La Rioja Alta Vina Ardanza Reserva Especial 2001

Tempranillo from Rioja, Spain

Price: $35.00 $29.99
Save $5.01 (14%)
Item No. 112875
  • RP93
  • ST92
  • WS92
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.2%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

Medium-high cherry red robe, with orange tinted tones on the edge of the glass, clear and brilliant. Intense and complex to the nose. Wild berry aromas predominate, blended with hints of coconut, cinnamon, tobacco and leather. Full-bodied and well structured to the palate, with silky and enveloping tannins. Long after-taste acquired from its lengthy time in bottle, where its elegant bouquet gains in intensity. This Viña Ardanza continues to evolve without losing its traditional qualities.

Critical Acclaim

"The 2001 Vina Ardanza Reserva Especial is a blend of 80% Tempranillo and 20% Garnacha from their vineyards in Fuenmayor and Rioja Baja respectively and it represents only the third vintage to be declared after 1964 and 1973. Aged in American cask for 36 months, it has a bucolic, natural bouquet of bright red cherries, balsamic, mint and a touch of dried honey all with superb delineation. The palate is medium-bodied with wonderful delineation and supple, lithe tannins. The acidity is very well judged and it leads to a pert, tense finish of bitter cherry, loganberry and licorice. This is an outstanding wine drinking perfectly now, but it should age effortlessly. Drink now-2030."
93 Points

"The wine was lovely. It was quite full-bodied, yet classically supple and fresh, with bright cherry fruit accented with mineral, licorice and smoke notes. I rated it 92 points, non-blind, and reflected that—at the highest levels of quality, such as Pingus and Ardanza, and given some age—somehow modern and traditional began to resemble each other in true and lovely ways."
92 Points

"Deep red. Sexy, intensely perfumed bouquet of ripe raspberry and cherry with suggestions of potpourri, sandalwood and vanilla. Shows more power and darker fruits on the palate, picking up a touch of singed plum that adds a serious quality to the sweet black raspberry and cherry flavors without costing the wine any of its vibrancy. The long, sweet finish hangs on with very good tenacity."
92 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

marty46127 - Saint Charles, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/7/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Very robust flavorful red! Excellent, long finish. Must decant or let breathe for 30 mins or so.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Marsden Pup - Bellingham, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/26/2012)
This Wine, I Drink, With Relish
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/5/2011)
The best wine I ever had from Spain!!!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/27/2012)
Really nice but have had others by this maker that were cheaper and better.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/16/2013)
Drink it is beguining to go acid.....
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

yvonne webb - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/25/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Pair with: Seafood
I'm just getting into wine tasting, my husband and I belong to two wine tasting groups...so with that said and limited experience we really like this one best. Light, smooth,nice finish. I quickly order 3 more and plan on showcasing one in the future.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/14/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
I purchased this a few weeks ago after wine.com sent a recommendation. My first concern was when I opened the box and noticed a bit of wine leaking from the foil. I opened the wine that night and the cork tried to crumble on me. I managed to get it out clean but expected the worst. I was surprised to find the wine in still decent condition. Silky smooth with a beautiful perfume on the nose. Refined with rose petals and earth on the palate. That being said, based on condition of arrival I probably won't try again. I think I got lucky based on another review from about the same time.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/28/2012)
Read Asimov's NY Times Review. The bottle I tried was complex yet mellow and balanced. However, I did not find great finesse and flavors that linger, unless they were flavors that did not appeal to me.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/27/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
We only opened one bottle, but the cork looked good and it was way past it's prime. I wonder when the reviews were from.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Wendy - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/22/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Brett Floyd - Columbia, SC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/23/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/21/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mbetts7 - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/6/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/26/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/18/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

NH Wine Lover - Manchester, NH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/18/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/10/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jrankney1 - Waynesboro, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/9/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

FelixL - Branford, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/26/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/26/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About La Rioja Alta Map ItMap It

On the 10th of July 1890, five families shared their passion for wine and founded La Rioja Alta, S.A. That day was the start of an ongoing searching for excellence that their descendants still pursue nowadays. Since then we have managed to get the best from the marriage of our tradition in wine ageing and the state-of-the-art technology in grape fermentation. Nowadays we are an...

Read More About La Rioja Alta

Learn About Rioja

(ree-OH-hah) This highly regarded area of Spain makes some of the best Tempranillo-based wines in the world. Once the only DOCa (recently joined by Priorat in 2001), Rioja is divided into 3 sub-regions: Rioja Baja, Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa. There are 4 red varieties and 3 white varieties allowed in the Rioja DOC. Tempranillo definitely takes center stage, followed by Garnacha...

Read More About Rioja

Learn About Tempranillo

Tempranillo(temp-ruh-NEE-oh) Grape that Reigns in Spain Most often associated with Spain, Tempranillo is the backbone of wines made in the well-known Spanish regions Rioja and Ribera del Duero. On the scale of light to heavy, Tempranillo lands towards the light side. It tends to be higher in acid and lower in alcohol - common for Old World ...

Read More About Tempranillo

GSWArdanza_2001

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup