SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Fontanafredda Briccotondo Barbera 2006

Fontanafredda Briccotondo Barbera 2006

Barbera from Piedmont, Italy

Price: $14.99 $12.99
Save $2.00 (13%)
Item No. 93942
  • WS90
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

The grapes for this wine are grown on estate-owned vineyards located on hillsides in the Monferrato and Langhe region of Piemonte. Ruby-red in color with purple highlights. The nose is packed with black fruit, especially blackberries and plums, with slight spicy overtones hinting at black pepper and cinnamon. Sweet, soft tannins come together in a closely-woven texture that merges with the fruit, while a crisp freshness provides a long, tasty finish.

"Very plummy and grapey on the nose, with hints of chocolate. Full-bodied, soft and succulent, with lots of flavor and a long, long finish. Delicious."
Wine Spectator
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I absolutely loved this wine. What a wonderful surprise. I have ordered more bottles and would highly recommend this wine!!!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Had this wine with some fresh pecorino cheese and it was just perfect. Great value, and wonderful vintage.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Just went back to buy more--sad to see it's sold out. What a lovely, velvety red. Paired with gourmet beef chili tonight...could not have been a better match!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

gwendolyn - Oakland, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This Barbera is a delight! It's got a core of black fruit, backed by good acid, smooth tannins and a nice spice. Balanced finish. A steal at the price, this would be my gourmet pizza wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2010)
The new release Briccotondo Barbera, 2006, is a delicious wine that far surpasses the previous vintage. The color is a vibrant ruby/purple with nice clarity. On the nose is the scent of black cherries, grape juice and plums. This is a medium bodied wine with lovely flavors of black cherries, plums, chocolate and nutmeg. This wine as ample acidity and well rounded tannins to add to the overall complexity. The finish is long and seductive. This wine was so delicious; we managed to finish of the whole bottle throughout the evening.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Steve Berberich - Daytona Beach, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is one of the best wines I have had in a long time. Brought it over to share with friends and all loved it. Even the white wine drinker thought it was one of the best reds she ever tasted.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/14/2010)
This is a great wine for the price or otherwise. Easy drinking, full body, easy on the tannins. Pairs well with most food or very drinkable alone.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Best bottle I've had in a long while. Very easy to drink. Slightly fruity. Excellent with pasta, red meat...cheese and crackers!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Tasty, but nothing special about it. Make sure not to open this bottle until late 2009/early 2010. Even after decantering for 1.5 hours it still was not what it could be with a bit more keeping. This wine has a nice plush deep ruby color and a taste that accompanies it. I tasted blackberry, chocolate, rhubarb and black cherry. On the nose I smelled cinammon a nice starchy smell to it like loaf bread. I liked it, but definately keep it for a while longer as you will not be able to enjoy it to the fullest otherwise.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

mike@obs - Portland, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Disappointed in Spectator top 100 wine. Although balanced the wine is not very flavourful or smooth. Not sure what the redeeming quality is to place in on the list
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

J Jo - Chicago, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Lighter red, not much body...there are better reds out there
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Fontanafredda Map ItMap It

Since 1878 Fontanafredda Estate & Winery, located in the heart of Piedmont's Langhe region, has been a benchmark for Barolo and Barbera wines that deftly balance deep aromas and concentration of fruit with elegance. Among the prized vineyard sites belonging to Fontanafredda are those in the commune of Serralunga d'Alba, a source of some of today's most distinctive and intriguing...

Read More About Fontanafredda

Learn About Piedmont

(PEED-mont) Piedmont is located in the Northwest area of Italy, hugging the Mediterranean coast. The regional capital, Turin, is situated smack in the middle of the province. Being close to the alps, the area enjoys a high altitude, with the best vineyards benefiting from the hills and elevation. Known for its famous sub-districts, Piedmont delivers some of the most...

Read More About Piedmont

Learn About Barbera

(bar-BARE-uh) Versatility of Italy Barbara is one of those varieties of the old world that often appears on the label - Barbara d'Alba, Barbara d'Asti for example. Native to Piedmont, Barbara is a hardy grape that grows well in the chalky soils of the area. Though popular as a single varietal, Barbera also excels as a blending partner in both Italy and California. Notable...

Read More About Barbera

YNG175328_2006

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup