Las Rocas Garnacha Vinas Viejas 2009

Grenache from Spain

Price: $20.00 $17.99
Save $2.01 (10%)
Sold Out
The 2012 vintage is available for: $18.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
Buy Now
Item No. 114043
  • RP90
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 15.2%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2001
  • RP93

Winemaker's Notes

Spicy, rich cranberry bouquet. Dark cherry flavors are highlighted by excellent structure and depth all supported by elegant oak. Round and full in the mouth, with supple tannins and a fruit-filled finish.

Critical Acclaim

"My favorite of this trio, and a big time sleeper, is the outstanding 2009 Las Rocas Garnacha Vinas Viejas, which comes from 60-100-year old vines planted at 2,500-3,500 feet elevations. Aged ten months in old French and American oak, it possesses 15.2% alcohol along with a deep ruby/purple color and copious notes of plums, raspberries, black cherries, lavender and licorice, a full-bodied texture, and impressive purity, depth and freshness."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Jodi Ursu - Marathon, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/25/2014)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
I bought this wine on sale just to try it and would not hesitate to order it again at full price. This wine is fantastic! I could smell it just walking the open bottle to the table. Very dark fruit intense with a background of campfire wood smoke makes it refined. Don't hesitate to buy this wine as a gift for a red wine lover. You won't be embarrassed.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/3/2014)
Really liked this wine - very smooth, mellow red. Bought 6 bottles, gave one to a friend. We both liked it so much we ordered a case within a couple of days. Excellent value for the price as we got it on special offer at $11.00 per bottle
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/5/2014)
This wine has a unique finish, which, recollecting days of old, I would describe as cannabis and which I happen to find quite pleasing. I ordered a bottle, then a 6-pack, then a case. At the recent discounted price, I think it's a great value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SteamboatCB - Englewood, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/31/2014)
Style: Earth & Spicy
One of my favorite Spanish wines. Being Garnacha (Grenache) based it has a fuller body and flavor than the Tempranio based wines. Good value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mauibill - Nokomis, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/31/2014)
solid body and taste, excellent value
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/3/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Beautiful accessible red fruit right off, like a purple strawberry. Hint of rose hips. Mouthfeel calls for more. Earthy spice
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/3/2014)
Style: Light & Fruity
Excellent value. A good "drinking" wine. Light and fruity. Would order again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/31/2014)
Very harsh tanins. Best if left open for at least an hour.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/30/2013)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
Pretty good. A bit of the sweet side. Would buy again. Not very alcoholy.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Milt 51 - South Haven, MI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/8/2014)
Initially, I was really fired up about this wine as it was part of a sampler package. I ordered a case and couldn't be more disappointed. I've had three bad corks and tonite I opened a bottle that is clearly oxidized. I'll never buy this again, totally disappointed!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

sprayman - Manassas, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/13/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sonia Padua - Coarsegold, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/29/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

orty21 - Denver, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/14/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/27/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Customer Lists Including This Wine Add To Your Own List

Jaume Serra Cristalino Brut Cava
Wish List - 12/27/2013 (646 items) (viewed 1413 times)
hds
Caricature Red Blend 2010
wines to buy - 9/24/2013 (73 items) (viewed 806 times)

Learn About Las Rocas Map ItMap It

Las Rocas de San Alejandro is located in the region of Calatayud, about 150 miles northeast of Madrid, and is centered around the rivers of Jiloca and Jalon. Although there are still few wineries in the zone, the ones which are beginning to show with their wines why this region is so special. Although the D.O. is quite young, vines have been grown in the zone for some time. About...

Read More About Las Rocas

Learn About Other Spain

The third largest country in production, Spain ranks first in land under vine. Diversity and innovation are the key factors bringing Spain back into the world wine market. The most popular red varieties of Spain include Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache). Whites don't garner quite as much recognition, but there are some regional varieties not to be missed, like Albarino...

Read More About Other Spain

Learn About Grenache

Grenache (greh-NAASH) Sun-Worshiper This sun-worshiping grape gets ripe and loves hot, dry weather. Popular in Spain (called Garnacha), Australia and the southern Rhone region of France, Grenache is the primary grape in regions such as Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Tavel, and Priorat. It's often tamed by less fleshy, more structured grapes like Syrah...

Read More About Grenache

GWS1327_2009

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup