SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Yalumba Barossa Shiraz + Viognier 2006

Yalumba Barossa Shiraz + Viognier 2006

Syrah/Shiraz from Barossa Valley, Australia

Price: $16.99
Item No. 96280
  • JH93
  • WS91
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

This wine is deep purpley red in color, displaying an aroma of sweet fragrant plums and bright red-berried fruits along with a fine cedar tone and just the subtle floral notes of Viognier. A medium to full bodied wine, showing red fruits, fine spices, cloves and peppers. The 2006 is rich, but not an overpowering Shiraz with the subtle sweet textures of Viognier.

Great now, but will also reward 5-7 years in the cellar. Match with butterfly pork chops with creamy mash potatoes.

Critical Acclaim

"A stylish wine, with bramble notes alongside blackberry fruit and ironstone; oak comes forward on the palate, supported by mocha, leather and chocolate."
93 Points

"This is ripe and expressive, with a purity and clarity to the blueberry, plum and white pepper that lets the flavors sail on, lingering beautifully against superfine tannins. Drink now through 2015. 5,500 cases imported."
91 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(11/28/2010)
You mention you got a bad bottle. Trust me, if you've ever had wine before, you'll know if the bottle you got is good or not. I actually got the 2005 at a store near me for around sixteen bucks. It is fruity, but I also taste some licorice and dark cherry flavors. Totally worth another try if you got a bad bottle. Someone once told me that 1 in 10 bottles is bad. I haven't had that bad of luck, thankfully.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/11/2010)
awesome wine...awesome value!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/12/2010)
Highly recommended and I will be buying again. Perfect year round - light but full bodied. Great alone or with cheese and/or meals.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
What a burst of flavor. The finish just won't quit. Lot's of berry flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

111ImNumber1 - Cambridge, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
Pair with: Beef > Herbs, Cheese > Semi-Firm
I enjoyed this wine. I believe this is one of the best bargains out there. One of the best Syrahs I have had under $20. I am 90 on this effort.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Smooth and very nice. The nose is balanced fruit and wood tones. The smoothness continues on the palate. Holds up well with cheese and lighter styles of beef. The bottle I received was stoppered with cork, not screw cap as indicated.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Jon Newell - Saint Louis, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/7/2010)
I must have received a bad bottle. I got corky, musty-moldy aromas. The wine had a strong sour-bitter aftertaste with much astringency. Unacceptable. I would have sent it back at a restaurant.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/5/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/10/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Shoblock - Ledgewood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ponza tony - Branford, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Cam Fortin - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/23/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/11/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Yalumba Map ItMap It

Yalumba is one of Australia's oldest family-owned wineries and was founded in 1949 by Samuel Smith. From modest beginnings, the Yalumba Wine Company has grown to become one of Australia's most successful medium-sized wineries, owned by 6th generation Robert Hill Smith. Yalumba regularly receives accolateds for its distinctive wines, as well as for its leadership role in the...

Read More About Yalumba

Learn About Barossa Valley

The Barossa zone consists of two sections - the Barossa Valley and the Eden Valley. Wines from the Eden Valley can be labelled Barossa or Barossa Valley. Situated just a bit east of the large city of Adelaide, Barossa is Australia's wine headquarters. Mega producers are based here, boutique wineries call it home and a majority of the habitants claim their income on the wine...

Read More About Barossa Valley

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

LIM360056706_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup