Primus "The Blend" 2007

Red Blends from Chile, South America

Price: $25.00 $17.49
Save $7.51 (30%)
Sold Out
The 2011 vintage is available for: $18.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 99604
  • RP90
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

The 2007 growing season was characterized by its great fruit concentration, a mild summer slowed the ripening process and reduced the yields naturally, which resulted in greater concentration, with slowly ripenening and delicate fruit, healthy grapes and elegant yet powerful tannins.

The Winemaking Team
Primus wines are crafted by a team of expert viticulturists and winemakers led by winemaker, Cristian Aliaga, who has over 10 years' experience at Veramonte. Alvaro Espinoza, one of the world's most respected winemakers, widely known as an innovator and champion of some of Chile's best red wines, joined the team to craft the Primus wines. Alvaro works closely with the team to continually refine vineyard and winery practices that deliver rich ripe fruit with complexity, intensity and distinctiveness.

Critical Acclaim

"The 2007 Primus is a glass-coating opaque purple with aromas of tar, licorice, pepper, blackcurrant, and blueberry. Youthful, structured, and balanced, it will evolve for 5-7 years and offer prime drinking from 2015 to 2025."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(7/15/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
excellent wine. smooth and fuity. wonderful finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/30/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Pair with: Beef > Herbs, Beef > Mushroom, Beef > Hot Spices
Probably the smoothest blend I've ever tasted. Great stand alone wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

karen straight - Williamsburg, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/30/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
I have always been partial to this wine and this selection / purchase did not let me done it was wonderful
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

l2ride - Haymarket, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/23/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very good wine. Nice nose and fruit flavor that opened up fairly quickly in the glass. My original order was a couple bottles to try, but got an additional case. Very good wine at this price point.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/17/2011)
I bought a bottle of this locally a few months back and was very impressed. We have shared this wine with some of our most hard to please wine loving friends and they also were very impressed. Give this one a try!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/13/2011)
Very nice wine, must buy more
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/28/2011)
Great Blend, Spicy yet smooth. Lots of dark fruit and earth
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SteveY - Willoughby, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/30/2011)
Very nice. Enjoyed with pepper encrusted filet mignon. Lots of fruit, depth, long finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/21/2011)
Great wine - complex, big wine with long finish. Smooth - very little tannin.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

TxNative - El Paso, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/11/2011)
Fantastic surprise. Very drinkable and smooth, thinner wine that is full of flavor. I was surprised at how much flavor is in this wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

hang time - Delray Beach, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/3/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/22/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/17/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Robert Walton - Little Neck, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/19/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/15/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/29/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

virgo22 - Big Rapids, MI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/11/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/31/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/24/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Primus

Primus wines are produced by the Veramonte winery. Veramonte represents a return to Agustin Huneeus' Chilean roots. When he spearheaded development of the Veramonte Estate in 1990, there were less than 100 acres of grapevines planted in the Casablanca Valley. The coastal mountain ranges surrounding the Casablanca estate create a unique terroir with a diversity of microclimates....

Read More About Primus

Learn About Chile

(CHEE-lay) Long and thin, Chile has a lot of land north to south. The wine region here is a series of districts based near Santiago. The vineyards are protected by the Pacific on the west and the Andes mountains on the east. This could help explain why the climate changes more from east to west than north to south - also why the country has remained phylloxera free....

Read More About Chile

Learn About Other Red Blends

Other Red Red wines are certainly not limited to Cabernet and Pinot Noir - or even Nebbiolo and Grenache. There are a multitude of grape varieties throughout the world, however, in a Darwinian sense, survival of the fittest only brings us wines made from grapes that can adapt to changing climates and winemaking techniques. Notable Facts Our other red wines primarily consists of...

Read More About Other Red Blends

SWS291312_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup