
A very good wine for the price full bodied.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/19/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
Excellent! A real treat at a great price. I should have purchased more!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Style: Big & Bold
Big California Cab. Lots of black fruit, lots of tannin. Like most 07 Cabs, it can indeed be enjoyed now, but needs a little more time before it reaches its potential. There is plenty here to portend a very complex, layered more elgant wine, if one has the patience to let the youthful exuberance settle down with some bottle aging.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DC Wine - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/7/2011)
Somewhat disappointing. Basically bought because of the 33% discount. Lacks the character I look for in a good napa cab. Solid smell, but short on the palate and little complexity. Rather simple cap.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/28/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
What a diappointment. I had the unfiltered Mondavi Oakville a few years back and thought that it was one of most delicious cabs I had ever had. I expected the 2007 Cab to be just as good, but was thoroughly disappointed at the first taste and subsequent glasses. This cab was bland, had no real body and was not a very smooth wine at all. I felt embarrassed sharing this wine with my guest. Maybe my other two bottles will be better? I hope so.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/20/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/2/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Badbruddah - Valencia, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Robert Mondavi Map ItMap It

For more than 40 years, Robert Mondavi Winery has been the symbol of Napa Valley. Founded in 1966, it was the first major winery built in Napa Valley in the three decades following the repeal of Prohibition (1933), and went on to establish the foundation for modern California winemaking. Robert Mondavi Winery's mission-styled architecture, with the expansive archway and bell...

Read More About Robert Mondavi

Learn About Napa Valley

It's hard not to think of Napa Valley when thinking of California wines. The region is, after all, the one that brought world recognition to California wine making. The area was settled by a few choice wine families in the 1960's who bet that the wines of the area would grow and flourish. They were right. The Napa wine industry really took off in the 1980's, when vineyard...

Read More About Napa Valley

Learn About Cabernet Sauvignon

(cab-uhr-NAY sow-veeh-yawn) King of Red Many refer to Cabernet Sauvignon as the king of red grapes. Perhaps that title is due to its ability to grow worldwide in a number of climates, or to the fact that it produces wine with such character yet such diversity. Either way, this grape is responsible, as a whole or a partner, for some of the greatest wines in the world. In Bordeaux,...

Read More About Cabernet Sauvignon

SWS305382_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup