Chateau Moya 2009

Bordeaux Red Blends from Cotes de Castillon, Bordeaux, France

$35.00 $19.99
Save $15.01
Item No. 119276
  • red wine
  • WS90
Alcohol By Volume: 15.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2010
  • WS90

Winemaker's Notes

Chateau Moya 2009 shows blackcurrant, mint, slightly oaky (roasted nuts) on the nose. The mouth is full of fruits along with some notes of licorice on the aftertaste which make it fresh. This wine is very concentrated with silky tannins. Easy to drink now and for the next 2 to 3 years.

Critical Acclaim

"Very juicy and inviting, with deliciously ripe notes of linzer torte, blackberry and crushed plum, laced with anise and toasted spice. The lively finish stretches out nicely. "
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Dr Bull - Redwood City, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/23/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
grapey, with a hint of grape and a great grapey finish. Great value definitely 90 points
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/25/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
This wine begs for a pungent cheese to bask in the heady bouquet. Rosey Goat Spanish cheese with rosemary rind is amazing as a 5-star combination. Complex wine with subtle earth nose, full cherry/plum body and strong finish of spice and little anise.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

flosseye - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/28/2014)
All around good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Zdriller - Waukesha, WI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/30/2013)
Style: Earth & Spicy
Nice deep purple color, good legs. Nose is a bit on the pungent side but the first blush mouthful is a wonderfully intense fruitful experience. It shows the earthy flavor which seems to be a bordeaux characteristic. The aftertaste is disappointing as it reflects the original nose and is rather short lived. However, for the cost of $20/bottle it is I feel a great bargain and will stand up to and compliment a grilled steak. Bordeaux usually does better being the highlight rather than the accompaniment.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/3/2013)
Did not live up to reviews.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Hervé - Gaithersburg, MD (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/23/2014)
really average Bordeaux, not sparks or depth in drinking. The producer will have to work out a better finishing.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/21/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/13/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Suling - Edmonds, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

teppes - Oxford, MS (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/10/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

frank9 - Yonkers, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/3/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Suling - Edmonds, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Suling - Edmonds, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Suling - Edmonds, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/5/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Chateau Moya

Chateau Moya was recently established from the purchase of a vineyard, which was previously maintained as a cooperative winery in the Cotes de Castillon region of Bordeaux.  

In December 2008 David Curl, owner of Château Gaby in Fronsac decided to invest in this beautiful land located a few hundred meters from the Saint-Emilion appellation.

So in Sainte Colombe, on the production area Cotes de Castillon Bordeaux, Damien Landouar, who has been making wine since 1999 in Gaby, will undertake the winemaking to make the great wines in the region.

Learn About Cotes de Castillon

(coat duh cass-TEE-yawn) Cote de Castillon is located just east of St-Émilion and south of Fronsac. The region is Merlot-based like its surrounding neighbors and produces great value wines. Wines of Castillon may not have the depth and elegance of a Pomerol, but they are delicious & affordable, allowing consumers to enjoy the right-bank of Bordeaux and a friendly price....

Read More About Cotes de Castillon

Learn About Bordeaux Red Blends

Bordeaux Blends The Fab Five With so much history under its belt, it's no wonder that Bordeaux has figured out the recipe to produce amazing wines. Centuries of making (and drinking) wine led to the blend that has become synonomous with Bordeaux. Winemakers in the New World replicate this formula to create successful blends in their respective regions - you may see Bordeaux blends...

Read More About Bordeaux Red Blends

VFTMOYA_2009
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup