SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Gloria Ferrer Blanc de Noirs

Non-Vintage from Carneros, California

Price: $19.99
1
  • Ships Mon, Apr 21
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Ships Tue, Apr 22
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Free Shipping for 30 days Steward-Ship Free Trial
Buy Now
Ships Mon, Apr 21
Item No. 277
  • WE90
  • WS90
Alcohol By Volume: 12.2%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

A distinctive blend of 92% Pinot and 8% Chardonnay, this light-bodied sparkling wine displays a slight pink color, resulting from a special pressing technique. Bright strawberry and black cherry aromas with subtle vanilla highlights. Creamy cherry, lemon and cola flavors combine with a lush palate, small, lively bubbles and a persistent finish.

Our Blanc de Noirs is predominantly made from hand-harvested Pinot Noir grapes, the hallmarks of which are a vibrant red fruit character. The creamy palate and rosy hue are a result of a small addition of Vin Gris, which was blended into the base cuvée. Over forty different clones and selections of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay are planted on our 340-acre estate in the Sonoma Carneros district. This allows us to consistently produce cuvées with complexity and clear fruit expression.

Critical Acclaim

"Fun and festive, with floral raspberry and graham cracker aromas leading to crisp and succulent lemon and strawberry flavors. A reliable value in California bubbly."
90 Points

"There's a lot going on for the price in this honeyed, rich blush wine. Pinot Noir gives hints of strawberries, while Chardonnay contributes limes and oranges. The result is a smooth, crisp sipper for drinking now. "
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I really enjoyed this bubbly. Very light refreshing mouth feel. It has a crisp clean finish. The fruity aftertaste was nice, not overpowering. For the price it was well worth it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
Mr frogoutofwater and I acquired a taste for Champagne during a 2-year posting in Paris, where we could buy interesting, good value (e.g. 10-15 euro) Champagne from independent winemakers at twice-yearly Salons des Vins or during weekend trips. We got in the habit of regularly celebrating "everyday" moments - the end of the work week, the day the cleaning lady came, surviving encounters with the customer service staff of our telephone company, etc. Now that we're in New York, our stock of Champagne is dwindling and we needed a replacement. This sparkling wine is comparable in quality to some of the independent Champagnes we bought in France, although not as good as our favourites in this category (e.g. Harlin Pere & Fils or Bardy-Chauffert). It borders on the edge of being too tart. However, this should make it a good base for Kir Royales and other slightly sweet champagne cocktails.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Karen Caudle - Walkertown, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/15/2010)
An exceptional tasting champagne for the price. Wonderfully fruity and just dry enough, I would happily serve this at any gathering.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
TASTES AS GOOD AS THE MUMS WE CELEBRATE OUR ANNIVERSAY WITH. WANTED TO TRY SOMETHING DIFFERENT.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Outstanding. served at a party and people would not leave!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Excellent
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/7/2014)
Absolutely loved this!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

gwendolyn - Oakland, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/15/2012)
Pair with: Poultry, Pasta > White Sauce/Seafood, Risotto > Primavera
this is such a delightful sparkling wine. It is clean and refreshing, but also slightly fuller bodied, due to the fact that it's made from red grapes (hence the name, Blanc de Noirs). I am a fan of this wine for everyday food pairing and any time you need a little bubbly to celebrate (showers, birthdays, brunches, etc).
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/17/2011)
A light, misty rose color flows through this champage giving it a hint of strawberry and cherry flavors. Starts out with a subtle, yet refined burst of flavors at the beginning then mellows out to a crisp vanilla finish. Very easy to like on all levels. Highly recommended for less than $20.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is a pretty tasty bubbly that's a decent value and is easy to find. A bit less dry than a brut, which I like.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is a great sparkling rose for summer. Crisp with just the right hint of sweetness.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Slightly sweet with a hint of pink in the otherwise straw yellow color . Flavorful with strawberry and citrus on the palette, crisp but not arrestingly acidic like some sparklers. Nicely balanced and great on its own.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

suntzu - Fullerton, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Served this at my rehearsal dinner and people could not get enough. Dry, crisp, and very flavorful.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Great celebration champagne!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bill Eyer - Chula Vista, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
The creamy elegance and rosy hue melded on our palates ever so delicately with a clear berried expression. Wow, this a very good sparkling wine, can't call it Champagne, though it is made in the traditional method. And according to the winemakers notes, "This non-vintage cuvée (of course) is a blend of 18 different base wines". I scored this wine 90 Pt's and the QPR is 98 Pt's. This kind of quality for such a little price! $18.00 retail. If you see this on the menu by the glass, order this as an aperitif! Very good and compatible with many appetizers. We chose a thin sliced and baked french bread (like bagel chips), Gourmandise Cheese, and a Olive Tapenade and celery. Yum! The gentlemen who said to grab some Cooks instead, I say are ya kidding??
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ross davis - Oceanport, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/15/2010)
Very good sparkling wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
i didn't care for it much at all, very strong sparkling wine, very strong carbonation, would probably be good for a party, just have to sip it. i prefer a gentler wine. i also ordered a bottle of Mionetto Il Moscato sparkling wine in my last order and it was delicious! and it's only 12 bux so if you're looking for a tasty sparkling wine, i highly reccomend that one instead.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Crisp, and decent. Slightly creamy. But doesn't quite do the job of bridging any gap between a $7 bottle and a $40 bottle. Buy Cooks, or spend a little extra and get a better bottle.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lora Rush - Riverview, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/25/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Brigid Stanley - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/23/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

BrigidHS - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/26/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Gloria Ferrer Map ItMap It

Gloria Ferrer is the offspring of a powerful parent: Freixenet of Spain, the world's largest producer of sparkling wine. Drawn to the promise of California, Freixenet established a California winery, naming it after the wife of Freixenet's president. The winery in Carneros is one of the best stops in all of Wine Country. Visit the aging caves carved in the hillside and enjoy the sun-splashed deck while noshing on roasted almonds and sipping bubbly. Wines produced are Blanc de Noir, Brut, Brut Rose, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose.

Learn About Carneros

Technically a part of Napa Valley, the Carneros region straddles both Sonoma & Napa counties. It's the Napa region closest to the San Francisco peninsula and the San Pablo Bay, which is instrumental in controlling the climate of the area. The winds from the San Pablo bay create a cool weather pattern ideal for growing Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Notable Facts Both Chardonnay...

Read More About Carneros

Learn About Non-Vintage

Non-Vintage Most Champagne you encounter will be NV, or non-vintage. This is because the base wine is a blend of wine from multiple vintages. In producing non-vintage wines, Champagne houses strive to keep the taste consistent year by year, and non-vintage wine provides the winemakers flexibility in blending, ensuring a constant style each year. Non-vintage Champagne...

Read More About Non-Vintage

Related Products
This Carneros designated Blanc de Noirs has a delicate copper color and fruit aromas of strawberry and cherry overlaid with ...
Sofia Blanc de Blancs, a unique blend of Pinot Blanc, Riesling and Muscat, is a delicate sparkling wine perfect for ...
The 2009 Blanc de Noirs has concentrated aromas of red apple, apricot and orange marmalade, which are complemented with tropical ...
SWS12429_0

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup