Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc 2008

Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough, New Zealand

$19.00 $11.99
Save $7.01
Item No. 96169
  • white wine
  • screw cap wine
  • WS91
  • WE90
Style: Light & Crisp

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Pale straw with touches of green. Delightful hints of tropical fruits are accented by aromas of citrus and the traditional New Zealand herbaceous notes. Ripe stone fruit, citrus and tropical flavors mingle with the soothing herbaceous notes. Nice acidity with a touch of sweet passion fruit add to the full, crisp finish.

Critical Acclaim

"Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2008

Fragrant and complex, with a refreshing burst of lime, guava, grapefruit and grass flavors. Wet stone, passion fruit and oyster shell accents add interest, with bright acidity highlighting the vivid finish. Another outstanding Sauvignon from a perennial success. Drink now."
91 Points

"This medium-bodied Sauvignon Blanc strums the right chords, combining notes of crushed tomato leaf with citrusy fruit to make a pretty melody. A hint of creaminesss rounds out the midpalate, and the wine finishes long, with pristine cleanliness. "
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Alison Gene - Springfield, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
We opened this bottle last night with dinner, and it was fantastic! I highly recommend it at this price. Highly aromatic nose. Grapefruit, passionfruit, lime, grass, and minerality. It lines your glass with beautiful little bubbles and almost jumps out of the glass at you with flavor and aroma. I will definitely order it again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine has a crisp,light taste that would be great with many summer foods or alone.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/12/2010)
This wine is full of flavor. Grapefruit, grass, crisp and clean. My favorite sauvignon blanc, better than more expensive wines.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
We love this wine, and ours guests always comment on its great summer flavor
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Margaret Carter - Natchitoches, LA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Excellent choice & great taste for summer & rest of year. I've already ordered more from you. Good price too.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

JL177 - Johnson City, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Hard to beat the value you get from this wine. Definitely pretty citrusy but not overpowering grapefruit taste like some other Sauvignon Blancs I've had. It blends well with the accompanying grassy flavor. Still one of my favorite Sauvignon Blancs.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
The 2008 Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc is incredible! It captures the strong citrus and acidic flavors that make you wonder what you’ve been missing from other white wines. It grabs your taste buds and slaps them around silly and leaves them begging for more of this great, tasty white wine. There’s a reason why this perennial favorite of mine shows up on just about every wine menu around the world, and why it shows up on the “best of” lists year after year. It’s just that good! http://www.winelife365.com/wine-review-2008-kim-crawford-sauvignon-blanc/
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

xmatt - Santa Fe, NM (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
Year after year, the Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc is the best Sauvignon Blanc you can buy under $20. The wine is very approachable to all palates and has a great crisp and refreshing citrus taste that pairs perfectly with summer.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LIA LF - Nashville, TN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Perfect for summer. Crisp, refreshing, citrus taste.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Fruity, strong hints of grapefruit.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/6/2010)
Kim Crawford is one of the most consistent wines you'll ever encounter. It's a white wine that pairs up well with most food. It's crisp and delicious on it's own. It's great for making pan sauces. There's always half a case of this stuff in my cellar. The vintage never matters. If you want a friendly white to serve to guests, this is the one. And the QPR is fantastic. Put it in the fridge half an hour before serving.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/26/2010)
Wonderful. Crisp, bright, and clean.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine is wonderfully fruity and just lovely.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
My favorite summer white- like summer in a bottle!!!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
This wine compliments sea food and fowl or its great by itself.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Richard Zerr - Saint Charles, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Year in and year out this is the best Savignon Blanc on the planet. Very pronounced Grapefruit up front and softly dry on the finish. Great summer wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
characters
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/16/2010)
Excellent smells and smooth fruityness without being sweet. One of the most enjoyable Sauvignon Blancs I've ever had.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Prefer the 2007 but the 2008 is a reliable NZ Sauv Blanc and is always a regular in my fridge.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
great wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Nice taste of lime, refreshing---
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Very good wine, excellent price performance I am planning to order more
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Cincy - Medfield, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Nice fruity aroma and easily drinkable with light food or without. A solid value; my wife, who's far from a wine person, loves it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
Nice
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Susan Wallber-Ring - Bear River City, UT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Very light and young tasting. More like a chardonnay than a sauvignon blanc. If it were a chardonnay I would probably buy it again; but since i was expecting a sauvignon blanc, I won't buy it again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Kim Crawford Map ItMap It

Kim Crawford Wines started out in a small Auckland cottage in New Zealand. Since its launch in 1996, the label has gained critical acclaim around the globe. Kim Crawford wines capture the true aromas and flavors of New Zealand in each bottle. The established leader of luxury-priced Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, Kim Crawford combines a passion for excellence in winemaking with a vision of exploring new boundaries.

Learn About Marlborough

(mahrl-bore-oh) Grass-fed Wines Sitting pretty on the northern tip of New Zealand's south island, Marlborough has become synonymous with New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. As well it should be - Marlborough is the primary region for those delicious, citrusy, summer-lovin' wines with vibrant acidity and pungent, grassy, grapefruit flavors. Sauvignon Blanc is the main grape here;...

Read More About Marlborough

Learn About Sauvignon Blanc

Sauvignon Blanc (so-veen-YAWN blahnk) One of the most distinctive grapes, Sauvignon Blanc is a highly aromatic variety that does well in both the old and new world. From the Loire Valley of France to Marlborough in New Zealand, Sauvignon Blanc has found many regions that bring out its unique and delicious flavors. Notable Facts Sauvignon Blanc's home...

Read More About Sauvignon Blanc

Related Products
Winemaker's Notes Appearance: Pale green. Aroma: Lifted aromatics of tropical fruits are accented by the traditional New Zealand herbaceous aromas. ...
Winemaker's Notes Color: Pale straw with touches of green. Aroma: Dominated by classic red capsicum, passion fruit and Cape gooseberry ...
Winemaker's Notes Colour: Pale straw with touches of green.Aroma: Dominated by classic red capsicum, passion fruit and Cape gooseberry nose, ...
SWS14580_2008
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup