Veramonte Chardonnay 2006

Chardonnay from Chile, South America

Price: $12.99
Item No. 94518
  • WN90
Style: Fruity & Smooth

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Intense golden yellow. Fresh floral and tropical fruit aromas mingle with mineral and citrus accents. Pineapple, nectarine, melon and banana resonate in this elegant Chardonnay with freshness and a bright finish.

Chile's Casablanca Valley is surrounded by coastal mountain ranges creatinga diversity of unique microclimates and terroir. Its close proximity to the Pacific Ocean provides an exceptionally long growing season for intensity of fruit flavors.

"Bright green-gold hue. Crisp scents of slate, mineral and lemon peel. Creamy acidity and juicy flavors of pear and golden pineapple. Impressions of vanilla, oak and buttered toast in the pear-driven close."
-Wine News
Tasters' Choice Selection 90/100

Wine Enthusiast Best Buy
"Veramonte is one of the early proponents of Casablanca, and this wine sings a pretty tune. The bouquet offers apple, melon, pear and a kiss of solid oak, while the palate shows vanilla along with soft pear and apple flavors. Balanced and a touch sweet, but not too oaky or resiny."

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
This is our everyday drinking white. My husband's been to the vineyard and winery in Chile to meet the family. It's a great value, and the screw top on the 2006 is a nice addition, since we always keep a bottle in the frig.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

winelover - Princeton, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Nice value for the price. MUCH better than the savignon blanc which was too bitter-graperuity.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Christine Tremblay - Woodland Hills, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Always a great house wine. Very good for the price. Tastes a lot more expensive.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
This light chardonnay is soft, yet full in the mouth. I tasted apricot and pear.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/4/2012)
Mo likes as well or better than 2006 Columbia Crest
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Darin Walsh - Arlington, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/29/2011)
Oak. Great for a $10 bottle!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I liked it. Fresh, clean and easy drinking white wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

wineboy - Temecula, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/17/2010)
better than WN rating of 90, went exceptionally well with grilled swordfish, sticky rice, and fresh green beans.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Patterson - Saint Louis, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Very nice, mild flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
The Veramonte wines have never let me down as a casual drinking wine or dinner wine. Exceptional value for the quality. Don't buy it all up though because it's one of my new "stock" wines.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I brought this wine to a get together with friends and my bottle was the first to go, everyone thought this was a superb Chard,and for the price,WOW> Very buttery and great flavors of apples and pears and a slight citrus taste on the end.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
The bouquet offers a nice apple & pear flavor to the palate, but then there is a little too much acidity to the finish which adds some bitterness to the final taste. Okay but not outstanding.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/30/2010)
I simply do not enjoy this wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LucyLu - Hot Springs National Park, AR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/29/2011)
Not smooth, creamy or fruity sweet like most chardonnay's...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

flacrabb - Saint Petersburg, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/11/2011)
As a lover of good chardonnay (both oaked and unoaked), I was looking forward to this wine with great anticipation. WHAT A LETDOWN! The wine does not present itself well at any temperature, and has a bitter bite that makes it difficult to pair with most foods. Not a wine to share with your friends nor order again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/1/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Veramonte Map ItMap It

Veramonte represents a return to Agustin Huneeus' Chilean roots. When he spearheaded development of the Veramonte Estate in 1990, there were less than 100 acres of grapevines planted in the Casablanca Valley. The coastal mountain ranges surrounding the Casablanca estate create a unique terroir with a diversity of microclimates. The valley floor's cool climate is reminiscent of...

Read More About Veramonte

Learn About Chile

(CHEE-lay) Long and thin, Chile has a lot of land north to south. The wine region here is a series of districts based near Santiago. The vineyards are protected by the Pacific on the west and the Andes mountains on the east. This could help explain why the climate changes more from east to west than north to south - also why the country has remained phylloxera free....

Read More About Chile

Learn About Chardonnay

Chardonnay (shar-dawn-AY) White Wine's Queen Bee Like Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay can grow just about anywhere. It adapts well to different soils and different climates. While frequently paired with California, its native home lies in the vineyards of Burgundy, France. The only major white grape of the region, Chardonnay is at its best on the rolling...

Read More About Chardonnay

SOU221595_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup