Penley Estate Phoenix Cabernet Sauvignon 2010

Cabernet Sauvignon from Coonawarra, Australia

$19.99
Sold Out
The 2011 vintage is available for: $19.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 118572
  • red wine
  • screw cap wine
  • JH93
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2012
  • JH92
  • ST90
show more

Winemaker's Notes

The nose consists of violets, black currant leaf, ripe wild berry and integrated spice of the Cabernet grape. Mulberry and blackberry are the dominant fruit flavors enhanced by a tight palate with silky grape tannins and elegant complex cedar oak, so typical of Penley Style. A very generous mid palate with a hints of licorice and chocolate lingers on the finish.

Critical Acclaim

"Vibrant deep crimson; a punchy and expressive cabernet bouquet with redcurrant, cassis, clove and olive on display; the palate is medium to full-bodied, fleshy and manages to create a long and even finish; designed for early consumption, but will stand the test of time in the medium term."
93 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(6/5/2013)
Four stars for a $20 wine. Stands up to most $30+ cabs. Get over the screw cap.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/1/2013)
Style: Smooth & Supple
This wine is an excellent value! I recommend it … you will be surprised and pleased!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/18/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Australia has some very nice Cabs and this is one of them. They are known fro their Shiraz wines but people should start trying some of the cabs especially with the prices you can get them for.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/17/2012)
Ordered one wine, mistakenly received this. Glad I kept it. Have tried one bottle of six. Well worth the $$.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/12/2013)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
High tannin and acid. Possibly keeping it a while might mellow it out, but it's a little harsh at the moment.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jimv32 - Lady Lake, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/14/2013)
Drinkable, but not worth the cost; there are many wines less expensive with more flavor and a smoother finish. Would not purchase again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/30/2013)
Wow. It comes in a cheap seamed bottle with a screw cap, and that might be the highlights. This wine is tannic and thinner than Twiggy in the sixties. I would never buy this again
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lee Calhoon - Brentwood, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/23/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

adamtip - Rochester, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/16/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kent & Angie - Wentzville, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/27/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Adam Z - Brooklyn, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/27/2014)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

roblbarb - Wellesley, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/6/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

abbadog - Concord, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/20/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Penley Estate Map ItMap It

Established in 1988, by Kym Tolley, a direct descendant of the famous Penfold and Tolley winemaking families - the name Penley is an amalgam of the first three and last three letters from each title. Tolley has over 25 years of winemaking experience, including being involved in the making of many vintages of the famous Penfolds Grange. The estate is located in the heart of...

Read More About Penley Estate

Learn About Coonawarra

Located on the Limestone Coast of South Australia, Coonawarra is a pretty flat area, except for the vineyards, which are somewhat elevated. That, along with the proximity to the ocean and clouds that like to hang around, Coonawarra never gets too hot. There is a small strip of soil, about nine miles long and two miles wide, called Terra Rossa, or red soil/earth. It is the...

Read More About Coonawarra

Learn About Cabernet Sauvignon

(cab-uhr-NAY sow-veeh-yawn) King of Red Many refer to Cabernet Sauvignon as the king of red grapes. Perhaps that title is due to its ability to grow worldwide in a number of climates, or to the fact that it produces wine with such character yet such diversity. Either way, this grape is responsible, as a whole or a partner, for some of the greatest wines in the world. In Bordeaux,...

Read More About Cabernet Sauvignon

ULL573713_2010
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup