All Reviews

Sort By:
Page: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next >>
35251 Reviews found
  • Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Chateau du Moulin a Vent  Moulin-a-Vent 2011
    $39.99
    Pair with: Marinated Lamb, Tart tomato-sauced dishes
    Tasted March 2015. Medium purple-red, light-to-medium body, slow to form legs. The nose starts out medium sized with a vinous Gamay theme and hints of berries and roses but this dissipates fairly rapidly in the glass. A lively tartness leads the flavors and there is (just barely) enough fruit to carry it off, it isn't big but it works very well with food. With an hour's air the color is slightly darker and the balance a bit better; there's a bit of tannin to round things out. This wants a bit more fruit and fragrance. The cork is first quality and long but I wouldn't hold this past about 2018. I was buying 2011's of this quality for less money two years ago but I've been disappointed by the 2012's and 2013's so this might fill a hole in the market and the price is understandable.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Chateau du Moulin a Vent  Croix des Verillats 2011
    $51.99
    Style: Earth & Spicy
    Pair with: Marinated Meats, Bouillabaise
    Tasted in March 2015, the wine is medium-dark purple-garnet, medium bodied and somewhat leggy. The big, Gamay nose features red-berries, rose-petals, green hay (I like this but not everyone does) and a hint of yeastiness; with air the floral notes grow and the yeastiness vanishes. On the palate a lively, bracing acidity leads the way with just enough fruit to carry it off and a firm tannin note to round things out. With some air the fruit-to-acid balance seems improved and a pleasant finish develops. This is big and very good now but it will probably improve for the next three to five years and might hold as late as 2025. It is well corked to last. I agree with Parker's 92 rating...a bit more fruit could have put this near greatness. This is a bit pricey but I haven't had any really good 2012 or 2013 Cru-Beaujolais so a premium for top 2011's is understandable.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • greyhound - Saint Louis, MO (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Shooting Star Pinot Noir 2012
    $12.99
    Style: Earth & Spicy
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Firestone Santa Ynez Valley Chardonnay 2012
    $17.00 $14.99
    Save $2.01 (12%)
    Style: Rich & Creamy
    An excellent Chardonnay. I was looking for rich and creamy, hint of vanilla, and long finish. Found it with Firestone.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Greg and mare - Philadelphia, PA (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Septima Malbec 2013
    $10.99
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Chateau Rieussec Sauternes 2010
    $90.00 $59.99
    Save $30.01 (33%)
    Spectacular.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • cincilion - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/31/2015)
    Cupcake Vineyards Red Velvet 2012
    $10.99
    Style: Smooth & Supple
    Wine was a great surprise. Nice and smooth. Looking forward to getting another bottle.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/30/2015)
    Valley of the Moon Cabernet Sauvignon 2012
    $35.00 $21.99
    Save $13.01 (37%)
    Style: Big & Bold
    Tasted in March 2015. Dark purple-garnet color, full bodied and leggy, the nose is small and closed until it gets some air, then it opens a bit but is still smallish: dark berries, cassis, cedar, a hint of licorice. On the palate there is great concentration of flavors, plenty of acidity and enough fruit to carry it (bit more would be welcome), there's a stiff tannin backbone but too much alcoholic harshness. This wants time! It will be at its best from about 2022 to 2032; the stout bottle and longish, first-quality cork will allow it to age but right now it is a rough youngster. As in 2010 Valley of the Moon has come up short on the nose and a bit hard on alcohol but, again I will buy a few and lay them down for several years because it is a serious Cab and affordable. This could be a four star wine in a few years but not now.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/30/2015)
    Antucura Malbec 2012
    Sold Out $15.99
    Style: Big & Bold
    Didn't love this at all. Very dark fruit, very extracted, tannins really grab you and not in a good way. Wouldn't purchase again. The "value" aspect can't outweigh the experience and flavor.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • drex93 - Island Lake, IL (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/30/2015)
    Vietti Barbera d'Asti Tre Vigne 2012
    Sold Out $16.99
    Style: Earth & Spicy
    This was a wonderful red! I truly enjoyed it with a homemade gourmet pizza. The wine was flavorful.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/30/2015)
    Mt. Beautiful Pinot Noir 2013
    $24.99
    Style: Light & Fruity
    Pair with: Lamb > Herbs, Salmon > Grilled
    Geranium aromas, bright acidity, light in color, yet full of bright flavors.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/30/2015)
    Mt. Beautiful Sauvignon Blanc 2013
    $16.99
    Style: Light & Crisp
    Crisp and delicious, tangy citrus with herbal notes you expect from NZ. Great aperitif or with fresh oysters.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • imillett - Lincoln, NE (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/29/2015)
    Runquist R Petit Verdot 2013
    $22.99
    Style: Big & Bold
    For some reason, they keep throwing out my review of this wine. This is the 3rd time I've tried to add text. I'll keep it short. This is a good wine. It is subtly different than a CS but can stand up to any CS in a tasting. This is my new favorite wine.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Desmond - Flower Mound, TX (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/29/2015)
    Vina Herminia Crianza 2010
    Sold Out $15.99
    Style: Smooth & Supple
    Pair with: Paella, goat cheese, young manchego
    I allowed the wine to sit for 2-3 weeks after delivery before opening. The wine has a cherry nose upon opening, light bodied, well crafted. The opening cherry is hidden by a bit of alcohol before it evolves into light red fruits. I put it through a Vinturi and it improved. The wine is smooth in the mouth. I would call this a good summer wine if served at appropriate temperature -- 55-60 F -- and with light fare. It is evidently well-crafted, just light.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/28/2015)
    Blandy's Madeira Colheita Malmsey Single Harvest (500ML) 1996
    Sold Out $49.99
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/28/2015)
    Arrowood Saralee's Vineyard Select Late Harvest Riesling 2008
    Sold Out $29.99
    Great dessert wine. Thick, creamy and sweet. Complex finish.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/28/2015)
    Mt. Beautiful Pinot Noir 2013
    $24.99
    Style: Earth & Spicy
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/28/2015)
    Emilio Lustau Solera Reserva los Arcos Dry Amontillado Sherry
    $16.99
    Most Amontillados are flavorful but too sweet for my taste, though I like the aroma and wonderful flavor of a good Amontillado. I have been looking for a long time for a truly flavorful and dry Amontillado - found it! Will definitely buy again.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Rating:
    (3/28/2015)
    Dios Baco Amontillado
    $21.99
    Having tasted many sherries over the years, this is the best Amontillado ever. Preferring drier sherries, this has the aroma and flavor unlike any other though slightly sweet. Definitely will buy again.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
  • Poi Dog - Honolulu, HI (read all my reviews)

    Rating:
    (3/27/2015)
    Montevina Pinot Grigio 2013
    $9.99
    Style: Light & Crisp
    I can't say that I think it is as "fashionable" as their blurb says, and the ripe pears were not as full of aroma in out bottles as they claim. It is crisp and flavorful, however, with enough polish to satisfy the tongue as well as the nose.
    Please sign in or create a profile to rate
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals