SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Tin Roof Merlot 2005

Tin Roof Merlot 2005

Merlot from California

Price: $13.00 $8.99
Save $4.01 (31%)
Sold Out
The 2010 vintage is available for: $10.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 92839
  • WE90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2009
  • TP88

Winemaker's Notes

A classic plush texture and delicious black cherry and plum flavors make our sumptuous Merlot both delicious on its own and a versatile food wine. Enjoy it with beef, lamb, roast duck with cherry sauce, red-sauce pastas, black olive and mushroom pizzas, and soft-ripening cheeses.

Critical Acclaim

"I found myself returning to this Merlot again and again, because it’s such a good, gentle, easy sipper. It’s a pleasure to drink one that’s so nicely dry and balanced. Does a great job balancing ripe berry and stone fruits with earthy herbs and spices. Sommeliers and restaurateurs, scoop this one up while you can."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
A perfectly balanced wine. Medium body and a fruity taste, but is not overwhelming. Fun to have on its own, but would go great with pork chops or a nice dark chocolate. Funny they mention it is a screw cap. It is not! I highly recommend it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
TASTES SMOOTH,NOT BITTER WITH ALCOHOL, JUST EASY GOING DOWN,VERY GOOD WITH BAKED CHICKEN.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/15/2010)
I did not enjoy this wine...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Jennifer Malek - Thousand Oaks, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is the best wine I've tasted under $10!!! I highly recommend trying it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

elf - San Mateo, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This wine was recommended by a friend who said it was not only cheap but very easy drinking.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Cam Fortin - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Great wine for the price, full bodied and just delicious!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Pawnster - Skokie, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Great body with firm legs. Plush like driving a Cadil.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/15/2010)
this was a great wine I would have expected to pay 40 for or more
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
We bought a bottle as part of a selction of under $20 wines with ratings of 90+. It is very full bodied and balanced for a Merlot. At under $10 bucks it is a steal. We bought a case for everyday drinking.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

EricV - Ithaca, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Great Merlot for the price. Smooth with good slight fruit flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Not a fruit bomb; can go before, during and after dinner.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Highly recommended for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
smooth, mellow
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Annie Kim - Sunnyside, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This was a very easy to drink wine. Great by itself, great with food. I drank it over a course of three days, keeping the opened bottle in the fridge. It held up well even on the third day.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Michelle K - Alexandria, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I bought this based on previous reveiws. While it wasn't bad, I found it to lack in flavor and complexity. Will not buy again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
good everyday wine but a score from WE of 90 is a bit over rated. Ennjoyable over a nice dinner but nothing to brag about.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I was pleased with this one - much higher quality than I am used to. Sometimes Merlots can be a little too robust, but this one went down nice and smooth.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Tami Triska - El Campo, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Really good for under $10
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Would definitely buy again. Great value and very quaffable CA merlot. Fruit forward with a balanced, even finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I've purchased this wine several times now and it's always a hit. It's great with meals or just for sipping. LOVE IT!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Steve S. - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Smooth drinking. Given the price, this is a no-brainer.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Excellent and very smooth. I recommend this one!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

miskafied - Jersey City, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Inexpensive, we got more than what we paid for
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is a nice wine for the price. It can start a little chewy, but it blows off. Be patient.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine was a disappointment. It was not smooth & mellow. It tasted bitter. Where was the fruity taste? This wine was hard to swallow.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Tin Roof Map ItMap It

Tin Roof Cellars is both a collection of fine wines and a state of mind, a special place to which wine lovers can escape to enjoy relaxing times, old-fashioned quality, and modern good taste and style. Our delicious, handcrafted wines are produced from California's finest North and Central Coast grapes. Boldly flavored, smoothly textured, and unusually complex, our wines are styled to delight consumers seeking distinctive varietal character with subtle oak flavors. They're rich, but refined, fruit-forward, but complex – wines to share with your friends under the roof. Enjoy!

Learn About Other California

California has nearly 100 American Viticulture Areas (AVAs) and accounts for almost 90% of wine production in the United States. In our section of Other California, we include wines from smaller AVAs as well as wines from the California AVA. Here are a few smaller AVAs you may see on the label: Livermore Valley AVA, located right outside of San Francisco and home to...

Read More About Other California

Learn About Merlot

Merlot(mehr-LOW) No second fiddle Merlot is coming back into its own. High popularity led to mass production, which then led to a backlash towards the variety (remember Miles in Sideways?). But passionate Merlot producers, and of course the right bank of Bordeaux, continued to produce quality versions of this grape. Merlot remains the principle grape of top chateaux in St...

Read More About Merlot

Related Products
A classic plush texture and delicious black cherry and plum flavors make our sumptuous Merlot both delicious on its own ...
SWS174334_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup