Eroica Riesling 2008

Riesling from Columbia Valley, Washington

Price: $24.00 $19.99
Save $4.01 (17%)
Sold Out
The 2012 vintage is available for: $19.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
Buy Now
Item No. 100239
  • W&S94
  • CG93
  • ST91
Style: Fruity & Smooth

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Alcohol By Volume: 11.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 1999
  • WS91
show more

Winemaker's Notes

This Eroica shows the crisp acidity of the cooler 2008 vintage. The wine exudes mandarin orange and sweet lime aromas and flavors with subtle mineral notes. The mouth-watering acidity is beautifully balanced by flavorful Washington Riesling fruit. After a decade we have truly found our 'Eroica style,' striving for beautiful bright fruit with crisp acidity and enhanced minerarilty.

Critical Acclaim

"It seems as if Eroica gets more precise with each vintage. The joint venture between Ernst Loosen and Chateau Ste. Michelle produced a 2008 that's simply brilliant, its scents of Thai pineapple and passionfruit leading to limelike flavors hurried along by rippling acidity. There's tension between the brisk and creamy textures, a contrast of generosity and mineral edges. Pair it with wienerschnitzel."
94 Points

"A collaborative effort between Chateau Ste. Michelle and the Mosel's Ernst Loosen, Eroica consistently ranks as one of the West Coast's finest Rieslings. As this latest version so aptly demonstrates, it is also very much deserving of patience. While it presently flirts with elements of Bartlett pears, peaches and a hint of lime zest, it is still a firm, tightly wound youngster that needs to unfold. Its exceptional balance ensures that any wait will be well worthwhile, and, while we would enjoy it right now with a scallop or two, we plan on setting some aside to be enjoyed as it fills out and opens up over the next several years. GOOD VALUE "
93 Points

"The white wines begin with the 2008 Eroica Riesling, a collaboration between Germany’s Ernst Loosen and Chateau Ste. Michelle. The grapes are sourced from a number of sites and several AVAs. Because of the winery’s vast holdings, this superb Riesling can be made in quantity (27,000 cases) while maintaining exceptional quality. Light straw-colored, it has a lovely, captivating perfume of acacia, honey, mineral, melon, and tropical aromas. Crisp, light- bodied (11.5% alcohol), concentrated, and vibrant, this just off-dry (1.77% RS), Kabinett-styled Riesling has the balance to evolve for several years and should drink well for a decade. "
91 Points

"Very pale straw-yellow. Subtle aromas of citrus peel, ginger, quinine, linden tea and fresh herbs. Intense stone fruit flavors are bright and tactile, with a slight impression of residual sweetness leavened by vibrant acids. Tasty, complex riesling with very good lift on the firm aftertaste."
91 Points

"This lively, refreshing wine has a delicately sweet edge to its pear and floral flavors, lingering effectively on the focused finish. Drink now through 2013."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Brian Tuckman - Old Bridge, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/29/2010)
One of if not the best Riesling I've ever had. Very tasty with a very long and great finish. For my wife and I it was perfect. We bought more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/24/2010)
I shared this Riesling with a few friends this past weekend. It proved to be a favorite and the wine offered a refreshing and delightful experience. The wine has exceptional acidity as it is still a young wine. However, it has great potential to develop with 2-3 years of cellaring. I have ordered 4 more bottles.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Smooth, a little sweet and yet crisp. Great!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Has a breadth of flavor unrivaled in a Riesling at this price. Probably beats out many other expensive rieslings with relative ease. Lets just say this wine is on my "buy a case" list...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/27/2010)
I enjoyed this vintage and would definitely buy it again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/6/2011)
This was a Christmas gift for my mother... We actually haven't tried it yet, but given that it seemed to be a step up from the regular Chateau Ste Michelle Riesling (which is my mother's favourite Riesling), I expect it will be that and more in taste when we do try it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dedalus2222 - Philadelphia, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
yep. if ima spend 20 bucks on a white, it better have depth and action like eroica. wow.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

JoeyJoey - Ambler, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
this wine was my first Riesling, and I'm a red wine/dog fish head beer guy. lately gotten into whites, and this was really nice.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Outstanding Riesling. One of the best made in the U.S. in my opinion.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Good price, wonderful notes. Perfect for spring and summer. Good price. It makes you smile. What's not to like?
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/6/2011)
Generally not a fan of white wines, but really enjoyed this one. Smooth with a good amount of acidity.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Hervé - Gaithersburg, MD (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/27/2011)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
Simply gorgeous ! Very classy palate. A great wine, on its own or during any meal.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MichiganCliffy - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/31/2011)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
Pair with: Ethnic, Lamb > Hot Spices, Pork > Hot Spices
Eroica is consistently good riesling from the Pacific Northwest. I try and keep at least 2 in the wine rack to pair with spicey Indian food.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

PamBaugh - Melbourne, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/28/2011)
My husband really loved this Reisling. It has the smallest bite to it, but in all, a nice, crisp wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/19/2011)
Opened with a group and needed a second bottle. All liked it very much. Perfect level of sweetness to drink alone or tame spicy food.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Feng - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/20/2010)
Shared this with friends at a Pizza dinner and didn't drink much of it, but did like it quite a bit. Probably 91. Need to try again to give a full review.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Fresh, fruity nose (this is a rather acidic wine). To be honest, the attack tasted exactly like saccharine to me (euphemised in the tasting notes, I think, as 'sweet lime'). Green apple mid palate. Finish was surprisingly long and warm - its best aspect in my opinion. Still doesn't compare to the better German Rieslings but a good value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/25/2010)
I've had a German riesling rated 91 and this wine. The German riesling blew this one completely away. There's nothing off putting...everything is technically correct and integrated...very, very light flavors of the fruit...good but not outstanding...it's as good as it will get...tasted twice.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Slumlordess - Pittsburgh, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/3/2011)
Too fruity for me - I'll pass... Tastes a little like a sauvignon blanc. Yuck.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Dave Evans - Sicklerville, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/24/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/1/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

cedralpass - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/22/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Shoblock - Ledgewood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Abcd - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/25/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

drosen12 - Dallas, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/15/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Eroica

Launched in 1999, Eroica is a labor of love for two of the world's great Riesling producers. One from the Old World, Dr. Loosen estate of Germany, and the other from the New World, Chateau Ste. Michelle of Washington state. An intermingling of Old and New World philosophies and technique enables the crafting of an extraordinary Riesling from Washington state grapes. Named for...

Read More About Eroica

Learn About Columbia Valley

Columbia Valley is the largest of Washington State's wine growing regions, with almost 11 million acres. It encompasses a number of smaller regions, including Yakima Valley, Walla Walla Valley, Red Mountain and more. The vast area consists of a range of climates, allowing viticulturists to plant a diverse selection of grape varieties. Most wineries plant rows sparsely, which...

Read More About Columbia Valley

Learn About Riesling

Riesling (REEZ-leeng) The Riesling grape is happiest in a cooler climate, one that fosters its slow and steady ripening. Often assumed to be the producer of only sweet wines, Riesling is a fascinating grape of many faces. From bone dry to lusciously sweet, this variety is delicious at any sugar level with its intense aromas and steely acidity. Most popular in...

Read More About Riesling

Related Products
Gold Medal Winner: 2014 Los Angeles International Wine CompetitionThis new Eroica Gold Riesling offers the best of both worlds, the ...
SWS284789_2008

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup