SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Green Point Shiraz 2005

Green Point Shiraz 2005

Syrah/Shiraz from Victoria, Australia

Price: $19.99
Item No. 95903
  • JH95
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

The dense, rich color indicates the power and intensity of fruit, with complexity and elegance the truly distinguishing characters of this wine. Bright blackberry, maraschino cherry and satsuma plum aromas are enriched with anise, liquorice and subtle roasted spice from ageing in French oak. Succulent texture and supple tannins extend throughout the palate, and red liquorice flavors provide a long, distinctive finish.

Fruit for the Victorian Shiraz is sourced from several cool climate regions including the Yarra Valley, Heathcote and Bendigo with each region providing complexity to the blend. Yarra Valley Shiraz grown on sedimentary soils around our own Green Point vineyard is typically fragrant and spicy. Heathcote Shiraz grown on the deep red soils of the Mt Camel Range is bright and deeply colored with fresh blackberry flavors. Bendigo Shiraz grown on alluvial soils contributes savory tannins with hints of eucalypt and the inland climate of the northern foothills of the Great Dividing Range provides Shiraz with rich structure and weight.

Critical Acclaim

"Aromatic spicy red and black fruits lead into an attractive, medium-bodied but long palate, with delicious red fruit flavour, polished tannins and French oak."
95 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

fotojoe - Venice, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/24/2010)
You've got to be kidding me. I'd give it a 86.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Tim Fildes - Vancouver, WA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This may rank around number 4 out of the last 8 Australian Shiraz wines I've tasted in these past 6 months, so I'd say it's in the middle of the pack for me. Not a fruit bomb, which is a positive quality for me. Also, the alcohol does not intrude so much on the finish. Overall, this is a fair bargain, but not one of the real stars of the $15-20 range.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Dilip Lokre - San Pablo, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I was surprised to note that this wine was not corked but had metal cap. Also did not meet my expectatin in terms of maturity and its taste on palate.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Screw top... Fair for $12.99
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I agree with those rating it poorly. I don't know how this is even a rated wine much less the extremely high 95. This is by far the worst wine I have ever sampled.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I do not understand the one star ratings. This was an excellent sipping wine. I did decant it first.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Marty Moss - Henderson, NV (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/20/2010)
This is the best 12.99 wine that anyone could ever purchase.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
paired with this receipe: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Grilled-Steaks-with-Blue-Cheese-and-Chiles-231876 excellent!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

The Happy Wino - Paso Robles, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
What a shock to the senses (in a good way)! This wine is fabulous. Deep, dark purple; barely letting the light get thru. A bouquet of vanilla with a pleasant earthiness that perks you up for the coming taste. And then - POW! Chocolate, licorice and then more of that silky vanilla as it lingers on to an exquisite finish, just melting away like a slow sunset. Only, unlike a sunset, you get to have another sip. It was a beautiful day in the hot sun by the pool today and now we've got the BBQ going. I opened this wine and it completed the day. Perfection. An incredible deal at this price!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Darin Black - Los Angeles, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Took this bottle to a bbq. Everyone loved. Great tasting, smooth, well worth the price. I usually dont believe ratings numbers. This one is very good
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Donna L - Medford, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Excellent wine! Not overly tannin rich, velvety and clean on the palate. Great for pairing with BBQ or Filet Mignon.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Am an Aussie Shiraz fan; have tried many vinters (8?) large and small down under, abroad, and on US Market. I would accept this as one of the best values. Have to admit would prefer cork to tin but it's was a very nice Saturday wine to share with a friend, some hard cheese, and some chocolate.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Iacuone - Bonita Springs, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Solid performer, better with breathing overnight. Robust, with good lingering taste. Not as comples as I would have hoped but very drinkable.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
The wine was dry and had a nice finish. Very good wine for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lynne H - Richmond, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/19/2010)
This wine was wonderful
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
this is so smooth and a great bargain for the price. just a delight
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is a wonderful, rich & deluxe Shiraz. It drinks like a wine twice its price or more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/10/2010)
I liked this wine but it didn't stand out. There are several others out there that equal this one and I think it would come down to price when deciding to purchase again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

David Conder - Strasburg, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Rich, smooth shiraz but nothing special. A bit acidic but not overpowering. Not bad for the price, but not amazing.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Sho Morimoto - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/22/2010)
At $10 a bottle, this dark, spicy, bold Shiraz is a good purchase. A dollar more, and I'd think twice.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Michael Moll - Walsenburg, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Undrinkable, period. Unfortunately I bought 2 and will use it for cooking. I agree with the sad state of the rating system.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
JH rating got this one wrong. For me undrinkable. It has a Boone's Farm bite to it that makes even trying to assess it impossible.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/13/2010)
Surprisingly not what I expected from a 95 rating. Not bad. Fair price. Just wasn't up to expectations. Happens to the best of us.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I am extremely disappointed at this dishonest rating system. 95 for this wine? This is the most unethical marketing approach to sell a below average win as something that is not.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MattV - Lake Oswego, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
I didn't expect much due to the price, but this wine underwhelmed. All three tasters decided to dump it and move on...
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Green Point Map ItMap It

In the 1840s, when the Yarra Valley in Victoria was first settled by Europeans, they observed that one particular spur of land leading down to the Yarra river always remained green longer as summer advanced. They called it Green Point. It stayed green because the deep weathered siltstone soils on this spur retain moisture longer than other areas in the valley. These soils, in...

Read More About Green Point

Learn About Victoria

From stickies to Pinot Noir, Victoria is varied in its wines. The southernmost state of Australia, Victoria is third in wine production, after South Australia and New South Wales. The state is home to Yarra Valley as well as other cool climate growing regions, and yet, it also houses the regions of Rutherglen & Glenrowan. These two areas are hot and dusty and famous for their...

Read More About Victoria

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

ALL5501543_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup