Dona Paula Estate Malbec 2007

Malbec from Argentina, South America

Price: $16.00 $13.99
Save $2.01 (13%)
Item No. 96661
  • WS90
  • RP90
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Intense red color with violet hues. Complex aromas with ripe plums, blackberry, blueberry, sweet tar, licorice, black pepper, mint, truffle with a hint of mocha flavors, giving an expressive and typical Argentinean character. It has sweet and smooth tannins, nice body with supple and long finish.

Critical Acclaim

"Dark and winey, with warm currant paste, cocoa powder and Turkish coffee notes backed by solid grip on the fleshy finish. Nice hint of grilled sage adds dimension too. Drink now through 2009."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Drinking Wine In CO - Colorado Springs, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/1/2010)
Had this wine last night with some bbq chicken. Very nice. Great mouth feel...round and full. Flavors were expressive. Can't wait to have more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/20/2010)
This wine is very good and at $10.99 a bottle, it is tough to beat. Impoved after breathing for 30 min or so. Some of my snooty (wine) friends thought it was very good and thought that it was more expensive than it was..Ha!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Soft on the palate, full of fruit, and very intense/deep coloration. And at the price, an excellent value. We intend to stock up on this one. It's a keeper!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Great Wine. I love Malbec's.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lee Tagai - Lexington, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This wine was smooth and very dry.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SumGuy - Folsom, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Very drinkable Malbec from Argentina. Would definitely buy again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Held an unscientific wine tasting with 5 budget 90 point rated wines and this was the consensus winner among the 50 people at the tasting.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/13/2010)
I have not always been a fan of malbecs, but I found this Dona Paula an exception. Agree with another reviewer that it should first be decanted. Would purchase again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Great Malbec for the price. Already ordered more!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/19/2010)
This Malbec did not disappoint. It was full body, full of fruit with low tannens. It drinks very wel right now. A great wine for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Very good
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sho Morimoto - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
While a little hard-edged, this full-flavored malbec tastes of dark berries and has a (very) slightly spicy finish. Decent Mendoza malbec for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

pscrl - Irving, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Decant, decant, decant. In my short experience as a wine indulger i have noted the indispensable action of decanting. This otherwise lackluster wine turned perfectly fun with food and time to get some air.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Donald - Boston, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
Austere, yet enough fruit to balance. Great wine for the $
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

KWalker - Leesburg, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/7/2010)
Only had the first bottle of six I purchased. First impression is that it is smooth and a little light on the fruit power from a Malbec standpoint.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Title was borrowed from another site, but is consistent with my impression. Relatively inexpensive but Alamos malbec is even less costly and I enjoyed it as much (although my son said there was bottle variation within a case). For not much more there are better malbecs. I do not have as good a nose as whoever said "Complex aromas with ripe plums, blackberry, blueberry, sweet tar, licorice, black pepper, mint, truffle with a hint of mocha flavors, giving an expressive and typical Argentinean character." I wonder how anyone can detect so much in one wine? I can agree with WS review except rating. Not 90, but very good and should be enjoyable with BBQ, pizza, and probalby hamburger.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
I thnk I drank it too young, but I drank a half a bottle so it could not have been THAT bad! Had it with a mesquite grilled beef tenerloin and some grilled green peppers and a slice of toasted organic whole wheat slathered in butter. 2006 was the vintage, I should have kept it a couple of years but I was craving a malbec!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/18/2010)
This wine was very bland and not much appealing about this wine. Not one I would purchase again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kim Wooding - Springfield, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/26/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/15/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Dona Paula

Located in Ugarteche, Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza Argentina, Dona Paula is an estate winery, producing wines from Dona Paula's own vineyards in the winegrowing regions of Mendoza. Dona Paula's history began in 1990, when a period of exhaustive research on the different Argentinean terroirs and their potential to fully express each varietal began. Dona Paula acquired its first vineyard...

Read More About Dona Paula

Learn About Argentina

(ahr-jen-TEE-nah) Now fifth in the world for wine production, Argentina is catching up in the quality wine sector. A long time wine producer, Argentina used to make wine in order to drink it, not export it. And so the wines produced were quaffable and rustic and made for the local's everyday dinner. Yet it's hard not to get caught up in the wine market of the world and some...

Read More About Argentina

Learn About Malbec

Malbec(MAHL-beck) Angel of Argentina Originally a common grape in Bordeaux, Malbec adds only a small percentage to the blends there. It has, however, found another region in which to flourish -the bourgeoning wine region of Argentina. In fact, Argentinians have adopted Malbec as their national grape! Notable Facts Malbec is used in small amounts in...

Read More About Malbec

Related Products
Intense purplish red color. Sweet, spicy and intense aromas, with notes of red fruits and herbs (such as Herbes de ...
WWI60014_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup