SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Glen Carlou Grand Classique 2006

Glen Carlou Grand Classique 2006

Bordeaux Red Blends from South Africa

Price: $16.99
Sold Out
The 2010 vintage is available for: $14.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Buy Now
Item No. 101753
  • W&S90
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

The Classique, Glen Carlou's signature wine, displays a rich ruby red color with a youthful cherry skin hue. Aromas of young black fruit and oak, with traces of pencil shavings flavor. Tobacco and black cured cherries, with layers of dark chocolate and spice finish. The tannins are beautifully proportioned with mild toasted almond. Enjoy with lamb cutlets or braised pork belly. The Classique possesses great ageing potential that will show rounder flavors and tannins with bottle age.

Critical Acclaim

"This Bordeaux-varietal blend has a particularly intriguing fruit spectrum - brandied cherries and blackberry are immediately apparent, with something almost peachy underneath. The herbal edge of cabernet shows in a smoked tea note that melds with the savory oak. Drink it now with venison."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(12/2/2011)
absolutely wonderful for the money!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I enjoy meritages / wines that are not one grape. And - especially for the money - this is one of the best I have had. South Africa is probably better known for its white wines but I encourage you to give this one a swirl.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Richard C. - Saint Paul, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/21/2011)
I was pleasantly surprised by this wine. The nose is very different from the taste, which is smooth with dark cherries and an ashy goodness. I bought two more for cellar.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/16/2011)
This was good value. Definitely New World which isn't a criticism but a charateristic. Not the wine to buy if you wanted classic Bordeaux.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SteveY - Willoughby, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/8/2011)
Initially, I found this wine to be rather thin in the mouth. The nose was light, and without much complexity when it first hit the palate. The second day it really opened up. The fruit was more pronounced and the finish lasted much longer. Not bad for the price, but not a 90pt wine in my humble opinion.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

daboo14 - Stoneham, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/9/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kate C - Pittsburgh, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/13/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Patches - San Leandro, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/25/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/25/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Glen Carlou Map ItMap It

Glen Carlou was established in 1985, and since 2003, Glen Carlou has been solely owned and operated by Hess Family Estates. Glen Carlou is located in the picturesque Paarl Valley in the Cape Winelands in South Africa. They enjoy a Mediterranean climate of warm, dry summers and cold, wet winters. An exciting variety of slopes and the riches of their soils create unique winegrowing conditions, while judicious vineyard practices ensure the cultivation of healthy flavorsome grapes reflecting the inherent characteristics of their terroir.

Learn About South Africa

South Africa A long history of growing grapes and making wine, but less of a history on exporting it, and even lesser on the quality aspect. At the turn of the century (1900, that is), a surplus of wine in South Africa created a hierarchy of cooperatives, the biggest and best known being KWV. This organization seemed to favor quantity over quality and had most...

Read More About South Africa

Learn About Bordeaux Red Blends

Bordeaux Blends The Fab Five With so much history under its belt, it's no wonder that Bordeaux has figured out the recipe to produce amazing wines. Centuries of making (and drinking) wine led to the blend that has become synonomous with Bordeaux. Winemakers in the New World replicate this formula to create successful blends in their respective regions - you may see Bordeaux blends...

Read More About Bordeaux Red Blends

YNG551126_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup