SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Alvear Pedro Ximinez 1927 (375ML half-bottle)

Sherry from Spain

Price: $26.99
Item No. 92464
  • RP96
Alcohol By Volume: 16.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

The vineyards, located at an elevation of 1,050 feet, are comprised of the famous chalky soil called Albariza and the 40-year-old vines produce extremely low yields. The grapes were hand-harvested at the peak of maturity and dried on mats in the sun. This is one of the oldest wines in the cellar since the Solera was started at the beginning of the last century.

Critical Acclaim

"The impressive 1927 Pedro Ximenez Solera, from a Solera begun nearly 80 years ago, boasts a dark amber color as well as an extraordinary nose of creme brulee, liquefied nuts, marmalade, and maple syrup. Huge and viscous, yet neither cloyingly sweet nor heavy, it is a profound effort priced unbelievably low."
96 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
My first experience with PX has thoroughly spoiled me. Served properly chilled, this is a thick sip of raisin, caramel, almond joy. It's so rich, you don't need much - but that little bit is heaven enough. There are more recent vintages out there for about $5 less...but why bother? They're a little lighter on the palate, but this delectable bottle is worth easily three times its price. Before dinner, after dinner, over ice cream, on your oatmeal - you'll find any excuse to indulge.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is the most delectable dessert wine I have ever had! Its good alone, with sweets, cold, cool, or room temperature! Only problem is this could be very addictive!! Put this on your must try list!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

julia - Glen Cove, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Very thick, and very sweet.. be sure not to have more than a small amount at a time. Predominantly tasting of raisins and burnt sugar, it was good but I would not recommend this for anyone without a severe sweet tooth.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
One of the best values I've found in high-quality dessert wines. Complex flavor profile. Terrific with assertive cheeses.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I seem to have snagged the last three bottles of Alvear Pedro Ximinez 1927 from wine.com. I'm on a mission to find more - this is a sherry worth scavenging for.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

RomanMike - Lewiston, ID (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I had read the reviews of this particular solera and, having wanted to try something sweeter than my usual cream sherries, I thought this would be an interesting foray. I was not disappointed and it is like liquid raisin. I enjoy sipping it in a small sherry glass while listening to music or reading. An incredible price for such a stellar wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/2/2014)
This sherry is just amazing. Truly delicious, this is great with cheeses, deserts, or just as desert on its own. I bought two of these based on its price and reviews but now wish I gotten more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

crazyfly - Colorado Springs, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2012)
OMG. The first sip and I'm hooked. I taste marzipan and tobacco (anyone else taste tobacco?). So smooth, only the tiniest bit of alcohol noticeable. Sticky and cloying and homemade caramel lingers long. This wont make any sense to anyone but... you can taste the old.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

CathynSF - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/23/2012)
Mmmmmmm...on a cold evenng, with a fruit and chocolate plate, a fire/candles, good music and a good friend you will be transported. Smooth as syrup, dried currants and apricots all make for a special sipping experience.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/16/2011)
I like desert wines, but some sweet wines are so sweet the taste gets lost. This wine is very sweet, but delicious. It is like drinking raisins. It is unbelievably smooth and you don't notice the alcohol even though it is 16%.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This very classy PX is one of the best values in dessert wines I've found. Wonderful paired with a white chocolate-orange mousse!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

gabruce - Castle Rock, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This Solera is outstanding! Great with a top notch cigar, sipping and puffing for over 90 minutes was sublime. Incredible price for a stellar Solera!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

FidelisBob - Saint Charles, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
For once I agree with Parker's rating... this pleasure in a bottle is worth every penny... although Wine.com has jacked up the price by $5 a bottle since the customer reviews have been good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
excellent desert wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
excellent desert wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/15/2013)
This is my first experience with Sherry and it is fantastic. The flavor is rich, thick, nutty, caramel-y and raisin-y (yeah I'm no expert!) Sweet, great for sipping, but not disgustingly sweet. I'm hooked.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

nikkileth - Oakland, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/23/2012)
The color is reminiscent of rootbeer, flavors are of raisin, this is simply delicious!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/7/2010)
A wonderfully sweet nose (I can see the idea of a creme brulée), this wine is a concentrated raisin in the mouth with a syrup finish. I would have it with dessert, on dessert, after dessert, for dessert. Absolutely wonderful! The finish is full and round with wonderful nuances.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Tasted extremely similar to the generic muscat I'd had a few days earlier.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/13/2013)
Very sweet, but otherwise undistinguished. Probably good for pouring over ice-cream, as another reviewer suggested.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Buttaflygurl - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/24/2012)
I like moscato and sweet wine in general - this one is too thick for me. : (
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

La-La - Alameda, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/23/2012)
Very thick & very sweet. Taste of raisin and brown sugar. This is good in very small portions, seems that it may go very well with green apples.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/9/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Alvear Map ItMap It

Alvear S.A. was established by Don Diego de Alvear in 1729, and since that time has remained under control of the Alvear family. This is the oldest winery in the region and its fino is today one of the three most popular fino wines in Spain. Located in the town of Montilla, in the province of Cordoba, in the interior of Andalucia. Grapes are sourced from their own vineyards, of...

Read More About Alvear

Learn About Other Spain

The third largest country in production, Spain ranks first in land under vine. Diversity and innovation are the key factors bringing Spain back into the world wine market. The most popular red varieties of Spain include Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache). Whites don't garner quite as much recognition, but there are some regional varieties not to be missed, like Albarino...

Read More About Other Spain

Learn About Sherry

Sherry Sherry is a fortified wine made by adding grape spirits after ferementation. The name sherry comes from the English attempt to say Jerez, the southwest coastal region of Spain where Sherry is made. Sherry comes in two basic styles, fino and olorosso. The fino style is pale colored, crisp and dry, while olorosso is much darker and nuttier, and can range from dry to...

Read More About Sherry

Related Products
Four decades ago my father Wyndham initiated the practice of putting aside a few barrels of each years production of ...
With its bright and shimmering regal red color, the Merlot port is pleasing to the eye. Soft legs cling to ...
It will reveal notes of white fruit such as peach, with a mineral structure. In the mouth, a stony sensation ...
TEM1927375_0

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup