SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Jam Jar Sweet Shiraz 2009

Jam Jar Sweet Shiraz 2009

Syrah/Shiraz from South Africa

Price: $11.99 $10.29
Save $1.70 (14%)
Sold Out
The 2013 vintage is available for: $10.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 102668
  • ST87
Style: Light & Fruity

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 12.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Jam Jar Sweet Shiraz is packed with fresh, juicy flavors of blueberries, blackberries and raspberries with dark chocolate undertones. Striking a perfect balance between sweetness and acidity, this refreshing and approachable wine is great to sip on its own and matches up equally well with meat dishes, cheeses, and desserts.

Critical Acclaim

"Medium red. Blackberry, spices and a hint of tree bark on the bright nose. Very sweet in the mouth (54 g/l r.s.) but with bracing acidity giving this berry bomb a clean character. Very easy to drink but has structure too, and does not come off as gooey. This label was created by its American importer and made by Mike Dobrovic, who was the long-time winemaker at Mulderbosch."
87 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(10/3/2011)
One word - DELICIOUS!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/14/2011)
Light and sweet with jammy flavors. I like it with chocolate or cheeses, or on its own. Just an absolutely fun wine to drink and introduce to friends and family.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/22/2010)
This isn't a snooty wine, it is my everyday go to. Sweet and light, I love it
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/13/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
great buy. good for everyday consumption
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dawoodsy - Forsyth, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Fruitty on the nose, slightly acidic, smooth finish. Very enjoyable with Thai-style ribs.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Janice Drew - Brooklyn, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
The name says it all. Jammy shiraz, but I like that! Has that great chewy mouth feel and smooth follow through. Reminds me of a Rombauer Zin.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SteveY - Willoughby, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/5/2011)
Cheap is the operative word here. I Tried it since it was cheap...and cheap I got. Wine lacked any depth. I wouldn't buy this wine again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/9/2011)
Too sweet. I couldnt drink more than a few sips. I guess I should have realized that when they say "sweet" shiraz, they mean it!!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

winded12 - Sussex, WI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/25/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Jam Jar

Jam Jar Sweet Shiraz was born out of the realization that there are not a lot of options available to consumers seeking quality sweet red wine. This fresh, fruity, semi-sweet Shiraz aims to fill that void. Most of the grapes are grown in Paarl, a region with Rhône-like climate that is ideal for Shiraz cultivation, and production is overseen by critically acclaimed winemaker Bruwer Raats. The brand’s packaging has a nostalgic, “retro” feel inspired by classic red and white checkered jam jar lids. Jam Jar is sweet perfection…Simple, pure, and honest.”

Learn About South Africa

South Africa A long history of growing grapes and making wine, but less of a history on exporting it, and even lesser on the quality aspect. At the turn of the century (1900, that is), a surplus of wine in South Africa created a hierarchy of cooperatives, the biggest and best known being KWV. This organization seemed to favor quantity over quality and had most...

Read More About South Africa

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

WAL470300_2009

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup