Sterling Three Palms Vineyard Merlot 2005

Merlot from Napa Valley, California

Price: $55.00 $29.99
Save $25.01 (45%)
Item No. 96675
  • WN95
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Seriously complex and well-structured, our 2005 Three Palms Vineyard Merlot comes from vines that struggle in the rocky, volcanic soils along the eastern flank of Napa Valley. Intense, ripe black cherry aromas virtually jump out of the glass, says Winemaker Mike Westrick about this huge, deep ruby Merlot, he attributes the wine's distinctive mineral character to the vineyard's unique terroir. The opulent black fruit and mineral flavors, layered with mocha, spice and toasty oak, give remarkable weight on the palate, and then linger on the expansive finish. With tannins that combine power with suppleness, this wine already delivers luscious, complex flavors, yet promises cellar-worthiness.

Critical Acclaim

"Vibrant black-garnet hue. Heady aromas of new leather, Hershey's dark chocolate syrup, black cherry and peppermint. Lovely plum and cherry-chocolate flavors impart a defined mintiness. Lasting fruit impressions accented by a lingering menthol nuance."
95 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Sterling - Whittier, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/23/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Best Merlot I ever tasted. Bold, smooth, fresh and fine taste.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/24/2011)
Outstanding. I would order more if it were available. Aerated 4 times and it was sooooo smoothe.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/13/2011)
OUTSTANDING! Had a wine tasting party and everyone there wanted me to buy a case of this and split it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Probably the very nicest Merlot ever! Rich, aromatic, full bodied with a wonderful lingering finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Probably the very nicest Merlot ever! Rich, aromatic, full bodied with a wonderful lingering finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Probably the very nicest Merlot ever! Rich, aromatic, full bodied with a wonderful lingering finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

rlp - Little Rock, AR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/23/2011)
Style: Big & Bold
Excellent!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/14/2010)
This is a very big and bold wine. Bigger and bolder than any merlot I had. Make sure to decant or use an aerator. I couldn' wait so I ran it through the aerator like 4 times. This was the first wine I tried but absolutely felt necessary.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/20/2010)
The tasted like it was going bad! I had to run the bottles through a filter to remove the particules.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

A Texan - Houston, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/29/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SteamboatCB - Englewood, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/10/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mateo - Los Angeles, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/16/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/26/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DLAshley - Devils Lake, ND (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/3/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Sterling Map ItMap It

Sterling Vineyards was born in the 1960s, a time when creativity and entrepreneurial spirit abounded, especially in California. In 1964, Peter Newton, once a paper broker in England, purchased 70 acres of land in Calistoga and became a Napa Valley winemaker. He planted grapes others did not, bottled varietals others did not, and built a dramatic winery with an aerial tramway. His...

Read More About Sterling

Learn About Napa Valley

It's hard not to think of Napa Valley when thinking of California wines. The region is, after all, the one that brought world recognition to California wine making. The area was settled by a few choice wine families in the 1960's who bet that the wines of the area would grow and flourish. They were right. The Napa wine industry really took off in the 1980's, when vineyard...

Read More About Napa Valley

Learn About Merlot

Merlot(mehr-LOW) No second fiddle Merlot is coming back into its own. High popularity led to mass production, which then led to a backlash towards the variety (remember Miles in Sideways?). But passionate Merlot producers, and of course the right bank of Bordeaux, continued to produce quality versions of this grape. Merlot remains the principle grape of top chateaux in St...

Read More About Merlot

SWS230357_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup