About Chateau Bellefont Belcier:
The BELLEFONT-BELCIER estate is very old and its history can be traced back to the 17th century. Towards the end of the 18th century Count Louis François de Belcier actually founded the vineyard, ideally situated on the southern slope of Saint-Émilion, between PAVIE and LARCIS-DUCASSE. Then in 1803, on this magnificent site, he built the château which he named "BELLEFONT", or "Belle Fontaine" (Beautiful Fountain), because of the numerous springs nearby, rising from the chalky-clay slope.in 1889, the château passed into the hands of the FAURE family. Pierre FAURE, a brilliant agricultural engineer and author of many drainage works and other agricultural improvements, had the famous circular vat built, intact since its identification and today one of the jewels of this property. It was at this time that the vineyard became one of the guiding lights of the Bordeaux region, receiving many awards (the unique Gold Medal awarded by the Ministry for Agriculture to the Bordeaux wines, at the General Agriculture Competition, Paris, 1892).
Since 1994, the vineyard and its outhouses have been considerably renovated with a view to raising the property to the status of the Great Classified Vintages of Saint-Émilion.