Newton Claret 2007

Bordeaux Red Blends from Napa Valley, California

Price: $25.00 $19.99
Save $5.01 (20%)
Item No. 102073
  • WE93
Style: Big & Bold

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 1996
  • WS87
show more

Winemaker's Notes

A sophisticated blend in the Bordeaux tradition, this Newton Vineyard Claret is a dark garnet color with vibrant, lifted aromas of black cherry, currant supported by spicy and smoky hints of nutmeg and white pepper. The palate reveals blueberry, black plum and black cherry with a white pepper spice indicative of cool climate mountain fruit. The creamy mid-palate and silky tannins make this medium-weight wine an approachable, appealing choice.

Critical Acclaim

"This is a very fine wine, Merlot-based with a splash of Syrah, and it proves you don't have to spend a lot to get a great Napa red. It shows rich, complex flavors of black and red currants, licorice, cola and sandalwood, in an elegantly silky structure that’s light and refined."
93 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Great full bodied red wine. Good with red meat, and seafood
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Great nose, flavors abound, drank a bottle with friends recently - enjoyed by all
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Great red to have on hand. Brought it to a wine snob friend's house and it passed the test.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

WildeWine - Brooklyn, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(11/17/2010)
Not a lot of complexity with this one, pretty straight forward. I didn't find it bold, but it is a young blend. The price is hard to beat.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/27/2011)
This was yummy! Nice flavor, smooth and not over-powering.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
I love dry, full-bodied reds. This has got to be one of the best ever for $20. I purchased two bottles and I'm going back for a few more before it's too late. Great with steak.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/21/2010)
Good color and nose; spice and berry flavors complement well. Might be a bit overpowering and bitter to some but shouldn't be an issue with more time. Not a 93, but a great value at $20
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dan mcneill - Charlotte, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I have had this wine many times and it always impresses me and then when I think I only spent $20. on it, the value goes higher
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
lot of spice and pepper...agree that it will be even better with some more time.....!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(11/27/2011)
A very nice Claret.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/2/2011)
I thought this would prove to be a BIG wine, especially with it's Napa 2007 origins, but was disappointed with it's lack of body, minimal finish, and annoying tartness that did not soften after ample breathing time. The initial aroma was deceiving.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/1/2010)
This wine is highly overrated at 93 points. I would give it an 87. It's a light-bodied wine and does leave a hint of bitterness on the palate. Nothing here to really grab hold of - if you like big bold wines, don't buy this one.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This wine is dry and, perhaps for a more sophisticated palate might be a find, but for me, I could just not detect any recognizable character.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/5/2011)
This wine comes with most everything you would expect in a Napa Bordeaux red blend. It’s a full body wine with a pronounced nose of spices, pepper, and dark fruit. But the tannins are fairly bitter on the palate right now. I think it needs some time in the cellar to mellow out.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/22/2011)
Over rated wine, far too aggressive to the palate. The first smell is engaging, a long way to go to compete with others
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/14/2010)
I was excited to see a wine that got such great reviews for $20. Save your money and buy a Coppola Claret instead.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

WineDog - Burdett, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/20/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Shoblock - Ledgewood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/8/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lynn Looby - Newtown Square, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/29/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/4/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ponza tony - Branford, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Newton Map ItMap It

Peter and Su Hua Newton purchased one square mile of tumbling slopes high up on Spring Mountain overlooking St. Helena in 1977. The Estate was planted to Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon and Petit Verdot. Merlot thrives in a land which is rocky mixed with clay beneath the surface, while Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot like an impoverished soil, and Cabernet Sauvignon is...

Read More About Newton

Learn About Napa Valley

It's hard not to think of Napa Valley when thinking of California wines. The region is, after all, the one that brought world recognition to California wine making. The area was settled by a few choice wine families in the 1960's who bet that the wines of the area would grow and flourish. They were right. The Napa wine industry really took off in the 1980's, when vineyard...

Read More About Napa Valley

Learn About Bordeaux Red Blends

Bordeaux Blends The Fab Five With so much history under its belt, it's no wonder that Bordeaux has figured out the recipe to produce amazing wines. Centuries of making (and drinking) wine led to the blend that has become synonomous with Bordeaux. Winemakers in the New World replicate this formula to create successful blends in their respective regions - you may see Bordeaux blends...

Read More About Bordeaux Red Blends

SOU285723_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup