Evodia Old Vine Grenache 2010

Grenache from Spain

Price: $8.99
Sold Out
The 2012 vintage is available for: $9.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 111394
  • RP90
Style: Smooth & Supple

Wine Style Guide

Light & Fruity

Red wines that are more fruit-forward and lighter in tannin and body.

Smooth & Supple

Medium bodied reds that go down easy, with smooth tannins and supple fruit.

Earthy & Spicy

Wines where earthy and/or spicy dominate the flavors – typically medium to full body.

Big & Bold

Full bodied wines that have concentrated fruit and are higher in alcohol and/or tannins. Some need age.

Alcohol By Volume: 15.0%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:

Winemaker's Notes

Evodia is an exciting new project in the Denominacion de Origen Calatayud, hailed as one of Spain's most progressive and promising wine growing regions. It is here, in the vineyards of Atea, that Altovinum sources their Garnacha grapes for Evodia. In addition to the remarkable climate due to elevation, the property is comprised of pure schiste soils, known as pisara in the local area. Aficionados familiar with the wines of the Priorat and the Roussillon are well acquainted to this soil type and its extraordinary influence on the wines.

Blend: 100% Garnacha

Critical Acclaim

"Altovinum's 2010 Evodia is 100% Garnacha sourced from the highest elevation vineyards of Garnacha of any DO in Spain. It offers up a slightly exotic nose of earthy minerality, mocha, black cherry, and black raspberry. Savory, concentrated, and with a forward personality, this great value will deliver pleasure over the next 3-4 years."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(4/14/2012)
Big fruit. Good nose. Very good value. Easy drinking. Interesting enough to buy again at this price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/27/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
this is a solid wine with at a great value...I've ordered this multiple times
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/17/2012)
Good balance. Not too heavy. Went well with a pork roast.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/21/2011)
Style: Smooth & Supple
Very good for the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/8/2012)
great value
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/9/2011)
fruity and smooth but a bit too sweet for me.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/17/2012)
Style: Earthy & Spicy
Pair with: Beef
Old vine & Grenache is not a match for this extremely oaky, spicy red.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(4/6/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(2/2/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jquesada - North Miami Beach, FL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/21/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

William Lau - Jersey City, NJ (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/2/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

cfaust - Bolton, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(4/2/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LMDH85 - Fairfield, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/23/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LMDH85 - Fairfield, CT (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/25/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

SoCo - Trinidad, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/25/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/21/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/4/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

himay - Minneapolis, MN (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(12/2/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(3/24/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

ds56 - Needham Heights, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/20/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Tom Janes - Royal Oak, MI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/12/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(1/10/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/24/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/14/2011)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Evodia

Altovinum is a new project - a joint partnership between Eric Solomon, Jean Marc Lafage and Yolanda Diaz. Sourcing fruit from high elevation vineyards in the village of Atea, the debut wine is EVODIA, from the Greek word for aroma.

Learn About Other Spain

The third largest country in production, Spain ranks first in land under vine. Diversity and innovation are the key factors bringing Spain back into the world wine market. The most popular red varieties of Spain include Tempranillo and Garnacha (Grenache). Whites don't garner quite as much recognition, but there are some regional varieties not to be missed, like Albarino...

Read More About Other Spain

Learn About Grenache

Grenache (greh-NAASH) Sun-Worshiper This sun-worshiping grape gets ripe and loves hot, dry weather. Popular in Spain (called Garnacha), Australia and the southern Rhone region of France, Grenache is the primary grape in regions such as Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Tavel, and Priorat. It's often tamed by less fleshy, more structured grapes like Syrah...

Read More About Grenache

RGL7110297_2010

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup