Cambria Julia's Vineyard Pinot Noir 2006

Pinot Noir from Santa Maria Valley, California

Price: $23.99
Sold Out
The 2012 vintage is available for: $21.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
Buy Now
Item No. 94513
  • WE93
  • WN90
Style: Light & Fruity

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Cambria 2006 Julia's Pinot Noir offers fresh cherry, blueberry, strawberry and cranberry fruit flavors accented with cinnamon and vanilla oak spice characters. The mid-palate has a silky texture and balanced tannins that lead into a fruity and earthy finish.

Critical Acclaim

"This is the best Pinot Noir at this price on the market. Easily. It's picture-perfect cool climate, absolutely dry and silky, with complex flavors of cherries, Mandarin orange, cola, pomegranates, licorice and cinnamon spice, made even richer by smoky oak. Just lovely, and gets even better as it breathes in the glass."
93 Points

"Light crimson hue. Inviting scents of wild cherry and raspberry with secondary nuances of thistle and white pepper. Juicy flavors of black cherry and raspberry. Velvety tannins and hints of vanilla and allspice in the cherry-driven close."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Brian C - Eugene, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Though not outstanding, after this wine gets a breath it delivers a very nice and pleasurable pinot taste that will make your taste buds thank you. Very good and enjoyable, and a good value for the experience.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Lovely wine. Fresh red berry nose (strawberries quite notable) mirrored on the palate with a little pepper, cinnamon, and well-integrated wood. Medium to medium light body with adequate acid and balanced lightish tannins. Overall, a very well balanced and extremely elegant wine. Not fat or muscular, but instead graceful and subtle. A "feminine wine," that doesn't scream or screech, but sings softly and beautifully for anyone listening. Aussie Shiraz lovers might not quite get it. A steal for around $20. I want to buy a case and see how if it can develop even more for the next year or two. WEnthus just scored this a 93 as "the best PN at this price point. Easily." That could be correct.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
We first had this while on vacation in North Carolina. When we got home I searched all over town for it and couldn't find it. That's what brought me to wine.com. It is a wonderful, smooth blend of flavors with a great finish. As others have stated, make sure to let it breathe. A great wine at a great price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Opened at a tasting at my home and they all felt it was good. They asked for the name and the vintage. Light, not heavy. Left open for two hours before serving.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
You can't beat this wine for the money. A great wine to have around the house. Very nice finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
Despite a rather dull color, this wine is delicious. Not real heavy but a perfect red especially for enjoying before dinner, but bold enough to enjoy with dinner.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MF - Chicago, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I liked it for the value, but will definitely let it open up more next time.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/20/2010)
Very disappointed. Opened one bottle, returned the rest.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
slightly chilled this wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
First of all as a courtesy to others please don't rate a wine that has corked! Even a '59 Lafite Rothschild Pauillac that has corked will taste bad. The 2006 Cambria Pinot Noir was a perfect pairing for our Thanksgiving meal and got rave reviews from everyone. It had a fine earthy nose and a well balanced body that held its own with all of the different foods including of course turkey as well as sweet potatoes, dressing, scalloped oysters and green beans. I also served an excellent gewurtztraminer but the Cambria Pinot was the preferred wine of choice.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Made understated and delicate, as in France, not California. For the price, an outstanding buy, but only if left to breathe AT LEAST 12 hours. Then it blooms!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Todd Chase - Pfafftown, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/20/2010)
I like this Pinot. Medium bodied and definitely opens up if you let it breathe for a few minutes - makes a big difference. Looking forward to having it this summer with grilled seafood and chicken.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
We keep this wine as an old faithful. It is consistently good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sho Morimoto - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
A good pinot for the price, but it definitely needs to breathe for a while before this light-bodied, slightly spicy red reaches its full potential.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Joe Z. - Arlington, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
It is a great value. Not a 93, IMO, but certainly 90 - 91. Aerate to open it up and you'll be rewarded.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Matt Trevors - Steubenville, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I brought this to a wine tasting party. I decanted the wine for about 4 hours before the party... Nothing but compliments, it is definitely a great tasting wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/18/2010)
i liked this wine. my mom told me about it and she sure knows her wine!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Benjamin - Arlington, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
This wine was ok- but it didn't stand out as a plus 90 point wine. It was fruity and very light- almost thin. The word watery comes to mind, but I hesitate to use it- because it wasn't weak or flavorless, it was just so light as to be thin. This particular wine just doesn't
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
silky and supple ....cherries and chocolate come to mind
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
Very light,slightly acidic for my taste
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I just opened my second of six bottles and now realize that this wine needs oxygen. If I had to drink it straight out the bottle I would not buy it again. Once it breathes for 30 minutes or longer it is enjoyable.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/18/2010)
Not sure how that rating came to be, but it wasn't the wine itself. Decent value, but lacks the character and silkiness to be anywhere need a 93... 87/88, yes.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/19/2010)
I lived in San Diego for several years and now live in the Boston area. Cambria Pinot Noir was a favorite of mine and my nieces, but this recent purchase tastes like a watered down version. I was disappointed!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Prax De Zein - Altamonte Springs, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/18/2010)
i found this pinot noir too bitter. it did improve after opening and sitting the fridge overnight.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Not sure if we just got a bad bottle, but it tasted corked.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Cambria Map ItMap It

Cambria is a private, family-owned estate winery that has carved out a reputation for producing lush, tropical Chardonnay, velvety-textured Pinot noir and rich, spicy Syrah since its inception in 1987. Cambria's proximity to the ocean and east-west orientation gives this 1,400-acre property the diversity it needs to grow Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah under perfectly suited...

Read More About Cambria

Learn About Santa Maria Valley

Situated near the ocean in the larger Santa Barbara district, the Santa Maria Valley appellation runs east to west. Pacific Ocean air funnels in to cool the vineyards, allowing the grapes to evenly ripen and reach their full potential. This unique climate paired with the region's well-drained soils helps create some sought-after grapes. Notable Facts Pinot Noir and...

Read More About Santa Maria Valley

Learn About Pinot Noir

Pinot Noir(PEE-noh nwahr) Pinot Noir is a finicky grape. It only grows in the right climate, with the right soils and the right care. Perhaps because it is so difficult is why it is so loved. Pinot Noir hails from Burgundy, a region known for crafting the most collectible and sought-after wines from this varietal. Not only does Pinot reign in Burgundy, it is also...

Read More About Pinot Noir

Related Products
Winemaker's Notes This becomes a more serious wine every year. The '04 Summa Vineyard possesses notes of currant, lavender, forest ...
2012 Julia's Vineyard Pinot Noir is deep, dark purple with underlying earthy character that compliments its solid tannin structure. Red ...
On the nose cherry, spice and forest floor dance out of the glass and tickle the olfactory. The mouth is ...
ATL139420706_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup