Don Rodolfo Malbec 2005

Malbec from Argentina, South America

Price: $12.29 $7.99
Save $4.30 (35%)
Item No. 92468
  • W&S92

Winemaker's Notes

Number 32 on the Wine.com 100 of 2007!

"Top 100 Best Values of the Year"

"Cafayate's heights deliver intense sun and heat, which typically translates into rich, powerful reds. This one, however, seems to channel more of the area's cool nights in its subtle, spicy flavor. It's elegant and light, with strawberry and cherry flavors supported by firm tannins. It's impressively refined - especially at this price." --- Wine & Spirits

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This wine combines excellent varietal character, very complex flavors, full fruit, soft tannins and both immediate and longer term drinkability. The wine presents exceptional quality and value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Dana Hines - Colorado Springs, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
I will be purchasing this wine by the case. My husband, who prefers beer, even likes this.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
this wine was very good.....very smoothe and had a marvelous taste....i shared it with my girl and my dad and we all thought it was excellent....esp for the price...i could drink bottle after bottle
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Excellent Malbec wine. Start drinking after 30 minutes to an hour for best enjoyment.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Todd Woods - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Great wine value. Drank asome 24 hours after and it bloomed nicely. The depth of Malbecs is one of the reasons I have begun stockpiling.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Amused1 - Chicago, IL (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/14/2010)
My first Malbec, so I'll need to try others to make a fair assessment. It was good. I tend to like bigger reds. This was not big, but it was a nice drinking wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Robert Hutchison - Colorado Springs, CO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
While the wine had plenty of fruit and the price was under $10, I do not care for wines' that have a "vine" taste to it. A sense of a young vine taste to it. I felt the rating was too high.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Not a bad wine, I might buy it again
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

art st john - Pleasant Hill, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Drinkable but did not live up to its high rating. Certainly affordable. A little above average but nowhere near outstanding.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Miguel Varela - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Excellent wine, everyone who I shared this wine wine loved it, even my friend who doesn't like wine liked it.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

MDD - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/14/2010)
This is a very good wine with most red meats. Nothing special, but there is not much more you can expect from the price.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Oenophile - New York, NY (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Great buy! Fruit, currant and cassis, mildly tannic
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Don Rodolfo

Cafayate Valley is home to but a handful of wineries, producing only about 4% - but some of the very best - of Argentina's wines. Don Rodolfo is one such winery. The Valley's isolation and high altitude make it ideally suited for winemakers dedicated to the limited production of premium wines. Cafayate Valley enjoys wider temperature ranges than any other part of Argentina, with...

Read More About Don Rodolfo

Learn About Argentina

(ahr-jen-TEE-nah) Now fifth in the world for wine production, Argentina is catching up in the quality wine sector. A long time wine producer, Argentina used to make wine in order to drink it, not export it. And so the wines produced were quaffable and rustic and made for the local's everyday dinner. Yet it's hard not to get caught up in the wine market of the world and some...

Read More About Argentina

Learn About Malbec

Malbec(MAHL-beck) Angel of Argentina Originally a common grape in Bordeaux, Malbec adds only a small percentage to the blends there. It has, however, found another region in which to flourish -the bourgeoning wine region of Argentina. In fact, Argentinians have adopted Malbec as their national grape! Notable Facts Malbec is used in small amounts in...

Read More About Malbec

OPC86434_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup