Bodega Norton Privada 2006

Bordeaux Red Blends from Argentina, South America

Price: $28.00 $17.99
Save $10.01 (36%)
Sold Out
The 2010 vintage is available for: $24.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Buy Now
Item No. 97428
  • WS92
  • RP90
  • WE90
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2011
  • WE93
  • WS91
  • ST91
  • 2003
  • WS91
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Significantly rich ruby red in color. Excellently complex aroma with hints of ripe fruit, spice and coffee aromas. Very good attack on the palate, unctuous and of excellent concentration

Critical Acclaim

"This polished Argentine red has lots of spice and fruitcake notes up front, followed by an ample core of raspberry ganache, fig bread and mocha. The long, well-rounded finish lingers with poise, despite the overall concentration. Malbec, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. Drink now through 2012."
92 Points

"The 2006 Privada is a blend of 40% Malbec, 30% Merlot, and 30% Cabernet Sauvignon aged for 16 months in new French oak. Deep crimson-colored, it reveals a classy perfume of pain grille, mineral, pepper, vanilla, plum, cassis, and black cherry. On the palate it has layers of smooth-textured, savory black fruit, a firm structure, excellent depth, and a lengthy, pure finish. It will evolve for 2-3 years and be at its best from 2011 to 2019. "
90 Points

"Dark, smoky and meaty, with touches of moss, leather and chocolate that should knit together even better in the not-too-distant future. As stated on these pages many times, Privada, a blend of Malbec, Cabernet and Merlot, is one of those overachieving wines that will thrill novices and experts alike. In the mouth, flavors of cola, blackberry and clove are all dandy, and the finish of more clove, spice and espresso is a winner."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Classic reserva malbec at a great price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is a nice red at a great price. It needs to be decanted for a couple of hours before serving. It goes great with meat with some fat in it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

n8 - Colchester, VT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This a great combination of malbec and cabernet for fullness and structure with merlot for mellowness. Very drinkable yet has enough structure to be interesting.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sheila Iskra - Alexandria, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
My husband & I both loved this wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

martha trevino - San Antonio, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
wow, I just bought like 300 dollars worth of 90+ rated wines for under 20 bucks and I must say, I was very disappointed. But when I came across this one, I was very impressed.... strong nose, but with a lovely bouquet. Not very smooth but if you love dry, you will like this.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/2/2011)
pretty sure we did not like this wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
A spicey wine with berries. I enjoyed this wine, but prefer other blends.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

barb p - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/6/2013)
ordered a case and the corks were disintegrated in all three bottles that we opened. Wine.com gave us a full refund.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/20/2010)
Really didn't like this. Very strong taste (maybe the Malbec). No other flavors.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Bodega Norton Map ItMap It

Astonished at the features of the place, and pushed by his visionary spirit, in 1895, an English Engineer, Mr. Edmund J. P. Norton planted the first vines importing them from France, thereby giving origin to what was the first winery in the area. Almost 100 years later, Austrian businessman, Mr. Gernot Langes-Swarovski, travelled to Mendoza and experienced the same fascination for...

Read More About Bodega Norton

Learn About Argentina

(ahr-jen-TEE-nah) Now fifth in the world for wine production, Argentina is catching up in the quality wine sector. A long time wine producer, Argentina used to make wine in order to drink it, not export it. And so the wines produced were quaffable and rustic and made for the local's everyday dinner. Yet it's hard not to get caught up in the wine market of the world and some...

Read More About Argentina

Learn About Bordeaux Red Blends

Bordeaux Blends The Fab Five With so much history under its belt, it's no wonder that Bordeaux has figured out the recipe to produce amazing wines. Centuries of making (and drinking) wine led to the blend that has become synonomous with Bordeaux. Winemakers in the New World replicate this formula to create successful blends in their respective regions - you may see Bordeaux blends...

Read More About Bordeaux Red Blends

YNG685249_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup