Sebastiani Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir 2009

Pinot Noir from Sonoma County, California

Price: $18.00 $15.99
Save $2.01 (11%)
Item No. 110364
  • WE90
Style: Light & Fruity

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Recently, we've been moving towards a less extractive and more elegant style of Pinot that emphasizes perfume, balance and complexity. Consequently, our 2009 Sonoma Coast is more aromatic than previous vintages. It exudes Maraschino cherries, strawberries, vanilla, sandalwood and Oriental spice. While it drinks beautifully now, it will continue to improve over the next two years. I highly recommend serving all of our Pinots in large, wide stemware to amplify the beautiful, haunting aromas. Serve with grilled salmon and Asian food.

Critical Acclaim

"Sebastiani has had good results with their Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir, and this bottling continues that tradition. It's a lovely wine, dry and rich, with raspberry and cherry pie, sweet, smoky oak and spice flavors, brightened with fine acidity. A wonderful wine for restaurants at a price that's affordable. "
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(3/15/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Pair with: Beef > Stew
I would rate this a 88 !!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/9/2012)
Surprisingly good for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

nikkileth - Oakland, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/15/2012)
The aromas are very earthy almost pungent, let it breathe it gets better. Flavors are also very earthy, strong tannins linger. I would drink this alone or with a meal
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/3/2012)
Have rated this before. Its got a great nose but not a long finish - medium body and very good. Better with food.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

DC Wine - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/2/2011)
I am always worried about pinots under $20. This is a great value wine. Very delightful, especially for the price. Typical Sonoma Pinot, big fruit taste up front, I get cherries and vanilla, nice lingering aftertaste (though a little strong). I'll buy this again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

La-La - Alameda, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/15/2012)
Earthy & Spicy! Strong oriental spice and sandalwood smell..I would recommend letting it improve and not opening it for the next 2 years.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/15/2012)
The taste was not what I expected. It has an earthy smell and feel. The Oriental spice comes through for me.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Shah4Love - Closter, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/11/2011)
Style: Light & Fruity
Heavy in acidity without the balance of fruit.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

frank9 - Yonkers, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/3/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

cfaust - Bolton, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/13/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/20/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lisa J - Quakertown, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/29/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/16/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

CathynSF - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/15/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/4/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Sebastiani Map ItMap It

With over a century of winemaking experience in Sonoma, Sebastiani Vineyards & Winery focuses on crafting small lots of super-premium wines from the great growing regions of Sonoma County, becoming one of California"s most highly praised and awarded wineries for its Bordeaux and Burgundian varietals. With the spotlight on single vineyards and specific sub-appellations such as...

Read More About Sebastiani

Learn About Sonoma County

Twice as large as Napa in size, Sonoma County only makes about a half the amount of wine as her northeasterly neighbor. But Sonoma, with her size, is able to vouch for more diversity within her borders, including sub-AVAs that are climatically varied. The atmosphere of Sonoma is decidedly laid back and down home country style. But in wines, they are keeping up with the...

Read More About Sonoma County

Learn About Pinot Noir

Pinot Noir(PEE-noh nwahr) Pinot Noir is a finicky grape. It only grows in the right climate, with the right soils and the right care. Perhaps because it is so difficult is why it is so loved. Pinot Noir hails from Burgundy, a region known for crafting the most collectible and sought-after wines from this varietal. Not only does Pinot reign in Burgundy, it is also...

Read More About Pinot Noir

CWC173636_2009

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup