Domaine Duclaux Cote Rotie 2004

Syrah/Shiraz from Cote Rotie, Rhone, France

Price: $50.00 $19.99
Save $30.01 (60%)
Item No. 99613
  • ST92
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2005
  • RP90
  • 2003
  • RP93
  • WS91
  • 2000
  • WS90
  • 1999
  • WS91

Winemaker's Notes

Created in 1928, Domaine Duclaux represent the fourth generation of winegrowers. The 14 acre vineyards of Domain Duclaux are entirely situated in Tupin et Semons and in the southern sector of Côte-Rôtie.

This is a ridiculous value in old world Syrah from Cote Rotie. If you're a fan of intensely flavored, ageworthy reds, you can't go wrong with this bottle.

Made from 95% Syrah and 5% Viognier from 30 year old estate grown vines. Domaine Duclaux is very conscious of the richness of soil and the terroir of Côte-Rôtie and use no insecticide or acaricide. All work is done by hand, without a tractor. Less than 5 people work during the year in the 5.5 hectares of the Domaine Duclaux.

Critical Acclaim

"Deep, bright red. Suave red berry aromas, with a vibrant note of violet. Silky and elegant in texture (2004 has Burgundy tannins, says Benjamin Duclaux), with bright, sweet raspberry fruit and no meaty or earthy notes. This understated wine is all about fruits and fresh flowers. Finishes with fine, suave tannins and clinging length.
90-92"
92 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
I had brought this bottle to a family gathering and we found that this was perfect with a nice foie gras and brie
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
It's a sign of the times that you can get a great Northern Rhone Syrah for under $30. If you've never tried a Cote Rotie before, this is a great place to start. Smokey, peppery, silky and elegant with red raspberry fruit. A steal.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Really enjoyed this wine. Served it at a party and it was the first bottle of red gone.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

PamBaugh - Melbourne, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/28/2011)
This wine takes forever to breathe to get rid of its sharp edge. It's not worth the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
Now I know why it is on sale.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This was quite a hard call. On the one hand it has some very nice spice notes, pepper and clove over chocolate. On the other hand the fruit notes are weak and the wine feels thin and watery for Syrah. Oh, and then there is the subtle but slowly overpowering undercurrent of mold. Not good earthy smells like fresh mushrooms, this is "I haven't cleaned the sink in 3 years" scum of mold. And after a few sips it was literally overpowering. I'm going to hope this was a failure in this particular bottle, but even if not the weakness of the mouthfeel and flavor makes it hard to really recommend it highly even at this price let along MSRP. Or finish a bottle of it. Or even a glass.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Ryan F. - Astoria, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I thought I couldn't go wrong with a $25 Cote Rotie, but alas I was wrong. After purchasing the bottle, I checked out what Parker had to say about the vintage, and apparently it was a hot year, and vineyards that didn't green harvest extensively turned out bad wines. That's what I think happened here. The wine tasted like overripe red berries, bordering on raisiny. Thin on the mid-palate, this wine came off as tart and acidic on the finish. Basically it seemed like they didn't cut enough fruit off before harvest, leading to many ripe grapes that didn't bring a lot to the bottle. pass.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Domaine Duclaux Map ItMap It

The Duclaux Family is one of the oldest in Châteauneuf du Pape. This family built up its domain through the centuries and was one of the first founder members of the appellation association in 1904.

The Quiot and Duclaux families built up bounds and family connections over the years. The last representative of this family, Emmeline Latour, died on 23rd April 2001. Godmother of Florence and Jean-Baptiste Quiot, she bequeated them this wonderful Domaine.

Learn About Cote Rotie

(cote roh-TEE) The Rhone appellation furthest north, the translation of Cote Rotie is roasted slope, named after the region's very steep, south facing slopes that have ideal exposure to the sun. There are two main slopes, Cote Brunes & Cote Blondes. They are just as they sound, with the darker Brunes soils consisting of rich clay and iron, producing firm and robust wine. The...

Read More About Cote Rotie

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

SOU266911_2004

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup