Rolling Shiraz 2005

Syrah/Shiraz from Australia

Price: $10.00 $7.99
Save $2.01 (20%)
Item No. 91355
  • JH93
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Color: Medium red with a deep hue

Aroma: Shows strong vanillin and chocolate characters with a touch of spice

Palate: The mid palate has good weight and softness and the soft berry characters carry through to the finish. Deliberately light on tannins or oak, the wine shows lovely balance and bright fruit flavors.

Food pairings: Tomato-based pasta sauces, roast lamb, venison

"Attractive palate; clear, cool-grown but supple fruit with spice, licorice, pepper and blackberry flavours all intermingling."
-James Halliday

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I don't know where people claim bitter, but I thought it was well balanced with a hint of smoke. Hey, if you don't want to trust my palate, it's not like you're taking a big chance with a ten buck Shiraz, anyway. I like this even better than the $10 Penfolds Shiraz/Cabernets.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

C Leary - Somerville, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Great wine. will add to favorites.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Excellent Shiraz; can not be beaten for the price. I bought a case of highly rated (92+) reds under $20 and this one was one of my best finds so far.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
did you chill it and did you open it and let it breath? When I first opened it I was less than impressed, 20 min. a totally different wine I thought it a heck of a bargain.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
A distasteful little wine, even at this price point. Almost tasted sour to me. Subtract 5 points from the JH ratings as a rule of thumb.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Beautiful Shiraz at a lovely price. I've ordered more. I am sure I have never had one quite this good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sweetiepye - Florissant, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This Shiraz is a good wine for drinking while relaxing. It is good with food but food is not necessary with the great taste.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Handyman - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Very enjoyable nose, soft with wonderful red fruit on the palate. A wonderful red wine at an "everyday" price!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mozar Cellar - Jersey City, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/24/2011)
Smooth and easy to drink
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Agree with previous reviews. It is definitely a good wine for the price but I would not buy it again with what else is available out there.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kent - Ballwin, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Nice bold dark berry flavors with enough tannins that it may develop to be even better over time
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Renick Perry - Huntington, WV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
good everyday wine, great price. Very surprised at how good the wine tasted. Way above expectation for the price paid.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Marty Moss - Henderson, NV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
good value and taste
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Pogue Mahone - Wickliffe, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This wine has great spice, peppery, for a light to med bodied red. Would I recommend as a buy between 10-12 bucks...yes.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I received a lot of compliments on this wine. Great for the price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I found the range of reviews interesting so I picked it up to amuse me. Popped it open, smelt it, took a sip, and decided to let it breath for three hours. It helped but really came into it's own after another two hours. It was still what you pay for but not what you would expect from a cheap bottle of wine. Though I don't feel the need to buy it again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

RJF - Corona, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
For me bordered bad and average. Since I didn't toss it out I will rate below average. The nose- Phew awful... Taste had the spiciness of Shiraz but lacked any other benefit to my tastes.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This is a bit sweet and not that balanced
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Very strong and bitter flavor; would not buy again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/9/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Shoblock - Ledgewood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Rolling

The passion behind Rolling is driven by winemaker Philip Shaw. With over 40 years experience in Australian wine, including 15 in Orange, Philip understands that great wines can only come from nurturing vineyards which have natural raw talent. We created Rolling wines to reflect the personality of the region and celebrate the people who love the land and work in union with its seasons.

Learn About Other Australia

With a landmass the size of the US, Australia has just as many appellations. Many wines are simply labeled from their state of origin. Some of these are the most popular: New South Wales - home to Sydney and other tourist destinations, New South Wales has a smaller focused wine growing region, but many wines are a blend of these smaller appellations and so are deemed New...

Read More About Other Australia

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

SWS173297_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup