Jaume Serra Cristalino Brut Cava

Non-Vintage from Spain

Price: $10.00 $8.99
Save $1.01 (10%)
1
  • Ships Mon, Jul 28
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Free Shipping for 30 days StewardShip Free Trial
Buy Now
Ships Mon, Jul 28
Item No. 6619
  • W&S88
  • ST87
Alcohol By Volume: 11.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

This fine Spanish sparkling wine is made using the Traditional Method, in which the secondary fermentation producing a sparkling wine's bubbles occurs in the bottle. Its fresh, toasty nose, beautiful citrus, green apple and mineral flavors, supple, lively mouth-feel, and clean, crisp finish make it the ultimate celebratory wine. Enjoy it on its own and with caviar, sushi, seafood, fried foods and Asian dishes

Varietal Blend: 50% Macabeo, 35% Parellada, 15% Xarel-lo<

Critical Acclaim

"A perennial favorite, this offers clean apple flavors at an unusually affordable price for such a completely dry style. It's a great party pour, or an aperitif to sip with raw clams."
88 Points

"Bright yellow. Aromas of orange, pineapple and pear, plus a hint of musky herbs. Juicy and very fruity, with crisp acidity and a sharp element of orange zest adding a bitter touch. Finishes clean and brisk, with modest persistence and an echo of candied citrus fruits. This is an incredible value in sparkling wine."
87 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Bought this wine for serving after holiday dinner. Tasted it and was highly impressed. Have since purchased a case each week for hostess and holiday gift giving. Excellent wine which easily rivals Chandon White Star at 1/4 the price. I certainly expect a tremendous increase in the price and soon!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I purchased a bottle of the Brut Sparkling wine and was very disappointed. The smell of the wine was very good and the first taste was good, but subsequent sips gave me the taste of "motor oil". I was very disappointed. Needless to say I threw out the bottle. I have had other inexpensive sparkling wines and never had that taste before. The Monmousseau is very good and in that price range. Has anyone else had this taste sensation?
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I try to avoid cheap sparkling wine, as it usually has either a strange "stale candy" taste, or a strange aftertaste. But Cristalino is unbelievable. Prosecco-like and delicious. Highly recommended. The rose is great, too.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
There is a reason this wine has won "Best value in America" for threeyears running. It is very smooth and drinkable, with a pleasant finish. If you need a lot of bubbly for a special occasion, you cannot go wrong with a few cases of this wine. Personally, I prefer the regular to the rose, but I know many people who enjoy the latter.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Alan - Redding, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
...and 97% of the populus would not be able to do more than guess which was which in a blind taste test! Of course, "gansta rappers" with gold chains on MTV don't allude to it's status of having enough "benjamins" to waste on it so... yeah. What can one say except; it IS dry, it does NOT go well with your thanksgiving meal (unless you don't want to taste the wine much at all), and Mimosa's, while yummy, do not constitute "tasting" this terrific sparkler. It is simply an AMAZING value, and THEE answer to saving a bundle on your wedding reception (or any gala event), while still serving a GREAT sparkling wine. Personally I prefer Krug to Cristal anyday for a $250 Champagne (that someone else is paying for), Perrier Jouët NV (if I'm OKay with $30 for the impression made with a "true" Champagne) and the Segura Viudas Heredad Cava NV (also from Espain) for a best value (@$15) but at $5.99 (Cost Plus World Market)! WoW! How can they do it!? Gracias España!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Very Good for the Price!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
A delicious dry champagne.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I have purchased this wine several times and it is an inexpensive, very dry sparkling wine that will go with any number of dishes or stand alone. Great to keep on hand for any occasion.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I'd classify this as a good value wine. This is a good choice for someone who wants to serve a large quantity of champagne-style wine without spending a fotune on their friends. It's not too sweet like other inexpensives sparklers.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

J. C. - Orlando, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
For the price, this is the best sparkling wine that I have ever tried. Crisp with a clean palate.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

steve - Cottondale, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
have tried many others in same price range and this one is great for price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Salut NY - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Nice Surprise. Light and pleasant alternative to champagne.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

carabiner - Yucca Valley, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/8/2010)
this is a great deal. It's delicious, makes a great gift, and is highly rated/respected.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

blue catzz - Salt Lake City, UT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/3/2010)
I have been drinking Cristalino for about four years. It has consistenly had an excellent taste and a great price. I highly recommend it. I also recommend writing the review before drinking a bottle! :)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bradley Pine - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Shouldn't be compared to Veuve Cliquot, but better than solid comparisons to good proseccos and other good low cost bubblies. And you can't beat the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This was a pleasant Brut. It wasn't terribly dry and was refreshing and light in the mouth. It had a slight fruity bouquet. The clear, crisp finish made it very enjoyable. For a very inexpensive bubbly, this one exceeded my expectations.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

art st john - Pleasant Hill, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Living in the Napa Valley we get used to the sparkling wines from our local soils. Spanish Cava to me is more flavorful and to some not pleasant at all. Opinions were wide ranging on this offering. I enjoyed it a lot. Others found the need to mix with fruit juices to truly enjoy. I say at this price you need to give it a serious try. Compare to Korbel Brut.. that should strike up an interesting conversation comparison.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
I thought I couldn't afford a nice, smoother-tasting sparkling wine, so I was very pleased with this choice! I recommend it highly.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Amanda S. - Anchorage, AK (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Had this one in a mimosa, but did try straight and was very nice. Great value for everyday drinking!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/17/2010)
I've tried many Bruts before. Some of them cost three times as much as this Cristalino. I've got to say that, in my limited experience, this is one of the best, if not the best, bubbly I've had in a while. Definitely getting a few more of these.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Not too dry. Tried it with OJ for mimosas, not bad!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I bought a couple of bottles of this on a whim, while shopping for the ingredients for this year's Thanksgiving feast, and stashed them away in my wine cooler to await the holiday. When the big day arrived I served this wine at table along with roasted turkey, brussels sprouts with bacon and apples, cranberry chutney and other Thanksgiving favourites instead of serving it as an aperitif. My guests and I truly thought this to be a delicious wine that held up to the variety of complex flavours found in such a big, traditional meal. I also served this at an informal Christmas evening at my home and my guests again expressed delight at raising a glass of such a good, yet affordable, wine. I will definitely buy more of this (possibly a case) since it has been such a hit.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Excellent sparkling wine for the price. Excellent for drinking on the porch and enjoying the fresh air. Nice bubble retention and crisp finish
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Decent wine -- it was a roadie (limo) purchase in NYC and did the trick!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
We love Champagne, but can't pop (sorry for the pun) for $40 - 50 for every bottle. We love this Champagne for by the bonfire, taking to parties, out on the boat, etc.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Jaume Serra Cristalino Map ItMap It

The winery behind Cristalino, Jaume Serra, was founded in 1943 by distinguished enologist Jaume Serra Guell. It is located in the Garraf subdivision of the Denominacion de Origen Penedes, the largest wine growing area in Catalonia. Jaume Serra lies within the El Padruel estate in the Mediterranean Coastal town of Vilanova y la Geltru, some 50 kilometers south of Barcelona,. Wine...

Read More About Jaume Serra Cristalino

Learn About Other Spain

The third largest country in production, Spain ranks first in land under vine. Diversity and innovation are the key factors bringing Spain back into the world wine market. The most popular red varieties of Spain include Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache). Whites don't garner quite as much recognition, but there are some regional varieties not to be missed, like Albarino...

Read More About Other Spain

Learn About Non-Vintage

Non-Vintage Most Champagne you encounter will be NV, or non-vintage. This is because the base wine is a blend of wine from multiple vintages. In producing non-vintage wines, Champagne houses strive to keep the taste consistent year by year, and non-vintage wine provides the winemakers flexibility in blending, ensuring a constant style each year. Non-vintage Champagne...

Read More About Non-Vintage

Related Products
60% Pinot Nior, 40% TrepatBeautiful scents of raspberry and cherry on the nose with fresh, clean strawberry and cherry flavors ...
This fine Spanish sparkling wine is made using the Traditional Method, in which the secondary fermentation producing a sparkling wine's ...
YNG1826_0

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup