Glaetzer Wallace Shiraz/Grenache 2006

Rhone Red Blends from Barossa Valley, Australia

Price: $23.99
Item No. 94000
  • RP94
  • ST91
  • JH90
Ratings Pedigree:
  • 2012
  • ST91

Winemaker's Notes

"The 2006 Wallace, tasted from a barrel sample, is a 70% Shiraz, 30% Grenache blend with an identical oak treatment. The 2006 is more structured than the 2005 but they could otherwise pass as identical twins. Hats off to Ben Glaetzer for producing an extraordinary portfolio!"
-Wine Advocate 91-94

"Deep red. Smoky black raspberry and cherry aromas are complemented by zesty white pepper and minerals; showing its grenache side today. Silky and sweet, with deep red berry preserve flavors, fully absorbed tannins and good bite. Leaves an exotic candied licorice note behind on the vibrant, juicy finish, which strongly repeats the red berry tone."
-International Wine Cellar

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I'm with Happy on this one. There's a lot to like about this wine. Has a deep red\purple color to it. These grapes definately saw some sun. Flavor is intense and in your face. Make sure to store it for another year or two and cool it down a bit. This wine is thick on blackberry flavor and I would definately recommend. Enjoy!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Steve S. - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Let decant for 30 min and be rewarded.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

The Happy Wino - Paso Robles, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
This wine is a beautiful deep purple/red color with a full fruity bouquet. Flavors of cherry, blackberry and a hint of licorice at the end. I couldn't stop drinking it!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

beach boy - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/24/2010)
i thought this was a very high quality wine. for the price it can be consumed as an everyday wine which is really a good deal. i have purchased a lot of wine fron wine.com over the years; this is one of the better deals.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
If you're going for a good buy; one not pricey, this would be it. The only reason I wouldn't buy this wine again is because I'm somewhat new to the wine scene, and am "finding my way." The first taste hits you with a peppery flavor...it has a weak after taste...which wasn't bad.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Such a fine, fine wine! This one is great even as you open the bottle, with a pepper/smoke flavor in the air. Decanting helps, but drinking right after opening isn't a terrible thing. It has a wonderful fruity, berry flavor with a pepper bite, and holds to the palate well for a fine finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Joseph Wolf - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
When you first open the bottle you will feel a light pepper flavor. When you allow the wine to open up you will be rewarded with a great flow of flavor of blackberry.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Dancer David - Cambridge, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Lots of tanin, bit sharp, little finesse.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
I disagree with the 91 pt. rating, but probably this wine needs to be kept for 2-3 more years. So if you want to drink it soon, I would not recommend it!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/29/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Glaetzer Map ItMap It

The first Glaetzers settled in the Barossa Valley in 1888 after emigrating from Brandenburg, Germany. From here, they settled in a country town called Nuriootpa in the Barossa Valley where they started their new life in Australia. The family were some of the earliest recorded viticulturalists in the Barossa Valley and Clare Valley and the current generation is firmly entrenched in...

Read More About Glaetzer

Learn About Barossa Valley

The Barossa zone consists of two sections - the Barossa Valley and the Eden Valley. Wines from the Eden Valley can be labelled Barossa or Barossa Valley. Situated just a bit east of the large city of Adelaide, Barossa is Australia's wine headquarters. Mega producers are based here, boutique wineries call it home and a majority of the habitants claim their income on the wine...

Read More About Barossa Valley

Learn About Rhone Red Blends

The Rhone region of France has a delightful selection of red varieties. There are 22 grapes allowed in the Rhone AOC, about half of them red. Most of these varieties are used as secondary blending partners, often comprising less than 10% of the blend. The primary red players of Rhone blends are Syrah, Grenache and Mourvedre. Most wines from the Southern Rhone use Grenache as their...

Read More About Rhone Red Blends

CRW2842_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup