Nandu Malbec 2004

Malbec from Argentina, South America

$14.99
Item No. 92770
  • red wine

Winemaker's Notes

Ñandú Malbec comes from hillside vineyards in the Mendoza region of Argentina. Located 60 miles east of the town of San Rafael, these vineyard sites rise to 1,200 feet above sea level—an altitude that helps temper the region's warm sun, yielding grapes of exceptional balance and structure. It's a challenging area to cultivate, with desert-like conditions and frequent hail threatening crops, but the resulting wine is worth the myriad risks.

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I received this Malbec in a Discovery Wine Club Selection for the month of January (Wines.com) Now on to the 4 S's - (see) dark opaque red color (sniff) faint fruit aromas, mostly cherry (sip) muted and dull fruit flavors of cherry and prunes with some spice box. Dry and alcoholic feel with a full body and a furry (dried out) mouth feel. (summarize) I didn't care for this Malbec. After first glass I wasn't looking forward to having a second. With so many good Malbec's available, I won't be re-ordering more of this one. Overall a bit disappointing.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I served my first bottle of this incredible wine at a cheese and wine evening with friends. Wow! Amazingly smooth and memorable. I ordered a case!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Good everyday wine and perfect when paired with your favorite gourmet burger. Very drinkable.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Michael Wasserman - Old Bethpage, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Nice taste, very smooth.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

kn - Fanwood, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
got it as part of wine club. not good.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Discovery tour wine. I drank one glass and cannot bring myself to drink another. The aftertaste is like vinegar and burnt ashes.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/25/2010)
Received this with the Discovery Tour - couldn't drink it...down the sink! Ick! I would give it zero stars if allowed by the system.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

andi - East Grand Forks, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/13/2010)
I also received this as part of the wine of the month club. After seeing some of the other reviews, perhaps I just got a bad bottle. It smells like nail polish remover, doesn't taste much better and the aftertaste is even worse. Usually I adore Malbecs, but not this one.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Trevor Macy - Sherwood, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
First my initial impressions were plum, spicy and a slight oak finish. With that said, this wine didn't finish well and had an off flavor. At best this was an OK wine but better Malbecs exist even for the low price point.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Nandu

Ñandú was founded by the Portet family, one of Napa Valley's pioneering winemaking families. Bernard Portet founded Clos du Val in Napa Valley and Domaine Nizas in France. The Portets named this new wine Ñandú after the large, flightless bird native to Mendoza. Just as the Ñandú is indigenous to this region, the increasingly-popular Malbec has become Mendoza's flagship grape variety.

Learn About Argentina

(ahr-jen-TEE-nah) Now fifth in the world for wine production, Argentina is catching up in the quality wine sector. A long time wine producer, Argentina used to make wine in order to drink it, not export it. And so the wines produced were quaffable and rustic and made for the local's everyday dinner. Yet it's hard not to get caught up in the wine market of the world and some...

Read More About Argentina

Learn About Malbec

Malbec(MAHL-beck) Angel of Argentina Originally a common grape in Bordeaux, Malbec adds only a small percentage to the blends there. It has, however, found another region in which to flourish -the bourgeoning wine region of Argentina. In fact, Argentinians have adopted Malbec as their national grape! Notable Facts Malbec is used in small amounts in...

Read More About Malbec

HOR28400_2004
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup