d'Arenberg Stump Jump Red 2008

Rhone Red Blends from McLaren Vale, Australia

Price: $10.99
Sold Out
The 2011 vintage is available for: $10.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
Buy Now
Item No. 102364
  • WS90
Style: Light & Fruity

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

#63 Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2010

The 2008 Stump Jump Red has a nose of ripe and juicy red fruits and fresh plums mixed with dark cherry, rhubarb and cardamon. The palate is soft and generous, with juicy fresh red berries, mulberry and a hint of pomegranate. Underlying is a more subtle layer of plum stone, star anise and cinnamon which adds complexity and interest, with soft powdery tannins to finish.

Critical Acclaim

"Light in texture and fragrant with floral, berry and beet aromas, this plays its fresh flavors against refined tannins, lingering effortlessly. Grenache, Shiraz and Mourvèdre. Drink now through 2013. 5,000 cases imported."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(10/26/2010)
Rhone blends are my favorite and I'm usually very critical but this Aussie GSM rivals a number of it's French counterparts at a much lower price. With a lot of these blends the lack of acidity makes the wine fall flat but this one has all the needed complexity; it's not oftern you find a wine that is light and fruity yet still full bodied, especially at $10
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

antiqueart - Birmingham, AL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/11/2012)
typical Aussie fare...good table wine -very smooth- will buy again
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Amy R - Zephyrhills, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/1/2011)
Very nice blend! The flavors really accent each other quite well!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Richard Zerr - Saint Charles, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/2/2010)
Another very good Aussie blend for the money. Better than the straight Shiraz
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/13/2010)
four the past four vintages I've been a fan--every year it actually seems to be getting better. usually a winery that makes a value-priced blend tends to get a tad over-produced OR one doesn't notice subtle changes therefore the wine becomes boring. Not here. Great wine, juicy with a touch of earthy backbone. Beautiful food wine--not too powerful for some lighter dishes. Excellent example of great Aussie wines.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

CHeryl Cosky - Colorado Springs, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/3/2011)
Nice light wine, pairs great with many foods, love the screw off cap.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Frost - Jacksonville, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/30/2010)
d'Arenberg has hit the top 100 again with this inexpensive but impressive Red. Not overpowering, smooth, with a nice finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/21/2010)
I loved the companion shiraz, but this "red" is so smooth and rich, it deserves WS top 100 rating. The cost is a gift, so take advantage. Because of the inexpensive cost, a great wine to share with many friends.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/11/2010)
This is a wine that surprised me. I'm not typically a great fan of any of the varietals blended in this wine but tasting it made me a believer. Rather than the typical cough syrup taste I anticipated the wine too a turn toward sweet fruit instead. Just a very tasty wine that should appeal to a wide range of wine lovers. Overall this wine is extremely user friendly but not a 90 wine in terms of complexity or length of finish. My score - a very strong 89...enjoy!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
third time I've bought this....good value
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
My husband & I both enjoyed this wine. He likes Cabernets, I like a little sweeter/smoother, but this fit for us both.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I got more than I expected form this red blend. Light but very flavorful. Fruity & smooth. I immediately repurchased several bottles.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/8/2010)
Was drinkable. Thinking as a red it may improve over a year or two. 90 for this wine seems a bit high. 88 or 87
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
I wasn't expecting much but this was really good, light but still has enough of a finish to drink with a heavy meal. Great value at $10
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I liked it wife didn't. I will buy this wine again if i don't find another red we both like. Not a cellar keeper for us.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Seems to be a matter of good, better, best. This one is a great bottle of wine to drink everyday. Accessible, just a pure delight. An absolute bargain at this price. The only reason I'm even posting this is I've already ordered a whole lot more for me!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/4/2010)
nice blend / fruit forward and complex also soft tannins and acidity.Safe to buy a case, rated 90 by WS for a reason. Great Buy @ 14.99 P.S. Im big on vintages have only tried 2008
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
This wine is excellent quality for the price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Imewine - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/29/2011)
Good light wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

franklin baker - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Abcd - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/2/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/1/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Ira - Quakertown, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ponza tony - Branford, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Customer Lists Including This Wine Add To Your Own List

Learn About d'Arenberg Map ItMap It

One of the undisputed kings of Australian Shiraz and Rhone varietals, d'Arenberg has managed to turn individuality into an art form by doing a whole lot of little things differently. The original vineyards were established by Joseph Osborn in 1912 in the McLaren Vale region of South Australia. A century on, the estate has grown to 345 acres, and the mantle now rests with fourth...

Read More About d'Arenberg

Learn About McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale is home to the oldest Australian vineyard, with grapes planted in 1838. It's a coastal area, the Indian Ocean bordering the west, which leads to a cooling factor that prevents the grapes from getting too hot. In all, the climate is a perfect one for the vines. Notable Facts In McLaren Vale, there are vines as far as the eye can see. As in other parts of...

Read More About McLaren Vale

Learn About Rhone Red Blends

The Rhone region of France has a delightful selection of red varieties. There are 22 grapes allowed in the Rhone AOC, about half of them red. Most of these varieties are used as secondary blending partners, often comprising less than 10% of the blend. The primary red players of Rhone blends are Syrah, Grenache and Mourvedre. Most wines from the Southern Rhone use Grenache as their...

Read More About Rhone Red Blends

YNG638528_2008

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup