St. Mary's Bells & Whistles Red 2004

Barbera from Barossa Valley, Australia

Price: $19.00 $9.99
Save $9.01 (47%)
Item No. 113991
  • RP88
  • ST88
Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.

Winemaker's Notes

The Bells and Whistles is a blend made from 55% Cab/Sav, 20% Shiraz, 15% Cab Franc and 10% Merlot grapes grown at St Mary's vineyards. The palate is balanced with a rich smooth persistence.

Critical Acclaim

"A blend of 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Shiraz, 15% Cabernet Franc, and 10% Merlot, the 2004 Bells and Whistles reveals more complexity, texture, and overall completeness."
88 Points

"Bright red. High-pitched, floral and spicy, with strong red berry and kirsch scents. Quite sweet and fleshy on entry, but firms up nicely in the middle palate, with the sweet cherry flavors developing complex herb and underbrush qualities on the back end. Finishes on a refreshing note of sour cherry, with gentle tannins. The winery experimented with micro-oxygenation, aiming to flesh out the wine."
88 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

antiqueart - Birmingham, AL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/11/2012)
Good table wine and excellent value at $7.99 with free shipping. Would buy again at same price. the ST rating of 88 is about right.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/11/2012)
Style: Light & Fruity
I really like this wine. Smokey, fruity and just a great value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/6/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
The wine exhibits a nose of leather and tobacco with a hint of tart fruit and spice at the end. At first taste, this wine is full of juicy fruit, but mid palate surrenders to a wave of herbs and a touch of oak. The finish is quite nice, with mild tannins supporting a smooth finish of tart cherry notes. Although this wine is now 8 years old, I am of the opinion that most Australian wines are better enjoyed young, so this wine is drinking quite well at the moment, but may move past its prime in relatively short order. There is already a good bit of sediment in the two bottles I tried as well.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/20/2013)
Fair to poor, get what you pay for.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/9/2012)
I'm afraid this wine is two or three years past its prime. (If it had a prime.) Was disappointed when I opened the bottle but it was drinkable. Poured it out day two.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

wine hog - Greenland, NH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/10/2012)
About what you would expect for 7.99. Drink it like beer.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

birch lake - Elmhurst, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/1/2012)
I too had a quality issue with the wine. It was past its prime and tasted awful. I called customer service and they sent me a return label and credited me for the wine. This is the only bad experience I have had however.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/1/2012)
Sour, thin, over the hill. Should not have been sold by Wine.com For Shame.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John C. - Wilkes Barre, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/23/2012)
Very disappointing wine. Poured out 1/2 of the first bottle and will end up doing the same with the other 3 bottles if similar in taste. If it didn't come with a screw cap I would say it was corked. Yuck!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/14/2012)
Didn't have hight expectation for a $8 bottle but this might have been the worst wine I have ever tasted. Will be throwing out both bottles of this rancid soda pop!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/11/2012)
I should have known not to expect much for $7.99, however I do believe there was something wrong with the bottling. We opened and dumped 2 full bottles.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/3/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/15/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About St. Mary's

St Marys is a boutique, family owned, premium red wine producer. With one basket press and all fruit being pressed through it ensures a softer and more traditional character to each wine.

Estate grown grapes only are used in the production of all St Mary's wines. Small batches of hand picked grapes are fermented in open vats,hand plunged and intensively monitored. The ferments are then Basket Pressed and barrel matured in climate controlled storage before being bottled on premises.

Learn About Barossa Valley

The Barossa zone consists of two sections - the Barossa Valley and the Eden Valley. Wines from the Eden Valley can be labelled Barossa or Barossa Valley. Situated just a bit east of the large city of Adelaide, Barossa is Australia's wine headquarters. Mega producers are based here, boutique wineries call it home and a majority of the habitants claim their income on the wine...

Read More About Barossa Valley

Learn About Barbera

(bar-BARE-uh) Versatility of Italy Barbara is one of those varieties of the old world that often appears on the label - Barbara d'Alba, Barbara d'Asti for example. Native to Piedmont, Barbara is a hardy grape that grows well in the chalky soils of the area. Though popular as a single varietal, Barbera also excels as a blending partner in both Italy and California. Notable...

Read More About Barbera

SSZS1STMBW04_2004

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup