Frescobaldi Nipozzano Chianti Rufina Riserva 2007

Sangiovese from Tuscany, Italy

Price: $25.00 $19.99
Save $5.01 (20%)
Sold Out
The 2010 vintage is available for: $19.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
Buy Now
Item No. 102700
  • WE93
  • WS91
  • ST91
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 12.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

It appears a deep, purple-edged ruby red, of impressive brilliance. Solid fruit notes of wild blackberry, blueberry, raspberry and dark cherry emerge initially on the nose, gradually yielding to more pungent impressions of sage, rosemary, vanilla, and cinnamon. That spiciness segues onto the palate, and then into a finish that ends with a flourish of balsam, black pepper, and cocoa powder. The mid-palate shows alcoholic warmth and roundedness, while the tannins and acidity are noticeable, adding to the wine's overall harmony.

Critical Acclaim

"From Frescobaldi’s gorgeous Nipozzano estate, this Riserva Sangiovese (with small percentages of Malvasia Nera, Cabernet and Merlot for extra density and intensity) opens with impressive generosity and personality. It offers lingering flavors of cherry, chocolate and dark spice.
Wine Enthusiast's #1 Wine of the Year 2011"
93 Points

"A burly Rufina, with dried dark fruits, chewy tannins and a dark chocolate and mineral aftertaste. Full and satisfying. Always the fresh acidity in the back palate. A go-to Chianti. Drink now.
#65 Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2010"
91 Points

"90% sangiovese, the rest colorino, malvasia nera, cabernet sauvignon and merlot) Deep violet-ruby. Fresh, fruity aromas of red cherry, blueberry and blackberry, with hints of underbrush and minerals; much less spicy, tarry and dark than some other recent vintages of this wine. Then bright and fresh in the mouth, with red cherry, plum and mineral flavors. Finishes smoothly tannic, polite and persistent. One of the better young Nipozzano vintages I recall: this really does remind you of the higher-altitude, cooler Rufina zone."
91 Points

"The 2007 Chianti Rufina Riserva shows the open, opulent personality that makes this vintage so alluring. Ripe, silky tannins frame a core of red fruits, flowers and spices, all of which come together with unsual grace. Though medium in body, there is wonderful generosity to the fruit, not to mention fabulous overall balance. Anticipated maturity: 2010-2015. "
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(1/3/2012)
I'm extremely sad that this Chianti is sold out. My one bottle was superb!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

susan little - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/6/2011)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Always a favorite. Great wine from a great producer!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/20/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
EXCELLENT CHIANTI
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/6/2011)
Always a winner!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/2/2012)
Style: Big & Bold
7,5 yes very well balanced, full body, fruity with some minerals, strong tannin, long finish, very good wine at this price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/30/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
A great price for a nice bottle. A very nicely balance Boldness to this wine with a chocolate-ty finish. Worth every penny!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Excellent example of a Chianti. Moderate body, nice berry flavor. Smooth tannins provide well rounded structure
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Matt Commins - South San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/31/2011)
A solid Chianti.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/18/2010)
nice aromas, enjoyed this wine, don't usually buy chianti's but really liked this one
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/9/2011)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
The aroma has more fruit than the flavor. Not a bad wine, just a little plain, except the dry, earthy and very persistant finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Vegas Dave - Las Vegas, NV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/23/2010)
I was drawn to try this bottle because of the WS rating for 2010 and the Frescobaldi name (for which I have had some other superior wines). For me however, drinking it showed it to be nothing more than an average chianti that you can get anywhere for half the price. It wasn't bad wine, just not a special bottle with unique aspects. Kinda rough unpleasant finish however.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MichiganCliffy - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/20/2011)
I agree with some of the other reviews for this wine. Just an OK Chianti, nothing all that special. I felt it was a bit watered down compared to some other Chiati's I've had.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/19/2011)
Flavorless except for a tannic bite.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/1/2011)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
This Chianti has earthy notes to it, exhibiting some spice, but was closed up. Not much too it. Even after leaving the bottle open for a few hours, it only slightly improved. I don't recommend it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Vladimir - Wilmington, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/4/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/16/2011)
Pair with: Pizza, Pasta > Tomato-base
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/8/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/17/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DMFIN - Rochester, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/12/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jlnovick - Stoughton, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/11/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Henry Casillas - Los Angeles, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/22/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Frescobaldi Map ItMap It

The Marchesi de' Frescobaldi is one of Italy's oldest wineries, with a history dating to the 1300s. The family has included medieval knights, bankers, lawyers and patrons of the arts. The Marchesi de' Frescobaldi is one of the most significant wine producers in Italy, with nine estates-and roughly 2,500 acres-in Tuscany. The family has been growing wine since the late 19th...

Read More About Frescobaldi

Learn About Tuscany

(TUSS-can-ee) One of the most important wine regions in Italy, Tuscany is home to the cities of Florence and Siena, the districts of Chianti and Brunello di Montalcino, and the wineries of Sassicaia, Tignanello and Ornellaia. Tuscany is also home to the indigenous Italian grape variety, Sangiovese. Most of the wine coming from Tuscany is made from some clone of this...

Read More About Tuscany

Learn About Sangiovese

Sangiovese (SAHN-gee-oh-VAY-zee) Blood of Jove (literally translated) The principal grape of Chianti - in fact, the principle grape of all of Tuscany - has had its ups and downs. For a stint in the 70s and 80s, wines labeled Chianti contained cheap red wine packaged in a straw casked bottle, most popular for the candle holder it would become. But no more. Sangiovese re...

Read More About Sangiovese

YNG335426_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup