Innocent Bystander Shiraz Viognier 2006

Syrah/Shiraz from South Australia, Australia

Price: $22.99
Item No. 95614
  • WS91
  • ST90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2008
  • RP89
  • WS88
  • ST88

Winemaker's Notes

Not your blockbuster warm-climate Aussie Shiraz, this is a more elegant example reminiscent of violets, pink peppercorns, nutmaeg and caramelized quince and mulberries. The palate is likewise restrained, offering fruit compote with slightly meaty undertones.

Critical Acclaim

"Effusively peppery, with tremendous black and white pepper aromas that lace through the vigorous blackberry, currant and floral flavors, finishing with impressive vibrancy and length. Best from 2009 through 2016."
91 Points

"Saturated ruby. Black raspberry and baking spices on the nose. Tangy, sharply focused red fruit flavors are pinot-like in their vivacity; surprisingly light in body, with impressive mineral lift and cut. Clean and brisk on the finish, leaving behind a refreshing trail of tangy red fruit. Very fresh for a wine based on shiraz."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I would buy this wine again, a very nice light and smooth taste
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Great wine for under 20 bucks. This has become one of my favorits screw caps. :-) My wife and I enjoy Shiraz and this one has moved to the top of our list.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
Great wine for under 20 bucks. This has become one of my favorits screw caps. :-) My wife and I enjoy Shiraz and this one has moved to the top of our list.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is a very smooth wine, be sure to decant all your red wines , we use a device that instantly decants and aeriates the wine. I think shiraz is one of our favorites because it is smooth and no lasting acidic tanins. Similar to merlots that we like.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I've had plenty of Shiraz, never the finest, mind you, but plenty of good shiraz from Australia, but when I tasted this, I realized I had found something unique. It has a great mouthfeel, and with just a hint of viognier it is nearly perfect. I love this wine!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jeff b - Southampton, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Finished off bottle tonight...has become VERY peppery...a little white pepper...loads of black pepper...great fruit...blackberry, raspberry and a hint of lime...vey nice...and the finish lasts a while...for $10...a steal, Enjoy!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jeff b - Southampton, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Very smooth, fresh, vibrant and a nice sour cherry flavor profile..interesting...didn't get the typical pepper as with most Shiraz....perhaps will appear tomorrow nite...Certainly a bargain at $10.99 no matter what the flavor profile! Enjoy!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Richard Zerr - Saint Charles, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/18/2010)
This wine , like Clancy's, is good year in and year out. Maybe some better than others, but if you open this bottle for dinner with stew, chile or pasta you will find it works very well. Certainly not "Grange", but the price is mch better.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Feng - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
I liked this wine quite a bit, but I downgraded it from 5 to 3 star because the last batch I ordered was very bad. I had ordered it a few times before the last batch of 10 bottles. This last batch is unbearably sour, to the extent it is over my drinkable limit. I called wine.com to explain the problem and they gracefully gave me full credit for the order. Too bad the wine is inconsistent, but Kudo to wine.com's superior customer service. Enjoyed this and have ordered a few times. Pleasant black berry and currant taste. Smooth taste with a pleasant and medium tanning. Well balanced body. Easy drinking. Jim likes it. Beautiful label too, if that ever matters. Solid 90. Will order a few more bottles because price has dropped from 13.99 to 10.99!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I'm not as enamored as the previous vintages but it shows promise, put it in the cellar for a year
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Bruce - Burr Ridge, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I bought this wine based solely on the WS rating, which I have found to be consistently reliable. Not this time. Tastes like an amateur wine -- no particular body, harsh tannin, none of the smooth elegance of Viognier or full-fruit character of Shiraz. Very disappointed.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Innocent Bystander Map ItMap It

The idea behind Innocent Bystander is to produce great value, food friendly wines that are not your run of the mill varietal blends. Taking fruit from various sources in Central Victoria (in particular Sangiovese, Shiraz, Pinot Gris and Viognier) the team at Innocent Bystander is inspired to utilize and showcase the natural qualities of each region in their unique blends. As a...

Read More About Innocent Bystander

Learn About South Australia

The majority of wines from Australia come from this state. Home to the red wine regions of McLaren Vale, Coonawarra and Barossa Valley, South Australia produces some of the finest red wines of the country, and some say in the world. White wines gain their reputation from the distinctive Rieslings of Clare Valley.

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

WBW30071412_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup