Gloria Ferrer Carneros Pinot Noir (375ML half-bottle) 2007

Pinot Noir from Carneros, California

Price: $13.99
Sold Out
The 2008 vintage is available for: $13.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Buy Now
Item No. 111443
  • WE94
Style: Earthy & Spicy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.9%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Succulent raspberry, plum and black cherry fruit aromas and hints of brown spice and forest floor announce this delicious Pinot Noir, perhaps our best ever. Complex, round and mouthfilling, the wine glides onto the palate displaying pure black cherry and ripe berry flavors, and the long aftertaste is rich yet fresh and agile.

Delicious with seared Ahi tuna, duck breast with cherry compote, lamb chops, wild mushroom risotto, roast chicken or grilled salmon. Try Manchego or Fontina for the cheese course. Seasoning affinities include orange peel, shaved fennel and dried berries.

Blend: 100% Carneros Pinot Noir

Critical Acclaim

"The first of Gloria's 2007 Pinots to be released, and a promising allure to their future block bottlings. The wine is, in a word, superb. It has ripe raspberry, cherry and blackberry fruit, but also a wonderful earthiness of mushrooms, and the tannin-acid balance is near perfect. A gorgeous young wine to decant and enjoy now."
94 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(7/14/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
The bouquet of this wine is outstanding,similar to the sparkling wine Ferrer is noted for. The flavors are so complex that this pallet has a hard time calling out one over another but I think the blackberry is most pronounced. As for the finish, smoooooth.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/4/2012)
Carneros is 30minutes away and one of the best areas for Pinot. This is a perfect illustration. The half-botlles make it easy to open and it's a good value
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/2/2012)
Style: Light & Fruity
I only wish this wine was organic, otherwise, it's perfect.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/17/2012)
Excellent!!! I like Pinot's, but also love most other reds (outside of merlot). This is, to me, a somewhat stronger Pinot, but excellent. I think giving it some time to breath is a good idea.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

JCF - Los Alamos, NM (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/20/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Excellent. Excellent. Elegant, concentrated and interesting spices on the palate. And very hard to beat for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/11/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
This 2007 is at its peak to drink now in 2012. It is an easy to drink wine with just enough complexity to make it interesting.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/10/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Fruity nose with great garnet color. Body was smooth with fruit forward and a dry finish. Let it breathe or use a Venturi so the wine opens up. A great wine for the price(under $10/375ml)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/11/2012)
Im not sure what happened here however, this wine did not live up to its 94 point rating. The appearance and the nose of this vintage was good; characteristic of a Pinot. However, the tannins, acidity and dry finish were out of sorts for this varietal. I would suspect that given the age, perhaps it has passed it's peak. In any case, while it is drinkable, I think it's 94 point rating was a bit enthusiastic. I would give it 90 points at best. Save this one for cooking.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

rbose - San Diego, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/25/2012)
I found this wine to be a disappointment for a 94 point rating. We were glad we only bought a single half-bottle.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Westcott - Bloomfield, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/23/2012)
I bought a case of this half-bottle. Tried two bottles - swill. This may have been a great pinot, but it has peaked. Perhaps it is the half bottle which is purported to age the wine more quickly. I have returned the remainder to Wine.com for a credit
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/9/2012)
This wine was a big disappointment. The nicest thing I can say is that it is wet. For $18/full bottle I expect a lot more from wine.com. There is no way the wine I was sent rates a 94 on anyone's scale. Perhaps it died of old age in the half-bottles but there is nothing there worth drinking now. This wine was promoted and sold by wineshopper.com. I will not be buying from them again.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/2/2012)
I don't understand this. The full bottles of 2007 Pinot were fantastic in every way. I was unable to find anymore and was thrilled to see these half-bottles... I bought 2 cases- but they taste like something you would get in a 24 hr diner for 2 bucks a glass. Not in any way comparable. What's up with this???
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

sperrone - Flanders, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/28/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/11/2012)
Style: Big & Bold
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/9/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/11/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ksiu - Spring, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/22/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/24/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kingsley - Redford, MI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/22/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/30/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Brian Naegeli - Saint Paul, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/14/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lacny82 - Hudson, WI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/17/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Gloria Ferrer Map ItMap It

Gloria Ferrer is the offspring of a powerful parent: Freixenet of Spain, the world's largest producer of sparkling wine. Drawn to the promise of California, Freixenet established a California winery, naming it after the wife of Freixenet's president. The winery in Carneros is one of the best stops in all of Wine Country. Visit the aging caves carved in the hillside and enjoy the sun-splashed deck while noshing on roasted almonds and sipping bubbly. Wines produced are Blanc de Noir, Brut, Brut Rose, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose.

Learn About Carneros

Technically a part of Napa Valley, the Carneros region straddles both Sonoma & Napa counties. It's the Napa region closest to the San Francisco peninsula and the San Pablo Bay, which is instrumental in controlling the climate of the area. The winds from the San Pablo bay create a cool weather pattern ideal for growing Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Notable Facts Both Chardonnay...

Read More About Carneros

Learn About Pinot Noir

Pinot Noir(PEE-noh nwahr) Pinot Noir is a finicky grape. It only grows in the right climate, with the right soils and the right care. Perhaps because it is so difficult is why it is so loved. Pinot Noir hails from Burgundy, a region known for crafting the most collectible and sought-after wines from this varietal. Not only does Pinot reign in Burgundy, it is also...

Read More About Pinot Noir

GZT7617226_2007

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup