SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Monte Antico Rosso 2006

Monte Antico Rosso 2006

Red Blends from Tuscany, Italy

Price: $12.49 $8.99
Save $3.50 (28%)
Sold Out
The 2009 vintage is available for: $10.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 100357
  • WS90
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 12.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

#61 Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2009

The blend, albeit varying slightly depending on vintage conditions, is 85% Sangiovese, 10% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Sauvignon. The best selections are blended and aged 1 year in oak (80% in Slavonian barrels, 20% in barrique) + at least 6 months in the bottle, achieving a graceful balance of voluptuous berry tones and flexible yet sturdy backbone. Dark ruby in color, its bouquet of leather, earth, herbs, black cherries, licorice and plums is confirmed on the medium to full-bodied palate – round, spicy, elegant, attractively fruity and extremely versatile with any fare from pasta or risotto, to meat, fowl and cheese. Moreover, the Empsons' judicious pricing policy makes it "consistently one of Italy's better values". Food-friendly, pocket-friendly, all-around simpatico.

Critical Acclaim

"Bright plum, dried cherry and flowers on the nose. Full-bodied, with fine tannins and refined berry and cherry flavors. Drink now."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
This is one of those it's fantastic for it's price wines. I have had other Rossos in this price range and feel these one is just better done. It's a good wine to have around when the meal calls for Chianti.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/18/2010)
Just an everyday table wine that needs a meal with it. This wine does not drink well on it's own.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

n8 - Colchester, VT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is basically a very tasty, structured Chianti for under $20.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I was absolutely delighted when I opened this bottle of wine. The nose was incredible and the supple flavors of this wine stimulates the palate unlike any other I have ever gotton for this price. Definitely a good deal for $11 bucks!!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

H. David Kellams - Huntington Beach, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Incredibly smooth wine that pairs well with a variety of foods - from thin crust BBQ goat cheese pizza to olive tapenade to truffles...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Jim Bo - Midlothian, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
A fruity mouthful with soft tannins. Fruity flavored with a smooth finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Raykas - Port Saint Lucie, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Finally found the perfect wine to have with homemade fettucine carbonara or WoodFired Oven baked pizza topped with spinich/goatcheese/sausage!!!! The earthy taste with the smooth finish and fruit balanced perfectly with lightly spiced tannins! Oh Yeah.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Vegas Dave - Las Vegas, NV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
First tried this based on WS review and great price combo. This is a really great everyday Tuscan wine value. Re-Ordered several more bottles as this is now one of my new everyday reds. First experienced it along side a hearty Cuban pork dish, but would probably serve it with any hearty red meat or red sauce meal.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine is fairly acidic and thin, despite the additions of the Merlot and Cab. It does pair very nicely with strong cheese - and I imagine it would work very well with roasted or grilled meats - but it is too sharp and bland to enjoy on its own. For the price its a nice wine - but spend a few more bucks (literally) and you can do much better. Dont believe the "earthy and spicy" tag - this is neither.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

PK - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/23/2010)
So, so. Would rather not buy again. Cant really say much about this wine. Should be able to easily find a better red.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
This wine is really kind of blah. Drinks like a $6 table wine for twice the price. Even in this price range, you gotta be discerning, right? Skip it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
??? r u kidding 90 rating
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/29/2011)
Style: Light & Fruity
this is one of my top 3 QPR wines! (Briccotondo & Pesquie Terrasses the other 2) Goes great with Italian, Mexican...any spicy, saucey food...and as a social quaffer
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
http://sassywinebelly.blogspot.com/2009/12/monte-antico-2006-toscana-9.html
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Tasty Cat - Middle Village, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Enjoyed this immensely with a variety of foods from spaghetti bolognese to beef to pizza and mildly sharp cheeses like cheddar. More herbs than fruit. I also tasted a good amount of violet which isn't mentioned in the description above. A good option to some of the popular but overpriced chianti's on the market. This has become my everyday wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Robert Dwyer - Portsmouth, VA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I recently was able to get a case of this wine from a friend and we enjoyed every drop.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/20/2010)
An excellent Italian red wine, especially for the price. I will be giving it to many firends this holiday seadon as a gift.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sho Morimoto - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This smooth, super Tuscan wine (read chianti without the markup) goes great with chicken and pasta as the spicy bouquet and flavor and medium body are just robust and distinctive enough to be enjoyable and not overpowering. The winemakers switched the percentage of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot grapes used from 2005, and this shows as it is much smoother on the palate.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
title says it akk. The wine does not dissapoint, it is a 90
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
have a try, and u'll love it
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sam T - Santa Monica, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/8/2010)
An easy drinking wine, more herbs than fruit reaching the palate
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

PK - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/23/2010)
So, so. Would rather not buy again. Cant really say much about this wine. Should be able to easily find a better red.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
totally agree with the one reviewer from Calif.!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/26/2010)
this seemed to me to be a very average table red. A little astringent and thin.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Not sure how this gets a 90 rating, tastes like a $9 bottle of wine which means I paid $2 too much for it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Monte Antico

Neil Empson and renowned oenologist Franco Bernabei conjunctly orchestrate this all-Sangiovese varietal from Tuscany's very finest vineyard sites. Having access to the region's top crus and ideal microclimates means they can pick and choose according to harvest conditions, achieving consistent excellence with each vintage. The superlative characteristics of chosen locations and...

Read More About Monte Antico

Learn About Tuscany

(TUSS-can-ee) One of the most important wine regions in Italy, Tuscany is home to the cities of Florence and Siena, the districts of Chianti and Brunello di Montalcino, and the wineries of Sassicaia, Tignanello and Ornellaia. Tuscany is also home to the indigenous Italian grape variety, Sangiovese. Most of the wine coming from Tuscany is made from some clone of this...

Read More About Tuscany

Learn About Other Red Blends

Other Red Red wines are certainly not limited to Cabernet and Pinot Noir - or even Nebbiolo and Grenache. There are a multitude of grape varieties throughout the world, however, in a Darwinian sense, survival of the fittest only brings us wines made from grapes that can adapt to changing climates and winemaking techniques. Notable Facts Our other red wines primarily consists of...

Read More About Other Red Blends

TRD13469_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup