d'Arenberg Stump Jump Shiraz 2008

Syrah/Shiraz from McLaren Vale, Australia

Price: $11.00 $9.99
Save $1.01 (9%)
Sold Out
The 2011 vintage is available for: $12.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Buy Now
Item No. 99737
  • WS90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

#82 Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2009

The name 'Stump Jump' relates to the significant South Australian invention – the Stump Jump plough. This plough became a popular piece of machinery for ploughing fields because of its ability to ride over stumps and gnarled "mallee" Eucalypt roots and snags, saving valuable time and resources by not stopping the draught horse.

Inviting fresh plum aromas leap out of the glass with raspberry and pretty pot-pourri notes providing more complexity. The palate is juicy and spicy with an abundance of red fruits that are fresh and vibrant. Licorice and rose petals come through on the mid palate and an under-lying earthy complexity is evident all the way through. The tannins are powdery and subtle on this juicy ready to drink red.

Critical Acclaim

"Ripe and open-textured, this is impressive for the way it packs in the cherry, blackberry and raspberry flavors and doesn’t take the foot off the gas pedal until the mineral-inflected finish has played through. Drink now through 2018."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
We bought 17 Wines from wine.com rated 90+, have drank about 8 of them, and this is the best, and unbelievably the least costly. (Please don't raise price based on my comment) One of the best wines I have ever tasted, and my wife agrees. Will continue to buy more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This was a surprise hit among a group of wines of more refined pedigree. I would recommend as a versatile house wine that won't disappoint.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

guapitomark - Laguna Niguel, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
A customer of mine gave me a bottle of this fine shiraz. I was skeptical when I noticed a twist-off cap instead of a cork. However, don't let that fool you. This is a very good Shiraz. It is very smooth and, at first, i found it too sweet....but, after letting it breathe, it was just perfect. It definitely is in the category of wines that wakes up your inner cheek with a richness of almost effervescent flavor. Drink it at 68 degrees. This is totally worth the $11 it costs, trust me. Just wish it had a cork!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DORIS SILVA - Fort Worth, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Not an big fan of this wine. It is very sweet.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Robust nose - earthy fruit tones jump out of the glass. On the palate, the fruit comes forward but the earth tones carry through in the background, with a hint of spice. Tart berries on the finish (which is short but fresh). Overall I find this to be a big, bold and balanced - a very nice Shiraz. I'm weeping in my glass as I write, as the vintage is no longer available - I wish I had bought more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I saw that someone called this sweet? To me, it is anything but! It is very harsh when first opened, let it breathe for a bit. It is nice for the price, but I have had better Shiraz for a few bucks more. Having said that, I will buy another case. It works out by the pool with grilled burgers, ribs, steaks. I see this as a wine to serve for casual entertaining.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
I enjoyed this wine although I can spend a couple dollars more and get some Shiraz that I like even better. The screw top makes a great wine for that trip out of town when you don't want to worry about a cork screw. Better than most $10 Shiraz but you can get better for a few more dollars.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DF - Ithaca, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I saw all the good reviews and ordered this one. But it's disappointing. Way too sweet and no character at all. But look at the price, I guess I can't complain.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kim Broers - Kansas City, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/19/2010)
90 WS pts. is my baseline, but this was more grapey than I'd anticipated. The Liesingham Bin 61 Shiraz /04 was MUCH better.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/13/2010)
I bought this for a friend and she raved about it's fruitiness and smoothness. "A light and wonderful experience".
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kiwipainter - Menlo Park, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/19/2010)
Big, smooth, bold but not rough. Well balanced with a nice nose. Just the way I like the Aussie reds. Great vineyard. What a simple pleasure.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/16/2010)
A very nice value Auzzie shiraz - bright, full of fruit, pepper and mineral tastes - great value and a great wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/25/2010)
this wine is a winner....and the price can't be beat
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Old Grey Bull - Glade Valley, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Rich, full bodied, smooth, nice finish, an exceptional choice at a below $10 price point. I've ordered several cases.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
My husband like this Shiraz very much as a basic wine with dinner. It's consistant flavor mixes well with many meals
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Good taste, not too full. Sweeter than I anticipated but not too sweet.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
nice wine, good body, spicy, strong finish
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Truly delightful shiraz. Smooth. Great tannins. Wonderful. Bought this in a trial quantity and immediately turned in an order for a case. Everyone will love this beauty.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
What a pleasant suprise on this one. A great lighter bodied Shiraz that WS has hit right on. This is a great bargain!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Richard Zerr - Saint Charles, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/15/2010)
This wine gives you more than you pay for in quality. It is not too "peppery "on the finish as some of the Aussies .
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sam T - Santa Monica, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
if you like a dollop of berry flavor then this is the best example of Aussie Shiraz for the price. great bargain wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Toast - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Don't really think it is a WS90, but for $10 is a good deal. A bit of sweetness surprised me.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I didn't enjoy this as much as the 2 Up or Yalumba Shiraz that we sampled that night.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
ooops. The person who called this a sweet wine, was not here on wine.com I saw that when I did a google search.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/1/2010)
worst in vegas
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About d'Arenberg Map ItMap It

One of the undisputed kings of Australian Shiraz and Rhone varietals, d'Arenberg has managed to turn individuality into an art form by doing a whole lot of little things differently. The original vineyards were established by Joseph Osborn in 1912 in the McLaren Vale region of South Australia. A century on, the estate has grown to 345 acres, and the mantle now rests with fourth...

Read More About d'Arenberg

Learn About McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale is home to the oldest Australian vineyard, with grapes planted in 1838. It's a coastal area, the Indian Ocean bordering the west, which leads to a cooling factor that prevents the grapes from getting too hot. In all, the climate is a perfect one for the vines. Notable Facts In McLaren Vale, there are vines as far as the eye can see. As in other parts of...

Read More About McLaren Vale

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

Related Products
The nose sings of Cabernet Sauvignon. Sweet crme de cassis and mulberry, aromatic violets with a twist of blackcurrant leaf, ...
YNG638620_2008

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup