Artezin Mendocino Zinfandel 2011

Zinfandel from North Coast, California

Price: $18.00 $14.99
Save $3.01 (17%)
Item No. 121575
  • W&S92
  • TP90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

The color is bright crimson red with a violet hue. The aromas are very bright, showing fresh raspberry, boysenberry and pomegranate fruit, followed by classic "zinny" spice of nutmeg, cinnamon and black pepper. The fruit and spice continues on the palate, which is again fresh with hints of blueberry and huckleberry. The texture is round and rich for easy drinking and the tannins add to the lush mouthfeel. This wine was created for immediate enjoyment and pairs well with grilled meats, pastas and semi-firm cheeses such as an aged cheddar, Fenacho or goat gouda.

Blend: 90% Zinfandel, 10% Petite Sirah

Critical Acclaim

"Rustic in the best sense, this has the deep, resinous herb scent that’s made Mendocino famous. The tannins lend grit to the palate, along with layers of flavor that fill the mouth completely even as the wine coasts along. Decant a bottle while you marinate a butterflied leg of lamb for the grill. Best Buy."
92 Points

"Juicy, ripe and generous with tangy acidity and gobs of black raspberry; vibrant, fresh and clean with long, zesty fruit. 90% Zinfandel, 10% Petite Sirah."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Brigid Stanley - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/18/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very plum-driven to me. Dark fruit: dates, figs. Nice sweet spicing : cinnamon, clove, cardamom. Would be perfect with Indian food I would imagine. I am going to more Zinfandels from Mendocino though, very ripe, jammy finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/26/2013)
I've been buying this for a few years, now. I really like it. I'm bummed that Costco doesn't sell it any more. The price went up, too.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mooselady - Spotswood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/29/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
This is a great smooth wine. Wonderful flavor. My guests loved it and I love it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jnchilds - College Station, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/15/2014)
good one
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bob Carbonaro - Summerville, SC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/8/2014)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very nice... Not strong and no heavy after taste... Would buy again... I was using it to sip in the evening while watching TV w/my wife.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Thomas O - Charlevoix, MI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/12/2013)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
Best Zin I've had this year.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/15/2013)
Very good Zin, definitely buy this again. Flavorful and smooth.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/13/2013)
It isn't quite as good as the (unfortunately) sold out 2009, which is divine, but it comes close. I did not enjoy either of the 2010 vintages. I like reds that are neither overly sweet nor very dry. This fits that bill and has a very nice flavor. My vernacular as it pertains to describing wine is rather paltry but if one enjoys Zinfandels or Shiraz/Syrahs, I think he/she will enjoy this one.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/6/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

tiafay - New Haven, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/9/2014)
Pair with: grilled red meat, pizza with goaty cheese, artisan pizza
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

joels - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/22/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Cynthia Butler - Pittsburgh, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/7/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Artezin

We handcraft Artezin Zinfandel from grapes grown in some of California's best Zinfandel regions: Napa Valley, Amador County, Sonoma County and Mendocino County. Artezin expresses terroir and rich varietal fruit with lively and complex elegance.

Learn About North Coast

Beyond Napa and Sonoma in the north you find a couple of other counties producing great wine. Among these are Mendocino and Lake County. The northernmost California winegrowing regions, these two counties are right above Napa and Sonoma, geographically. Yet, wine-wise they are very different - both from their southern neighbors and from each other. Notable Facts Mendocino...

Read More About North Coast

Learn About Zinfandel

Zinfandel(ZIN-fahn-dell) American Grape Zinfandel the American - or Californian - grape. Although it's not from America (Croatia has been named its origin), it does seem quite at home in the vineyards of California. During Prohibition, many Zinfandel vines survived as the high-yielding grape was popular both for home winemaking and communion wine, which is...

Read More About Zinfandel

CGM557297_2011

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup