Falesco Vitiano Rosso 2007

Red Blends from Southern Italy, Italy

$11.79
Sold Out
The 2011 vintage is available for: $9.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Buy Now
Item No. 98838
  • red wine
  • ST91
  • RP89
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Ratings Pedigree:
  • 1998
  • RP90
show more

Winemaker's Notes

With Vitiano we have tried to achieve a young red wine with explosive, luscious aromatic fragrance. This wine has a wonderful, deep, intense ruby red colour with important, solid, and wide organoleptic qualities, but above all it exalts the food it is combined with. It is very rich in polyphenols which harmonize with its fresh, tasty acidity. It is versatile red, quite innovative in style which can be appreciated immediately. It adapts easily to various dishes and can be drunk litghtheartedly drawing great pleasure from the sharp fragrance of its perfumes and its straightforward character. It should be drunk in wide crystal chalices where it can best develop its bouquet.

Critical Acclaim

"Ridiculously dark black-ruby color. Pretty aromas of cassis, black plum and earth, with a pronounced vanilla presence that does not overpower the fruit. Rich and densely packed, with distinctly ripe flavors of black fruits, raisin and chocolate lifted by an intriguing balsamic vinegar note. This finishes lighter than it starts, with welcome acidity nicely delineating the borderline-overripe fruit. Finishes creamy and long. This is a lot of wine for the money, and the best Vitiano in years, far removed from some astringent versions of recent memory."
91 Points

"The 2007 Vitiano (Sangiovese, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon) is a soft-textured, caressing red that blossoms on the palate with layers of perfumed red fruit and sweet French oak. This is an especially seamless and beautiful Vitiano that is particularly rewarding for its textural richness. Vitiano is typically bottled in several lots, all of which undergo malolactic fermentation in French oak. This is the first lot (0922) to be bottled. According to proprietor Riccardo Cotarella, the bottle variation that occasionally shows up in Vitiano is most likely attributable to the different amounts of time the various lots spend in bottle prior to arriving on the market. Clearly lots that have more time in bottle have the potential to show greater harmony than lots that have less time in bottle. That said, slight bottle variation issues here are a minor quibble for a wine that delivers so much value. Anticipated maturity: 2009-2012."
89 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

tKnight - Louisville, KY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is an incredibly dark, rich and smooth wine. Perfect for just sipping and a delightful companion to whatever you choose to knosh on!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Very nice well balanced wine with good structure and good finish
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine has an amazing taste and rich boldness for a the low $9.99 price. Its hard to find this kind of value. I already bought more.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/24/2010)
says it all
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/22/2010)
Great character - a real treat!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Handyman - Harrisburg, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
We enjoyed this with friends who really enjoy wine. It was enjoyed and appreciated by everyone, including two professional winemakers.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Stacy McClain - Grove City, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Inexpensive wine with a very nice taste. I was suprised from the nose to the finished.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
The title says it all.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

El Rippo - Harvey, ND (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This wine is outstanding for the price. The bouguet is like sitting next to a wood fire along fresh water smell. absoulty great
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

atlomt - San Diego, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
For the price, a truly excellent wine. Yes, you can buy bottles of wine for $30-50 that you might like more, but in a blind taste-testing, you just might pick this one. It is very smooth but still full-bodied. We quite enjoyed it!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dawoodsy - Forsyth, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Took advice and let this one breathe. Full bodied, smooth and well balanced. Surprise for me was the long finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

YD - Chicago, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Nice and smooth. Great to warm you up on a cold winter day.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
This is the kind of wine I like when I just want to have wine. It's Light, crisp and not overpowering. I like it!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MWaddock - Spring, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
For the price, you can not beat this one! Hard to find in the retail markets. Good pricing online!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Scott C - Daly City, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
An excellent Italian wine at a great price. Smooth, full bodied with wonderfy aromas. I would serve this wine with any type of food and would definitely bring to a friends for dinner!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/20/2010)
Decent, appropriately priced, but nothing special. I do not agree with the 91 points.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
would buy again if in the 10 dollar range. It's a good wine, but it needs a chance to open up. The 2nd half of the bottle tasted great..
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Had a peppery kick with my Chicken Marsala the other night, but mellowed nicely as the meal was finished.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Uneventful wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/23/2010)
Tasted as if the wine had been 'cooked' in shipment. Had a vinegar type taste
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Really truly one of the owrst wines I have ever ever tasted! It was on sale and now I know why... feel ripped off the wine.com had it listed as one of the best for under 20.00
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/8/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Mary R - Huntersville, NC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(5/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(8/11/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Falesco Map ItMap It

In 2006, our customers purchased more bottles of wine from Falesco than from any other winery in the world! And it's no wonder, as this winery makes some of the top value wines in Italy, if not the world. Falesco's most popular wine is Vitiano, a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Sangiovese grown in Umbria. This is a perennial must-buy: It's lush and fruity, and always...

Read More About Falesco

Learn About Southern Italy

Abruzzi, Puglia, & Campania Abruzzi Kind of central, kind of southern, this region is best known for it's wine, Montapulciano d'Abruzzi - this wine is made from the Montelpulciano grape, unlike Vino Nobile di Montelpulciano, made with a Sangiovese clone in the region of Montelpuliciano. The Montelpulciano grape is happiest here in Abruzzi and the wine is rustic, yet soft...

Read More About Southern Italy

Learn About Other Red Blends

Other Red Red wines are certainly not limited to Cabernet and Pinot Noir - or even Nebbiolo and Grenache. There are a multitude of grape varieties throughout the world, however, in a Darwinian sense, survival of the fittest only brings us wines made from grapes that can adapt to changing climates and winemaking techniques. Notable Facts Our other red wines primarily consists of...

Read More About Other Red Blends

Related Products
With Vitiano we have tried to achieve a young red wine with explosive, luscious aromatic fragrance. This wine has a ...
YNG5326_2007
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup