Zinfandelic Amador County Old Vine Zinfandel 2005

Zinfandel from California

Price: $19.99
Item No. 98593
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Winemaker's Notes

Amador County yields a bold Old Vine Zinfandel with rich, bright raspberry and black cherry fruit complemented by hints of earth and spice that add to its complexity.

ZINFANDELIC is a tribute to the unique California wine varietal - Zinfandel. It is also a tribute the California movement & culture of the 1960s - Flower Power, Haight Ashbury, Summer of Love, Rock & Roll, etc. The label is reminiscent of rock posters of the sixties era.

The zinfandel vineyards are situated at a higher altitude in Amador County in California at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains – also known as Gold Country. The vineyards were sustainably farmed from old vines of approximately 40 years old.

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/13/2010)
This Zinfandel shows excellent balance - not overripe or super jammy, with nice density of fruit, subtle spicyness, finishing with nice complexity.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/30/2010)
Tasty yet not too sweet with a nice spice to it. Will definitely be buying some more!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I really liked the label. I absolutely love the wine. A nicely balanced fruity Zinfandel with a bit of spice. Nice finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Tanzanite - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Very fun wine - not over the top - this can be paired with food and will actually complement it. Good balanced flavors, great for everyday drinking or for parties. Great wine for less than $20.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

cedralpass - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Had this wine with some pasta at a San Francisco Neighborhood resteraunt. was really easy to drink. we bought a second bottle. Very fruity and spicey.. Great everynight bottle. wish i had some ribs.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MichiganCliffy - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/20/2010)
Loved the tannins, which made this wine feel more complex than a lot of zin's. Not a fruit bomb, and doesn't have that boozy taste that a lot of zin's have.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Wendy - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This a a cool wine with all the great characteristics of Zinfandel, but with a touch of earthiness. Great for summer BBQ's! Fun label too, very California.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
A very nice drinking zin. This wine has good fruit without being jammy and nice tannins that are not overpowering but still a long finish. I haven’t really found a zin with finesse like this before since mostly they tend to be fruit bombs. So I really enjoyed this wine. It has a wide food pairing potential more like a Merlot or Pinot.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/11/2010)
i loved this wine, just the right amount of jamminess without being too overwhelming. great for bbq season!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Patrice Finney - Mill Valley, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Unlike so many wines with cute labels this bottle of Zin is actually extremely well-balanced. A superior wine and this from a discriminating customer from the area in which the grapes were grown.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
This was a great wine! A classic California Zin! Brought it to a wine tasting party and it was a big hit!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Timothy Heagy - Crystal Lake, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
What you would expect from a great Zin, reminds me of the incredable 2005 ZOOM Zin.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bryan Thullium - Baton Rouge, LA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I bought 2 bottles of this wine. The first one we had with a grass-fed steak and it was very good. Nice fruit and held up to the strong flavor of the steak, but it needed a long breathing period and without the food (we tasted it before dinner) it was a little astringent. Because of the astringency, we had the second bottle with a feed-lot steak. We let it breathe for 2 hours and served it mildly cooled. This bottle had a very odd sherry aroma and taste. I like this flavor in sherries and in a rich sticky, but it just didn't feel right in a zin. Since there are a number of other good zins in this price range, I won't buy this wine again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Zinfandelic

ZINFANDELIC is a tribute to the unique California wine varietal, Zinfandel, and the California movement & culture of the 1960s. Located in the western foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountain range in central California, Amador County is renowned for producing California's finest Zinfandels, some of them crafted from 19th-century vines. This sustainably farmed old vine vineyard...

Read More About Zinfandelic

Learn About Other California

California has nearly 100 American Viticulture Areas (AVAs) and accounts for almost 90% of wine production in the United States. In our section of Other California, we include wines from smaller AVAs as well as wines from the California AVA. Here are a few smaller AVAs you may see on the label: Livermore Valley AVA, located right outside of San Francisco and home to...

Read More About Other California

Learn About Zinfandel

Zinfandel(ZIN-fahn-dell) American Grape Zinfandel the American - or Californian - grape. Although it's not from America (Croatia has been named its origin), it does seem quite at home in the vineyards of California. During Prohibition, many Zinfandel vines survived as the high-yielding grape was popular both for home winemaking and communion wine, which is...

Read More About Zinfandel

AAWZOVZ_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup