Belguardo Serrata Maremma 2005

Red Blends from Tuscany, Italy

Price: $19.99
Item No. 98213
  • W&S94
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

The pioneering Mazzei family, owners of Chianti Classico's highly esteemed Castello di Fonterutoli, took the helm at the Belguardo estate in Maremma, Tuscany in the 1990s after recognizing the potential for superb quality winemaking in the local terroir. In the years since, the Mazzeis have established a name for Belguardo among the top producers in this exciting, fast emerging wine region.

Hand harvested grapes undergo temperature-controlled fermentation and maceration for 16-18 days. The resulting wine matures for 12 months in French and American barriques, 30% of which are new.

Ruby red in color, and aromatic, with scents of ripe cherries, raspberries and vanilla. Full-bodied, soft and well structured, with flavors of wild berries, spice and herbs.

"This edgy, almost sanguine blend is grown in a rocky mix of limestone and sandstone soils on the coast near Grosseto. While the wine's naturally brisk acidity shows the cooling influence of the coastal air, what's most striking is the savory, elegant feel of the tannins. At once powerfully mineral and smooth, they frame deep flavors of dried porcini, ripe cherry and fresh sage in a way that feels vibrant and firm. The complexity is here to age this for a decade, although it would be irresistible now with roast leg of lamb."
Wine & Spirits
Best Buy 94/100

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

john willcox - Bridgewater, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
As super tuscans go this one is soft on the pallet, smooth, and pleasing in flavor, but something is missing from wine (Merlot?)complementing the sangiovanese, so it's no 94, which should knock your socks off, maybe a 90
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Z - Marlborough, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
The alicante gives a unique aroma to the sangiovese, but not over powering. Nice balance & dryness on the palate though we did decante it for about 1 or 2 hrs. Probably would've been a little raw if not decanted. Nice with a heavy steak with spice. Pretty good value for the $19/bottle. I may be bias as it seemed a little port like on the nose, which bothered me a little though I enjoyed it since it wasn't over powering... though that's all I could think about... and a field of flowers.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
nice nose, smooth finish. Great with pork tenderloin. Preferred it to the $40 chianti we drank the same night.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bianco - Cos Cob, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Excellent Sangiovese blend, phenomenal value, worth at least 2 or 3 times its $19 price tag. Very nice spicy, dry-fruit aroma with a long, slow, oakey finish. Would not give it a 94 today (a solid 90), but maybe after several more years in the bottle.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dawoodsy - Forsyth, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
ripe cherries, powerfull but smooth. went great with steak and ribs.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Loved this wine. I would buy this one again!! No tasting notes.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I really enjoyed this wine and it was a great value. Wonderfully aromatic of dark cherry and prune, smooth texture with rich tannin, and a delightful balance of mineral notes and dark berries.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/12/2010)
excellent quality/price ratio
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Cherries, cherries, cherries. These come through loud and clear from the first sip. The sage is very apparent and the tannin chase lovely. Smooth across your palate.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dgris - Portland, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
We had this wine with dinner after two good but lessor quality Italian reds. I have had many more expensive wines that did not deliver as much as this one, loved it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I loved the bold taste and finish of this wine. We will certainly include this on our list of favorites.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
i dont know much about wine but this was pretty tasty served along steak + aspargus and it was sooo delicious when i made it into a sauce with some sugar, cinnamon stick, lemon peel + pepper corn to poach peaches in for dessert.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/15/2010)
Very smooth, excellent drinking wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/11/2011)
A very good Tuscany wine. However, very heavy, must decant for an hour before drinking.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Belguardo Map ItMap It

The pioneering Mazzei family, owners of Chianti Classico"s highly esteemed Castello di Fonterutoli, took the helm at the Belguardo estate in Maremma, Tuscany in the 1990s after recognizing the potential for superb quality winemaking in the local terroir. In the years since, the Mazzeis have established a name for Belguardo among the top producers in this exciting, fast emerging...

Read More About Belguardo

Learn About Tuscany

(TUSS-can-ee) One of the most important wine regions in Italy, Tuscany is home to the cities of Florence and Siena, the districts of Chianti and Brunello di Montalcino, and the wineries of Sassicaia, Tignanello and Ornellaia. Tuscany is also home to the indigenous Italian grape variety, Sangiovese. Most of the wine coming from Tuscany is made from some clone of this...

Read More About Tuscany

Learn About Other Red Blends

Other Red Red wines are certainly not limited to Cabernet and Pinot Noir - or even Nebbiolo and Grenache. There are a multitude of grape varieties throughout the world, however, in a Darwinian sense, survival of the fittest only brings us wines made from grapes that can adapt to changing climates and winemaking techniques. Notable Facts Our other red wines primarily consists of...

Read More About Other Red Blends

SWS188712_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup