Fetish The Watcher Shiraz 2008

Syrah/Shiraz from Barossa Valley, Australia

$19.99
Item No. 105204
  • red wine
  • screw cap wine
  • WS91
  • WE90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 14.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

#61 Wine Spectator Top 100 of 2010

The Watcher. It is an image steeped in legend and mystery. It implies transcendence and authority. The Watcher is a being of knowledge, of understanding, of concern, of influence.

At Fetish Wines, we value this level of attention to every step of the winemaking process, from the soil to the bottle. We do not want to manipulate wine, but to craft it by the subtle direction that can only be achieved through an intimate relationship with the land.

For this wine, Rolf Binder is The Watcher

Critical Acclaim

"Fresh and vibrant, this is medium-weight and juicily focused to show its blackberry, black plum and white pepper flavors, lingering with hints of white chocolate on the harmonious finish. Drink now through 2018. Tasted twice, with consistent notes. 8,000 cases made."
91 Points

"A nicely balanced Barossa Shiraz, the 2008 The Watcher avoids any sense of raisining or overripeness that may sometimes be found in wines from this vintage. Plum and savory notes are complemented by subtle oaking, and the overall impression is of ripe, creamy-textured fruit balanced by crisp acids. Drink now–2018."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(11/11/2012)
good for KDR liked. Party members liked
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/31/2011)
Very good Shiraz - would definitely buy again; Screw top
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/30/2013)
Very Good. Priced and rated appropriately.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/3/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Shiraz from Australia-pepery and stylish perfect - killer shiraz
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/13/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
This Shiraz really delivers! Dark ruby/purple, pepper & spice, full mouth-feel, lingering finish. I bought some more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/1/2012)
Style: Big & Bold
Everything you would hope for in a Shiraz. Bold and rich. Was a perfect wine for a cheese and wine cocktail party.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Loaf - Denver, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/3/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Well rounded, tannins not too harsh. This one is a 'house wine' at one of the local steak houses - with good reason. A big wine that will stand up to steakhouse fare. Picked this up on sale at $16 a bottle, shipped. Would do it again in a heartbeat.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/24/2011)
excellent shiraz, will buy again at less than $20 a bottle
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/13/2010)
Wow, this wine is very good. It is perfectly balanced with a smooth finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Corey Bragg - Springfield, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/20/2012)
Style: Light & Fruity
very sweet, not my taste.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Ruth - Danville, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/11/2013)
Not one of my better purchases. Harsh, almost bitter. Will not try this again any time soon.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

franklin baker - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

franklin baker - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

franklin baker - Cincinnati, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(8/7/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Robert Vizza - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(10/19/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/1/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/4/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lisa Waters - Kansas City, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/1/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/13/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/28/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/30/2012)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(7/22/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Fetish

Fetish Wine was introduced with the release of the 2004 vintage The Watcher, a Barossa Valley Shiraz made by Rolf Binder at his acclaimed Veritas Winery. The brand combined high-quality wine, a prestigious appellation and a celebrity winemaker all wrapped up in cutting edge packaging. Shortly after this initial release a new project came together, this time partnering with Wayne...

Read More About Fetish

Learn About Barossa Valley

The Barossa zone consists of two sections - the Barossa Valley and the Eden Valley. Wines from the Eden Valley can be labelled Barossa or Barossa Valley. Situated just a bit east of the large city of Adelaide, Barossa is Australia's wine headquarters. Mega producers are based here, boutique wineries call it home and a majority of the habitants claim their income on the wine...

Read More About Barossa Valley

Learn About Syrah/Shiraz

(seh-RAH/shee-RAHZ) It's a Smokin' Grape Syrah and Shiraz - same grape, different name. It's a popular and adept variety, growing in multiple regions and creating many different styles of wine. The home base of Syrah is the Northern Rhone, where it creates the exclusive wines of Hermitage and Cote Rotie. On the less pricy side, the Rhone makes Syrah-based wines in Crozes...

Read More About Syrah/Shiraz

ALL6101043_2008
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup